Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is The Cure Over The Hill?
Not since "Disintegration" has a cure album affected me in such a deep way. Just when you might doubt he still has it, Robert Smith releases "Bloodflowers;" which is a little irony in itself as the song "39" is about that very doubt. There is something ineffable about The Cure, something that touches our souls. This album is very dark, and...
Published on 21 Feb. 2000

versus
7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lacklustre final effort from Robert and Gang
Having grown up listening to such great albums as Kiss Me Kiss Me Kiss Me, or Disintegration, it was exciting to hear advance press that The Cure had reverted to what they were best at with Bloodflowers. I'm not sure whether it's because I've grown up or simply moved on, but while the delicious guitar sounds and washes of synth are still very much there, the musicality...
Published on 16 Feb. 2000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliance, 19 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Bloodflowers (CD) (Audio CD)
Supposedly the last album and Robert said he wanted to go out with a great last album and that he was very satisified with this and rightly so! This album didnt even take time to grow on me, i thought it was brilliant from the first listen. Its a fairly mellow album though some tracks have a louder feel "39" and "the bloodlowers". I think every track on this album is very good, its hard to pick a favourite. The album is only nine tracks, but thanks to the depth and layers of this album it manages to last about an hour, and every minute of it is enjoyable. Its so easy to slate an album by this band and say their doing nothing new because theyve written so much music and been playing together for so long, but the fact is this album does have its own sound..... the cure are using accoustic guitars a lot on this album, which they havent really done before, and it brings a certain freshness to the feel of the album. Anyway if your unsure borrow it first, its a great album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Lacklustre final effort from Robert and Gang, 16 Feb. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Bloodflowers (CD) (Audio CD)
Having grown up listening to such great albums as Kiss Me Kiss Me Kiss Me, or Disintegration, it was exciting to hear advance press that The Cure had reverted to what they were best at with Bloodflowers. I'm not sure whether it's because I've grown up or simply moved on, but while the delicious guitar sounds and washes of synth are still very much there, the musicality has thinned out to predictable chord progressions, tired mannerisms and occasionally just boring stuff. I don't think The Cure ever recovered by the loss of Porl Thompson and Boris Williams - the drums are particularly uninspiring here - and there is a sense of barrel scraping going on. While the lyrics are typically emotive (in that sixth-form poetry kind of way) and what we've come to expect, none of the music really enhances that feeling, making such songs as There Is No If...less than memorable. Only two songs hark back to any Cure vintage, Maybe Someday and the title track, the rest getting lost in Cure sounds that simply have no depth. This album is best personified by, of all things, the sleeve design - a washed out Robert Smith, uninteresting type carrying slightly dire words, and seriously Photoshop drenched images that weren't really that good in the first place.
Bloodflowers looks like The Cure. It sounds like The Cure. But it simply isn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloodflowers (CD) (Audio CD)
I think this is one of the best cd's from the Cure,it sent me wild.Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enough fine Cure moments to send shivers down your spine., 16 Feb. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Bloodflowers (CD) (Audio CD)
Sure this isn't quite Disintigration or Pornography, but thankfully it isn't Wild Mood Swings.
The Cure have produed an album of Slick, smooth and stylish songs with the beautiful bass and restless lyrics only they are capable of.
In the current climate of fake indie dross and repetative Oasis chants Bloodflowers stands out from the crowd. The Cure have and always will have the ablility to write, record and play live, If only all bands could do that.
Thankyou Mr Smith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Got me through an awful school trip!, 30 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Bloodflowers (CD) (Audio CD)
There are no words for how much I adore this album. It's beautiful, moving and awe inspiring. It was one of a few cds I had on an awful school trip to Greece for a week when I was 17, and I might have gone postal had it not been for this cd. Perfection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloodflowers (CD) (Audio CD)
If you love cure you will love this album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 19 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloodflowers (CD) (Audio CD)
very good album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Have I grown middle-aged or have they?, 20 Feb. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Bloodflowers (CD) (Audio CD)
Having been fan of The Cure for most of the Eighties, I lost interest in The Cure a year or so after Wish came out. I can't explain it any more precisely than by saying that their work since then has always seemed to me to be too deliberate - formulaic, even, and smacking of a band that were just going through the motions, because they didn't know what else to do. Up until then, The Cure's music had been pretty much a way of life for me and every album from "Three Imaginary Boys" through to "Wish" would accompany me on my desert island, if I had to choose.
So I was excited by this, their touted return-to-form and (alleged) epitaph. After a number of listens, I am left unexpectedly indifferent. None of the lush textures, intricate melodies or exquisite production that I love about their earlier work is to be found here. In fact, after repeated listens I still can't remember any of the tunes. Instead I heard the tired affectations of a forty-something who's lost his way and sacked most of his friends, strumming away on an acoustic, overlaid with periodic, savagely under-produced squalls of electric guitar.
Perhaps they released the demo's by mistake and the real, polished master tape is locked away in a studio? Who knows, but I'm disappointed, frankly. If you, like me, were transfixed by both The Cure's glory years and the streamlined mechanical precision of The Sisters Of Mercy of the Eighties, you'll find more joy in the the deep trancy house of Sasha and John Digweed than "Bloodflowers".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, a strong Cure album, 16 Sept. 2007
By 
Adamski (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Bloodflowers (CD) (Audio CD)
A melancholy set from Smith but one which invigorates rather than flat-out depresses. Each time I play this album I like it more and it is a strong album, possibly even better than Wish. I loathe track 6 with a passion, "There Is No If...", with its she said/I said/you said refrains but other than that this is a fine collection of songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Breathtaking Masterpiece, 12 Aug. 2001
This review is from: Bloodflowers (CD) (Audio CD)
I have read numerous reviews of people saying how awful Bloodflowers is. I was a bit hesitant in buying it to start with, but i can reasuringly say i made a good buy. Bloodflowers makes an interesting change from some of The Cure's more hyper songs such as "Why Can't I Be You?" and "Hot, Hot, Hot!!!" I was quite surprised by the difference between this album and their earlier works, but not disappointed. Bloodflowers is a masterpiece. I though "Watching Me Fall" was a little too long, but songs such as "There Is No If..." reminded me of earlier works such as "Lovesong" and "Pictures Of You" but the song which most appealed to me was "Where The Birds Always Sing." This track somehow seemed more 'Cure-like' than most others in the style of music used and the well written lyrics by Smith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bloodflowers [VINYL]
Bloodflowers [VINYL] by The Cure (Vinyl - 2000)
Click for more info
Currently unavailable
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews