Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars82
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Mini-Disc|Change
Price:£29.99+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 June 2009
Having waited years for this release when it finally arrived it was like all my Christmas coming together as this singles box set has it all.

Including all the singles even 1985s This is England this is definitely a release any hardcore Clash fan will want to have. The real pleasure begins when you open the box and see all the singles are presented in their original covers and even the discs are made to like the old singles and for one split second i thought i had picked up the wrong format. That worry was soon forgotten when i realised what they had done.

The thing with the Clash was they were actually a real singles band in that they just didn't release recycled album tracks they actually had stand alone singles. Such as Radio clash, Complete Control and the brilliant (white Man) in hammersmith Palais, you also get the Cost of Living ep. As you would expect the artwork for their singles was always top notch.

So what you get is 19 singles all presented in their original case, some of the singles include newly added tracks, such as the ones that were released in America, So you end up getting tracks that have never been released on cd before. As some singles had different mixes for different countries. Some of the singles have over seven songs on them. This release is surley meant to be loaded on to your mp3/ipod for full enjoyment.

Included is a booklet which features contributors like Shane McGowan, Ian Brown, Mike D (Beastie Boys), and ex footballer (yes some do have good taste) Stuart Pearce. Even their former manager Bernie Rhodes writes a few words.

Casual Clash fans would probably be better of with the single disc release but for Clash fanatics this is really ESSENTIAL.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2006
Not wishing to dismiss some stunning album tracks and excellent B-sides, The Clash's singles were an amazingly consistent statement.

There is no filler on here. From the punk blast of "White Riot" through to the oustanding "White Man In Hammersmith Palais" the first half of this album is gritty, intelligent and essential. The latter part of this collection shows a wider influence - Motown on "Hitsville UK" and rockabilly-drone on "Know Your Rights".

So being just a singles collection it omits such gems as "Guns of Brixton" and "Straight To Hell" but this remains an excellent singles collection from one of the greatest bands that ever walked the planet.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2012
If you're interested enough to read this, I needn't tell you how wonderful The Clash were, "on vinyl" and live.
This is a wonderful box set, very thoughtfully put together and produced. Personally I can take or leave the booklet - "stars" recollections of the first time they heard The Clash etc etc pale into comparison with my own personal memories of way back in 1977 !!!
Yes, truly wonderful collection of songs in beautifully re-produced original 7" single covers.............
...but **** BE WARNED ****..... Much to my frustration, the "Cost of Living" EP DOES NOT include the 50 second or so "Advert" that was tagged onto the end of "Capital Radio" originally. For all the effort that was made to produce this box set, how could this have been overlooked?? Especially as it is apparently included on the Japanese Version ??!!??
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2009
I bought this on the strength of the Amazon reviews. Do as I did and you will not be disappointed.

This is a brilliant box set. Wonderfully packaged with fantastic original artwork, it contains all the Clash's singles and B-sides (19 discs in total). The sound quality is excellent and the accompanying booklet is well presented, with many quotable contributions from famous Clash devotees.

What can you say about the band? They were stylish, they had attitude, but above all they recorded many great records. Surely the most enduring of all the groups to emerge from the punk era, a genre they comfortably transcended.

Not only a great collection of music; this is a fantastic historical document which pays well deserved homage to one of Britain's greatest bands.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2008
While I agree that there may be more comprehensive Clash sets available (my personal favourite being 'The Story Of The Clash Volume 1') this release does exactly what it says on the tin. All the singles, though not in chronological order - unlike the previous 1991 version, combined with far improved artwork. And it is this that sold me on this CD.
The colourful booklet has been designed with care and features notes from the great and good on each track. Everybody from Pete Townsend to Danny Boyle and many inbetween, get to comment on their favourites and the impact these tracks had on them. Single sleeve artwork and illustrations adorn the liner notes together with some fine shots of the band. All in a slip-sleeved jewel case. And for once, no grammatical mistakes seem to have been made (far too common nowadays on many releases).
A fine release and an excellent introduction to the bands more famous tracks. Recommended!
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2014
Emerging from the unpromising beginnings of the south West London pub rock circuit in the mid 70's the Clash went on to become the definitive punk group. If punk was a movement largely defined by the medium of the single rather than the album then no other group can claim a legacy as rich as this. From the raw explosive power of White Riot and the howling, rampant, rage of Complete Control this collection chronicles their development into musicians able to deliver their message with skill and verve whilst Joe Strummer proved himself to be a song-writer without compare.

