Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS THE BEST EVER SELLING SINGLE
Elton john recorded candle in the wind 1997 in 1997 for the late diana, princess of wales, and upon hearing it, you will feel very moved if you are a diana fan.
Published on 18 Nov. 2003 by aefevans

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty much of its time
The biggest selling single of all time but it sold more on public grief than any actual merit it possessed. Viewed from a distance of three and a half years `Candle In The Wind 97` sounds slightly tacky, with Bernie Taupin's lyrics deliberately waving an onion under the tearducts. However it is still a potent reminder of the time when one woman's death affected an entire...
Published on 2 April 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS THE BEST EVER SELLING SINGLE, 18 Nov. 2003
Elton john recorded candle in the wind 1997 in 1997 for the late diana, princess of wales, and upon hearing it, you will feel very moved if you are a diana fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty much of its time, 2 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Something About The Way You Look Tonight / Candle In The Wind 1997: In loving memory of Diana, Princess of Wales (Audio CD)
The biggest selling single of all time but it sold more on public grief than any actual merit it possessed. Viewed from a distance of three and a half years `Candle In The Wind 97` sounds slightly tacky, with Bernie Taupin's lyrics deliberately waving an onion under the tearducts. However it is still a potent reminder of the time when one woman's death affected an entire nation. `Something About The Way You Look Tonight`, was double A sided with the charity recording and got a lot of deserved flak for putting Elton's latest single on a parity with Diana's death. The fact that this was an uninspired song promoting a weak album didn't help. Believe it or not the B side, `You Can Make History Young Again` is actually the best thing here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
been trying to get this one for ages good price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lady di, 19 April 2009
By 
B. Weight "baw" (kent england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
this is not something i would play over and over again but i am glad i have a copy of it. For all the wrong reasons i think everyone remembers this Elton John version of candle in the wind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars loveit, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great songs but that's just my opinion! Delivered on time and in good condition. Due to amazon req a longer review I now have to say more......it plays music as you'd expect but could at a later date become a coaster or a mirror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always Wanted, 10 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Something About The Way You Look Tonight / Candle In The Wind 1997: In loving memory of Diana, Princess of Wales (Audio CD)
I came across this by accident looking for something else and I'm so very pleased I did.
It brought back so many memories and I'm so happy that at long last I purchased it.
Should have done a long long time ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
arrived in time stated excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get a bucket ready because tears are coming., 5 July 2004
By 
Ricardo Vause (Tugby, Leicestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Something About The Way You Look Tonight / Candle In The Wind 1997: In loving memory of Diana, Princess of Wales (Audio CD)
This song was written by Elton John in memory of Britains greatest loss - the late Princess Diana.
What Princess Diana did was remarkable and i don't need to explain. Elton John has remade his tribute to Maralin Monroe and applied it to Diana.
This song will bring you to tears because it will bring back memories and point out what could have been.
The lyrics explain Diana perfectly and let you know just how special she really was.
I urge you to own this song (Candle in the wind 1997) because it will bring you to tears and remind you how fragile life is.
Remember i bucket is needed to catch those tears
Adios!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 18 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Something About The Way You Look Tonight / Candle In The Wind 1997: In loving memory of Diana, Princess of Wales (Audio CD)
Brings back awful memories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DVD, 31 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Something About The Way You Look Tonight / Candle In The Wind 1997: In loving memory of Diana, Princess of Wales (Audio CD)
My favourite song on thee DVD but disappointed that there was not all the songs which were on the original cassette.My son bought it for me years ago and i would have liked more of the songs on the original cassette
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews