Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nick Cave In Beautiful, Non-Murder Related Album Shocker!!!
To say that all of Nick Cave's albums before this point had been solely about murder is slanderous. That said death, dirt, darkness and rage have tended to be recurring themes throughout his entire career. The watermark for this was his previous album 'Murder Ballads' which examined the actions of numerous psychos in intrepid detail. It charted the victims, tried to find...
Published on 5 Feb 2002 by marauderite

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DO NOT BUY A CD FROM HERE!
I ordered The Boatman's Call by Nick Cave, an excellent album by the way. Amazon sent me the correct CD cover but....containing an album of songs by Yazoo! I sent it back ,not happy. Amazon then sent me a replacement Boatman's call by Nick Cave. Correct CD cover but containing an album of songs by Yazoo!!
Unbelievably bad service. Hello i Tunes.
Published 7 months ago by Patrick


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars captivating, 9 Dec 2008
This review is from: The Boatman's Call (Audio CD)
This was my first Nick Cave album afer years of hearing the name but never even looking him up on the internet. Also my first Amazon review so that is how highly I regard these songs. The first six tracks are simply stunning, the second half doesn't appeal as much to me. Now I have started to buy the rest of his back catalogue I still come back to this as his most powerful material. Obviously a very poignant time in his life. Some of the arrangements are so simple but songs like lime tree arbor and brompton oratory move me every time I hear them. Truly haunting songs, very raw emotions and an honesty in the lyrics that I can't believe anyone else will ever come close to. His voice holds you spellbound and makes your mood rise and fall as the songs unfold. Definately music that really moves the soul - there is just no comparison to any artist around today. See them live and you realise just how much charisma Nick Cave has and how cool he and the Bad Seeds really are. Strutting around like he just doesn't care and showing no signs of being early 50's. An inspiration to us all!! I'd also rate the bulk of the new album, Dig Lazarus Dig, as highly as this but for different reasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite, 18 Oct 2007
This review is from: The Boatman's Call (Audio CD)
This album is beautiful; exquisite. It contains the kind of emotional honesty and philosophising that comes across as hokey and ham-fisted when attempted by inferior songwriters. With Nick Cave, it lifts itself into the stratosphere with it's own beauty. Cave's clear, vulnerable voice perfectly matches his wistfully contemplative lyrics, and beautiful pianos complete the entire effect, of beauty and effortless splendour. This album has 100% converted me to this thoughtful, talented artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 11 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boatman's Call (Audio CD)
This album is brilliant, the lyrics and the music. It is extremely moving. The 1st time I heard 'Into My Arms' I had tears in my eyes. My other favourite songs on there are People aint no Good,There is a Kingdom and Are you the one tha I'm waiting for. Buy this album it is one of the best ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Styx with Stones, 29 Mar 2010
By 
Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles "FIST" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Boatman's Call (Audio CD)
St Nick casts his net and trawls the depths of the oceanic emotional under currents to bring to the surface those fragments normally kept hidden, jumping alive in his twilight world.

Demanding; happens when a relationship based on trust unravels and dissolves before you, whilst you feel helpless to put on the hand brake.

A number of choices from memory; firstly trip to the off licence or pub to drown in alcohol. Second; an active social life and wait for the rebound. Third; immersion in work, hobbies or in this particular case, religion to channel the frothing energy. Fourthly; lie in bed with the covers pulled tight, whiling away time through sleep.

Nick takes elements of each to create a different tack, he articulates an emotional chasm and then uses the negativity to create a soul poetry, built upon the solid foundations of pure distilled misery.

Operating the sheep dogs of his psyche, he has coralled his wandering emotions to make this statement of energetic release. An artist in a unique position, wading through the debris of the 70's and 80's without ever surrendering artistic integrity. All undertaken traversing his personal mire to arrive at his sleek custom lowbrow, carny, geek freak island, turning in the sun whilst at the same time jumping into the murky pond of despair. "Come on it!" he screams.

Populated by memories and actualities of refuseniks, kindly ushered from polite society; service provided by the bearded lady, drinks poured by the midget, security by the elephant man, whilst the twisted limbs of a contorted Nick reads poetry to packed silent rooms. All operating upon a lonely frontier.

As time recedes from the 80's , he is one constant thread to cling to, a marker to remember when something happened that was wholesome. His songs connect to the eeriness of the universe as short wave crackle emittng a strange funereal party at the end of radio dial.

So enter his post love album. Nick connects electric to emotions swept to one side by polite glazed look society. His form of loss shifts from murderous to melancholy. Even when he is loving he recounts bitterness Catherine Cookson and Georgette Heyer singer songwriters would lock discretely away in a sugary tower. The listener would never penetrate their emotional thick concrete walls, coated in cloying layers of syrup and sacharine.

Nick ascends because he picks the lock to the abyss within, and lets the "monster" into the daylight. On this album he not only allows the "beast" to bask but provides food, water and tenderness. "Into my arms," "Lime Tree Arbour," "People ain't no good" are crooned over brooding piano accompaniment to summon his beasts. "Brompton Oratory," a slight change of uplifting direction. All songs having memory barbs sharpened within their hooks, bringing the listener back with a jolt as singer songwriter compositions depict a bleak emotional stillness.

Anyone who is disturbed is entitled.It may not be the album itself, but what it represents as it invokes its desolate magic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nick Cave's Blood on the Tracks, 16 Oct 2009
This review is from: The Boatman's Call (Audio CD)
I imagine that it is easy for fans to rave about their favourite artists and give 5 star reviews to their favourite albums. However, no matter how level headed and critical you are, on hearing this album you are compelled to admit that this is not only Nick Cave's best album, but also one of the best collections of original songs in the last 50 years. To achieve such a feat you have two strategies: either try to create an album that attempts to do absolutely everything or create one which does a few things very, very well. The Boatman's Call is an example of the latter.

The key themes that link all the songs are love, loss, despair and recrimination. All the best albums tread on similar ground - for example Bob Dylan's "Blood on the Tracks" or Joni Mitchell's "Blue". It is no exaggeration that Cave has produced an album of equal stature to those two classics.

This is a deeply personal album meditating on a number of failed relationships in his own life, but these concerns are ultimately universal and touch everyone. The pace of the album is, for the most part, funereal and slow and the production is tastefully stripped down. Piano, acoustic guitar, violin and Cave's baritone dominate most of the tracks. The album slowly draws you in and repeated listenings yield rich rewards, like re-reading a difficult and complex novel. This album requires a little patience at first. When you're used to eating at McDonald's you might crave more salt or sugar when you finally get to dine at a Michelin star restaurant. But as your sensitivities are gradually reawakened you appreciate the skill of the chef and and the subtlety and simplicity of the flavours. That's what happens here. I could go through each track and describe its merits but there are no bad songs here. It's difficult to pick a best track because each song perfectly communicates the emotion (or lack of emotion) it is designed to express. If pushed I would say that for me "Lime Tree Arbour" is particularly sublime. Given that the best albums are all written from a dark place it is a shame that soon after this release, Cave married a model, produced a few more kids and seemed to start enjoying life again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nick's come back, 11 Nov 2004
This review is from: The Boatman's Call (Audio CD)
This is possibly the best recent Nick Cave and the BS album. It is an intimate and extremely personal album about a very troubled time in Nick Cave's life. His split with his long term partner, his affairs with various pop stars etc are all chronicled here and some songs are heart wrenchingly sad. There are no exceptions to this album. All songs are as good as each other.
Nick Cave has denouced this album recently as being too personal. I agree with him that it is, but this is of no detrement to the album. In fact, he has made some of the greatest love songs. This was a true turning point for his music in my opinion created through a need to output his feelings through music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius!!!!!, 6 Sep 2001
By 
Matthew E. Reeves -smith "mattrs" (southampton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Boatman's Call (Audio CD)
A softer more sensitive work than previous albums, Nick Cave takes the traditional love song and takes it to dark, beautiful places. The album begins with Into My Arms,Cave with just his piano performs possibly the most touching love song I have ever heard.The Album peaks again with Are You The One I've Been Waiting For, but the whole work is of a consistently high standard.To me a long term Cave fan, this is his definitive album. The music is sparse yet beautiful with Cave's moving and provocative lyrics always at the forefront. Again- Genius!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's a classic, 27 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Boatman's Call (Audio CD)
The Boatman's Call is the album that half the Nick Cave fans in the world have been waiting for. It is an album of meaningful, melodic, beautiful and utterly bleak songs reminicent of sporadic moments of earlier Bad Seeds development. Let Love In had Nobodies Baby Now, The Good Son had The Weeping Song and Murder Ballads had Where The Wild Roses Grow but Boatman's Call is made up entirely of songs as good as the above. Dont get me wrong, the above albums are great, but this is greater still.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth a place in your CD collection, 29 Jan 2007
This review is from: The Boatman's Call (Audio CD)
I purchased this album after hearing the inspirational "People ain't no good". The rest of the album proves similarly successful, Cave's powerful lyrics combining with some well-executed music to produce a stunning album. A few tracks flew straight over my head, but for the most this is a very pleasing listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I bought what I liked when I heard the extracts, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Boatman's Call (Audio CD)
After listening to various songs I made this my first purchase of Nick Cave & the bad seeds as I liked many of the songs but after repeat listening have found me really liking the CD more and more so have made a further delve into NC&the BS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Boatman's Call [VINYL]
The Boatman's Call [VINYL] by Nick Cave (Vinyl - 1997)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews