Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is The Cure Over The Hill?
Not since "Disintegration" has a cure album affected me in such a deep way. Just when you might doubt he still has it, Robert Smith releases "Bloodflowers;" which is a little irony in itself as the song "39" is about that very doubt. There is something ineffable about The Cure, something that touches our souls. This album is very dark, and...
Published on 21 Feb 2000

versus
6 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lacklustre final effort from Robert and Gang
Having grown up listening to such great albums as Kiss Me Kiss Me Kiss Me, or Disintegration, it was exciting to hear advance press that The Cure had reverted to what they were best at with Bloodflowers. I'm not sure whether it's because I've grown up or simply moved on, but while the delicious guitar sounds and washes of synth are still very much there, the musicality...
Published on 16 Feb 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful,beautiful, beautiful mr smith, 30 Aug 2003
This review is from: Bloodflowers (CD) (Audio CD)
when i first bought this album i found it slighty too mature (but hey i was 12!) i pushed it aside and forgot about the cure until i heard the fantastic sexy,crazy,poppy,danceable,slick,synthisizerish classics such as lovecats,in between days,a forest etc ,i then decide to look back on this album and discovered how truly wonderful,beautiful and tear provinkingly good this was.The perfect album to lie on your bed looking at the person u love and remember how wonderful they are ,the cure have created a masterpiece ,a romantic ,mature masterpiece!yay!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing return, 8 April 2002
This review is from: Bloodflowers (CD) (Audio CD)
Despite a great deal of press interest and the launch of the Bloodflowers 2000 tour, this album is a disappointing listen.
The first track, Out of this world, is extremely good and is probably the best thing they have recorded since Wish in 1993. The trouble is that the rest of the album is well below the band's standard. The later tracks are very wishy washy. There is lots of guitar and wailing but the choruses on some of the songs sound like the verses in a different key and there are no hit singles. That's why no tracks from the album were released into the charts.
The Cure were thinking of retiring but after the success of their tour, they are preparing to record another album with a new record company. Good. It would be nice to have some more classic music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a good album, 3 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Bloodflowers [VINYL] (Vinyl)
"Bloodflowers" is the latest album from The Cure and is the bands darkest and most intense album to date. Although the band had a dark period at the end of the eighties with the release of their "Disintegration" album they bounced back with the release of the very upbeat album "Wish". (it remains to be seen how they will bounce back from this). This album includes a lot of dark, heavy sounding songs such as "39", "Watching Me Fall" and "Maybe Someday" and is really hard to get into at first but it does grow on you and once you break it all down you will find that the album is a typically Cure sounding album. Despite all the dark and hard tracks the album also includes a couple of softer tracks such as "The Loudest Sound" and "There Is No If...". Overall it's a good album but can't compete with a classic like "Disintegration".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Only one track on this album!, 14 Dec 2001
By 
Daniel Thorlby (North Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bloodflowers (CD) (Audio CD)
The problem with this album is that it's only one track, divided into 9 sections. Being serious now, all the songs do sound the same, making the album so boring. Its like the Cure have run out of ideas at long last. The album hasn't grown on me. I've tried and tried to let it grow on me by listening to it repeatedly, but I still can't tell the difference between the songs withough listening for quite a while. The only reason I have given this album two stars is that the title trak 'Bloodflowers' earns them for it. The track is a true masterpiece, absolutely incredible in its serenity. I'ts that the rest of the album just sounds like a mediocre version of the title track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful, 29 May 2003
This review is from: Bloodflowers [VINYL] (Vinyl)
The Cure doing what The Cure do best. This is a collection of songs that are thoughtfully written and expertly performed. This album was almost exclusively written and played by Robert Smith, in fact, everything but keyboard and drums, therefore this is The Cure at it's purest and greatest. Only matched by Pornography and Disintegration.
The reason no singles were taken from this album is because Robert didn't want to write any. These are non commercial songs that haven't been touched by a record company.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh Dear..., 7 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Bloodflowers (CD) (Audio CD)
This is supposed to be some kind of seminal Cure album, but I found it disappointing. The lyrics are true cure poetry but the music doesn't take them where they should go. Much as I enjoyed Disintegration I don't find Bloodflowers anywhere near as musically endearing, and that is what makes people buy. From the dark, mournful tones of Disintegration to the up-beat dark irony of Wild Mood Swings this new album comes across as a last-ditch attempt to win back the support "lost" when they released Wish. It just lacks something their other albums have plenty of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good Riddance, 12 Aug 2000
This review is from: Bloodflowers (CD) (Audio CD)
If this is what the Cure wants to leave us with, good riddance! The music here is mediocre at best, and Robert Smith's whining has two possible effects: puts you to sleep or makes you throw up. These songs sound monotonous, and they blend into each other, which makes it seem like one long, boring, continous track. I gave this cd a chance to grow on me, but it grew on me like a wart (pardon the old cliche). If only the songs weren't so bloody long. If a song braves to be more than 6 minutes long, it better be something special. Otherwise it drags. And this album drags. There's a song that's over 11 minutes in length. I wonder if Smith fell asleep while recording it. That's why it became so long. The Cure has had some great albums in the past. Unfortunately, this isn't one of them. Can I get a refund?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bloodflowers [VINYL]
Bloodflowers [VINYL] by The Cure (Vinyl - 2000)
Click for more info
Currently unavailable
Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews