Customer Reviews


167 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (55)
3 star:
 (36)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CONTROVERSIAL
Ok I am gonna be a bit controversial here and excuse the pun in the word play but for me this album is head and shoulders above anything Oasis have done. I think they peaked with this album. Ok so there aren't a bunch of hit singles on here but the songwriting is really strong, they have stripped out a lot of that Mancunian angst in Liam's delivery that was starting to...
Published on 24 Dec. 2010 by Lucioperca

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could try harder........
Considering that this album was brought to us by Oasis, who brought us some of the most exciting rock 'n' roll of the last decade, this is a bit of a letdown. This is not too say that it is a bad album by any means, but it is certainly no match for 'Definitrly Maybe' or 'Whats the Story....'
There are certainly some standout moments. Gas Panic!' is possibly...
Published on 13 July 2000 by juantman


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suppose we're all experts now, eh?, 11 Mar. 2013
I find it highly amusing and annoying that people, then and now, feel compelled to slate this album. While anyone's certainly entitled to give a low score relating to anything, be it Movies, Music, Computer Games etc, they better give some damn good reasons as to why! It seems "Standing On The Shoulders Of Giants" has been given the black sheep treatment of Oasis' entire canon, be it previous or subsequent outings.

When an album containing 10 tracks opens up with 3 genuine peaches "F***in' In The Bushes", "Go Let It Out" and "Who Feels Love?", a 1 or 2 star score should be off the table. Granted there are less than inspired moments, and frankly, some duffers also. "I See A Liar", "Roll It Over" and the Liam penned "Little James" come to mind, the latter being a concession by Noel to give his younger brother his time to shine. For better or worse, there'd be no Beady Eye without it.

It can be argued that this album contains Noel Gallaghers most poignant, humane lyrics and melodies, and that's including his "High Flying Birds" solo efforts. Three songs reflecting cocaine abuse ("Gas Panic", "Sunday Morning Call") and end of the britpop era emptiness of "Where Did It All Go Wrong?" Even to the daft Doors-esque singalong of "Put You Money Where Your Mouth Is", it's safe to say that the album is far from terrible.

"Standing On The Shoulders Of Giants" provides a snapshot of a time when the booze, cocaine and parties had stopped and reality was setting in for one troubled songwriter and a legion of stubborn and confused "fans". It seems at least one man saw the bigger picture, and provided argueably his most emotional and heartfelt songs about loss and longing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CONTROVERSIAL, 24 Dec. 2010
By 
Lucioperca (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
Ok I am gonna be a bit controversial here and excuse the pun in the word play but for me this album is head and shoulders above anything Oasis have done. I think they peaked with this album. Ok so there aren't a bunch of hit singles on here but the songwriting is really strong, they have stripped out a lot of that Mancunian angst in Liam's delivery that was starting to become tiresome and repetitive. The album kicks off with the truly superb F***in In The Bushes ... which is just about the rockiest hookline that the band have ever produced. That is followed by Go Let It Out ... I can't for the life of me understand why this didn't sell in bigger numbers when released as a single. The laconic swirling Who Feels Love follows next, a superb track and I wish Liam sang more tracks in this style. We then trip into good old Oasis style rock and roll with Put Your Money Where Your Mouth Is .. which harks back to their earlier sound. Little James is a superb track and you don't need to be an Oasis fan to appreciate that this is just a great piece of work. We then move on to Gas Panic ... a personal favourite from the album that I used to listen to a lot in the car. Where Did It All Go Wrong is a song that wouldn't be out of place on Be Here Now .... its just a great song, well written and well sung by Noel. Noel then features again on Sunday Morning Call and if he ever needed evidence that he could make it on his own, those two tracks are all the proof he needs, it is a great song, with a superb blend of guitars. I Can See A Liar also has a feel of early Oasis but again with less of the angst in Liam's vocal delivery. The album closes with its longest track, Roll It Over and I would say its the only one on the album that retains any sort of hint of a homage to the Beatles.

Say what you like about the early ground breaking albums, for me, this is their best album by a country mile. I played it in my car on the way to and from work for about 8 months and there are more tracks of this album than any other in my iPod Oasis playlist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars .....different?, 10 May 2000
By 
xh0u9016@liv.ac.uk (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
Compared to Oasis' earlier albums (Definately Maybe and What's The Story) it's bad. If you want the original Oasis, don't expect much. But on its own, it's a great album.
The best songs on the album are Where Did It All Go Wrong, Roll It Over and Gas Panic. Roll It Over might as well be "Champagne Supernova part II". Where Did It... is another classic Oasis track, a strong tune.
The only ones I'm not keen on are I Can See A Liar and Who Feels Love. I Can See... isn't bad, but it's let down by a lack of variety. Who Feels Love is just a bit strange to me - too far from the original Oasis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album IS good!, 4 Mar. 2000
WHAT THE HELL IS WRONG WITH PEOPLE! Why has and how can anyone slate this? I have just been out and bought it and have just listened to it, and I couldn't find a single problem with it. The best tracks are "Go Let It Out" which is an obvious single, "Little James" which shows "our kid" CAN write a good song, and "Who Feels Love" which is deceptively brilliant. So what if they sound like The Stone Roses or The Doors or The Beatles or whoever the hell they're supposed to sound like? And why are people putting them down for this? Are they now saying that these bands are no good? The mind boggles. On the whole, a very good album - not their best, mind - well, cos What's The Story is the greatest album ever made - but good nontheless. Definately will be one of the albums of the year. But why only ONE shoulder? and if there is only one shoulder, why is there more than one giant? Again, the mind boggles. BUY THIS ALBUM!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could try harder........, 13 July 2000
Considering that this album was brought to us by Oasis, who brought us some of the most exciting rock 'n' roll of the last decade, this is a bit of a letdown. This is not too say that it is a bad album by any means, but it is certainly no match for 'Definitrly Maybe' or 'Whats the Story....'
There are certainly some standout moments. Gas Panic!' is possibly Oasis' finest song to date, and when Liam sings 'and my family don't seem so familiar/and my enemies all know my name', the listener is taken back to the golden era of Oasis when they seemed untouchable.
Unfortunately, the rest of the album does not live up to this. 'Who feels love?', despite being a blatant Beatles rip off, is pleasant enough, as are 'Put yer money where yer mouth is', first single 'Go Let It Out' and opener f**** in the Bushes'. However, to add to this positive aspect are some really poor moments. Liam's first stab at songwriting is certainly tender and from the heart, but with lyrics such as 'You play with their toys/even though they make noise', he should stick to what he is best at. After Noel's solo foray 'Where did it all go wrong?', the album takes a turn for the worse, and leaves people thinking What if....? Whoever decided to releasd 'Sunday Morning Call' as a single should question their judgment, and 'I can see a liar' and 'Roll it over' are little more than background music.
This is certainly not as terrible as some people have been saying, but it is by no means a classic. It's most glaring omission is the lack of a song such as 'Live Forever, Wonerwall or even (whisper it) Stand by Me. But the signs are promising, and after the low point which was 1997's 'Be Here Now', we can only hope that this positve upwards trend continues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good but it could have been better still....., 22 July 2000
By A Customer
The problem with Oasis records post WTSMG is that they have a hell of a lot to live up to. The question is will they ever match or better the material on their first two albums? well unfortunately with this album they don't. Even so this is still a very good record and an improvement over Be Here Now. There are some really great songs on this album but then the album is let down by some half arsed album fillers. Best track of all is "Gas Panic" and is one of Noel's best song writing efforts, other standout tracks include the catchy "Go Let It Out" and "Who feels Love". Also Liams effort is not at all bad, maybe slightly sickeningly sweet but a very nice tune nontheless. But it's songs like the dreary "sunday morning call" and the half arsed effort that is "I can see a Liar", that really let this album down, but otherwise this is a very good album even if it does not reach the heights of the first two albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Definite Improvement On Last Time..., 8 Mar. 2000
Well... what can one say, is this the 'New' Oasis, or are they in transition? 'New' material comes in the form of the albums two strongpoints, 'F***in In The Bushes' and 'Go Let It Out'. Evidence of samples gives a new feel and impetus behind the band. Perhaps the band has learnt that stagnant music cannot be revived with overproduction. The unfortunate low points are the Noel Ballads 'Sunday Morning Call' and 'Where Did It All Go Wrong'. Dull and dreary, Gallagher snr. really needs to get his backside in gear, because songs like 'Put Your Money Where Your Mouth Is' is basically two different lines repeated but with a couple of words changed now and again. Along with 'I Can See A Liar', however, there is a look back to the 'Sex Beatles' days of 'Definitely Maybe', and rightly so. Overall verdict? Better than 'Be Here Now', could do with better lyrics, and a new direction in the waiting, so the next album should be THE MASTERPIECE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only Two Songs Stop This Being Five Stars, 7 July 2008
It is a real shame. No, I'm not talking about the 'demise of Oasis', but I'm talking about this album. The shame is that it is so underrated as an Oasis album. It doesn't deserve the amount of criticism it received when released.

