Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars43
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 February 2000
Having grown up listening to such great albums as Kiss Me Kiss Me Kiss Me, or Disintegration, it was exciting to hear advance press that The Cure had reverted to what they were best at with Bloodflowers. I'm not sure whether it's because I've grown up or simply moved on, but while the delicious guitar sounds and washes of synth are still very much there, the musicality has thinned out to predictable chord progressions, tired mannerisms and occasionally just boring stuff. I don't think The Cure ever recovered by the loss of Porl Thompson and Boris Williams - the drums are particularly uninspiring here - and there is a sense of barrel scraping going on. While the lyrics are typically emotive (in that sixth-form poetry kind of way) and what we've come to expect, none of the music really enhances that feeling, making such songs as There Is No If...less than memorable. Only two songs hark back to any Cure vintage, Maybe Someday and the title track, the rest getting lost in Cure sounds that simply have no depth. This album is best personified by, of all things, the sleeve design - a washed out Robert Smith, uninteresting type carrying slightly dire words, and seriously Photoshop drenched images that weren't really that good in the first place.
Bloodflowers looks like The Cure. It sounds like The Cure. But it simply isn't.
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2015
I think this is one of the best cd's from the Cure,it sent me wild.Superb.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2000
Sure this isn't quite Disintigration or Pornography, but thankfully it isn't Wild Mood Swings.
The Cure have produed an album of Slick, smooth and stylish songs with the beautiful bass and restless lyrics only they are capable of.
In the current climate of fake indie dross and repetative Oasis chants Bloodflowers stands out from the crowd. The Cure have and always will have the ablility to write, record and play live, If only all bands could do that.
Thankyou Mr Smith
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2012
There are no words for how much I adore this album. It's beautiful, moving and awe inspiring. It was one of a few cds I had on an awful school trip to Greece for a week when I was 17, and I might have gone postal had it not been for this cd. Perfection.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2015
Excellent,very good customer service also.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2014
If you love cure you will love this album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2016
Brilliant album!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2012
So you went to the Cure 2008 tour, purchase the program and toward the end of the booklet, it's written for all to see that studio and live cd's from "Wish" to "Bloodflowers" are suppose to come out as deluxe, remastered products.Ha Ha Ha, That never happen, Big Bob (who somehow starts ressembling to the Joker from the last Batman franchise)made us sell our cd's , never deliver the goods and now we're stock repurchasing our cd's in some second hand cd store.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2014
very good album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 September 2007
A melancholy set from Smith but one which invigorates rather than flat-out depresses. Each time I play this album I like it more and it is a strong album, possibly even better than Wish. I loathe track 6 with a passion, "There Is No If...", with its she said/I said/you said refrains but other than that this is a fine collection of songs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)