More than 35 years later the lyrics to timeless classics like White Man In Hammersmith Palais still pack a powerful punch: "If Adolf Hitler flew in today, they'd send a limousine anyway". This is a track which not only displays Strummer's prodigious lyrical talent but also highlights the fluency which they were able to fuse the energy and urgency of punk with the rhythms of reggae.

On London Calling the thundering clatter of drum and guitar and haunting vocal howl of Joe Strummer perfectly capture the apocalyptic anxiety of the early eighties "the ice age is coming, the sun's zooming in", whilst the sombre march of The Call Up makes a plaintiff stand against the jingoism that prevailed around the time of the Falklands war.

This is all killer, no filler. I would give 10/5 if I could.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2007
This is a fantastic box set. The sound is awesome and it is like owning a box set of actual clash 7' singles as they are replicated with original sleeve and even the cd itself is a replica of the vinyl. Awesome!! it has all the singles.Plus it has some rare US b-sides on the disc, this is ten time better than buying a greatest hits. Go buy will you can, they are numbered!!
55 comments|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2008
I feel unworthy to do anything other than basque in the greatness of The Clash and place this album on a pillar of all time greatness.
These tracks have said more politically, socially and with more drive that 10 cabinets at downing street. This compliation of classics tracks their growth as a band from simplistic marvells such as "White Riot" to the ever so cunning "London Calling" up to the point where you wonder whether punk is loosing its meaning.
Anyhow. There be times when you think "Golly-gosh is it me are all of these pop-punkish type bands today copying them","Did I hear that right, did they just say..." and maybe "When will this end". But, in summary you will most probaly think the album was a fantastic insight to have.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2016
Amazon have made a couple of major errors with their information for this listing;

The track selection shown on this page should be for the original 1991 release of "The Singles", but it's not. Instead Amazon have incorrectly used the tracklisting for a different compilation of the same name, a 2007 release (with a large star on the front cover), which added a track (This Is England). That 2007 compilation also completely randomises the running order and has a mastering which reduces the album's dynamic range substantially. Amazon have on this page also made the mistake of mixing together reviews for the 2007 and 1991 releases.

So. The correct album for this listing is the original compilation titled "The Singles", released in 1991 and with a cover image showing Joe Strummer throwing a guitar.

As Clash compilations go it's almost faultless, a collection of the band's UK singles from 1977 to 1982 , flowing in chronological order from White Riot (the version used on the original single, a completely different recording to that which appeared on the band's debut LP) and concluding with Should I Stay Or Should I Go.

My sole complaint is the inclusion of Hitsville UK, a track which sounds like a 1980's Phil Collins B-side, completely out of keeping with the solidly classic nature of the surrounding material. It would have been very easy for the record company to quietly neglect to include this track and I doubt anyone would have noticed, certainly not casual listeners. Hitsville UK was such a low-key and low-charting release that I even know of Clash fans who are unaware it was a single. A preferable and more recognisable alternative for inclusion would have been Capitol Radio, which was released as a free single thus still counts as a single.

That gripe aside, 'The Singles' is the only greatest hits compilation of The Clash which anyone really needs to own. If you're a Clash-beginner it has all the tracks you'll know from the radio and some adverts on TV. If you're already a fan it's nice way to get the singles in one place and in the correct order.

4 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2016
I've had the single disc version of this album since it came out (& being a clash fan was all ways a 5 star affair) but I was cynical about the necessity for a box set which on paper is the same album but packaged as a box set with original single sleeves etc.
My son bought me this for Christmas & I must admit that (even though I gave him heartfelt thanks) I was sceptical about my needs or enthusiasm for the said box set.
I write this review because my cynicism was unjustified (for me!) and I was blown away by some of the extras that are available.
The singles have all the different mixes etc (some not available elsewhere).
One such track is the original (Flexi-disc NME cover disc) of Capital Radio, which I had on the 10'' vinyl version of Black Market Clash back in the day. The energy & intensity caught my breath (as it had originally) but it is the opening lyric for me that sums up the Clash more than any other song/lyric:

'It's time for the Doctor Goebbels Show'

Awesome; political/historical statement, indictment of radio at the time, and their influence on us. Strummer wrote so many lyrics that are classic but I hadn't realised the clarity & message of Capital Radio before! and this was a song that wasn't an A side or album track! (A later recorded version is on the 'Cost of Living' EP, also within the box set)

5 Stars without doubt! (now after listening again!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)