The thing is with this album is that it is much better than Be Here Now. Although the singles of that album were the best thing about it, the rest of the songs were devoid of any inspiration. However, many of the songs tackle Noel coming off drugs, the big comedown on the heydays in the nineties and even one about Liam's son.

There's no 'Live Forever' or 'Don't Look Back In Anger'. Don't expect any of these sort of stadium anthems because your not going to get any. The lead single 'Go Let It Out' is probably the nearest thing to the big anthem on this album. But that's the thing. The album is not about big anthems. Instead, psychedelia is brought to the fold, and while initially many of the songs may seem dull, give them time because they grow on you. The production is absolutely brilliant and not over produced like Be Here Now. The lyrics are probably the best Oasis have come up with. 'Gas Panic' is genius and is one of the best things I've ever heard from Oasis. Yes, 'Little James' has pretty uninspired lyrics but only for part of it and it is a sweet tune, not the disaster that I'd heard people say it was.

To be honest, there are two songs that are missable. Ironically, it's the two rockers 'Put Your Money Where Yer Mouth Is' and 'I Can See A Liar'. Lyrically dull and musically dull aswell, it is certainly not something that would make it on to 'Definitely Maybe'.

The songs don't hit you like the ones on 'Morning Glory', but they are more slow and hypnotic ones. You can't casually listen to this album, you need to give it its full attention, and if you do that, them I'm sure you'll find the brilliance that I found in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars despite the critics, 29 Dec. 2009
Despite the critics to this album, the tracks are extremely catchy once you have heard them a few times. The true oasis fan will appreciate this album, but it probily wont appeal to the commercial audience.Standing on the Shoulder Of Giants
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oasis top the Charts. agian!, 6 Mar. 2000
By 
Mr. C. M. Jones (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
We all thought Oasis had died after 'be here now'. It seems that they have been 'Born agian'. The overall sound of the album is much improved. The kicking beats of Alun White and the meater Base bring a much needed alteration to the dying sound of the previous album. Noel's song writting seems to have improved also. lyrics like'Wash your face in the morning sun' have been replaced with more meanful statements such as 'found what i've lost inside: my spirit has been purified'. However 'Go let it out' droawns on and 'I can see a lier' is just typical of the Oasis lazy approach. But 'Gas Panic' is just brilliant, and 'Where did it all go wrong' is a fine piece of art not to mention the first song 'fuckin' in the bushes'. It does seem that Oasis have found that higher level agian. It will be interesting to see how the new line up performs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Standing on the Shoulder of Giants [MINIDISC]
Standing on the Shoulder of Giants [MINIDISC] by Vince Hill (Mini-Disc - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews