Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 11 tracks of Pure Genius
Surrender by the Chemical Brothers is by far the dance album of the year so far and also the best effort yet from the twosome of Tom an Ed. Like the Basement Jaxx album, Remedy, it uses a wide variety of music. Just take the two ballads, Asleep from Day and Dream On compared to the hard dance track, Hey Boy Hey Girl. No song sounds remotely simialar at all and if you...
Published on 26 Nov 1999

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's not as good as made out
First 3 tracks are undoubtedly class, and some of the others like 'Let Forever Be', 'Got Glint', and 'Dream On' are pretty good. This is NOT the album of the year. It's got duff tracks like 'The Sunshine Underground' and 'Asleep from Day' which to be honest just bore me to death. I'd recommend this if you like the Chemicals other stuff though, and is probably worth...
Published on 12 Jan 2000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars very happy, 17 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surrender (Audio CD)
arrived on time, as described, very happy with service.Used to have this albumn when it first came out and then got lost, so was good fathers day present and bring back some good memories :) Couldn't believe how much this was to buy on the high st - ouch!
would use seller again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars SURRENDER, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surrender (Audio CD)
MMM. ME LO ASPETTAVO UN PO PIU' ESPLOSIVO NON MI HA FATTO IMPAZZIRE A PARTE I SINGOLONO ESTREMAMENTE BELLI E DI GRANDE EFFETTO ALBUM DI MUSICA ELETTRONICA QUANDO LA MUSICA ELETTRONICA USCIVA E PRENDEVA TUTTI SPIAZZATI E PRESI DALLA NOVITA'
IL ROBY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No, no, no, no, NO!!, 20 Aug 2003
This review is from: Surrender (Audio CD)
I am sorry people but you can not deny the excellence of this album. I am still listening to it now, it has many uses - when I am down it'll pick me up, if I need some overlay music for a home video I go to this album first, if I am down the gym pumping iron then this will keep me going til I drop. If an album is so versatile and can stand the test of time (let's face it, what percentage of your total collection do you still listen to regularly? - 5% ?) If it can pull out many emotions and can be enjoyed at any volume then it has to be a top album right?
what are you hesitating for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 100% fantastic, 3 Nov 2008
This review is from: Surrender (Audio CD)
What an album! Great for getting ready for a night out, blasting in the car, or pretty much anytime when you want to feel good.
classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Psychadelic Heaven, 24 Feb 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Surrender (Audio CD)
This is a masterpiece. Nothing less. I bought this album 3 years ago, its a timeless, inovative, and something that The Chems are famouse for, genre busting.
Like every album, there are always standout tracks, however all tracks on this cd are amazing, each song having its own personality to match whatever mood you are in.
The singles are very strong, Heyboy Heygirl charting the highest at number 3 in 99. The best track on the album however is The Sunshine underground, a Pink Floyd, Asian Techno explosion, pure hedonism.
Buy this, rite now, because this is a classic, THe chemical Brothers are without doubt the best dance group the industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Oct 2014
This review is from: Surrender (Audio CD)
super cd now in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars cool as, 9 April 2002
This review is from: Surrender (Audio CD)
the ablum its self is very good ok its not as superb as "dig your.." but there is a lot of brilliant tracks. 'out of control' is by far one of the standouts, it bear little resemblence to electronic at all, its more like what primal scream attemped on their last album 'xtrmtr' but with the added bonus of bernard sumner. by far the best to tracks are 'sunshine underground' and 'hey boy' the first is a breezy summer tune that builds into a fine crecendo of house beats, where as 'hey boy'# is one tune guarnteed to get the floor jumping, wioth its blistering pace and heavy beats. over all this album is great i dont realy want to say too much cos its hard to describe how something sounds better to just get it and find out for yourselves!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good album with catchy tunes, but . . ., 18 July 2000
This review is from: Surrender (Audio CD)
I think we've got to the point that we've been so spoilt by the creative big beats of the Chemical Brothers that this album drops a mark. "Music Response", "Hey Boy, Hey Girl" and "Asleep From Day" get your feet moving but "Go Glint", "Let Forever Be" and "Dream On" set a different (if still good) beat. Good music but the tracks could have been positioned better for more effect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Listen very carefully..., 9 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Surrender (Audio CD)
This takes some getting into so don't put it down straighaway - put some effort in! Tracks like Under the Influence and Hey Boy Hey Girl make it all worth while. Personally more commercial tracks like Let Forever Be and particularly Out of Control don't do it for me, and aren't what the Chemicals should really be enjoyed for - lush, drug fuelled dance music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hits and indulgences from the Chemical Brothers, 12 Dec 2002
This review is from: Surrender (Audio CD)
It's tough to be fans of Tom and Ed, a.k.a. the Chemical Brothers. From their early DJ sets to their breakthrough and still best album Exit Planet Dust, we know what breakbeat fueled wonders they're capable of. Yet they continue to stray from their "Big Beat" sound after hearing the waves of similar bands, and this is their farthest departure yet.
So on the one hand we get glorious remnants of what they can do; Music:Response is a funky, bleepy stormer, and easily the best tune on the disc. It blends into "Under the Influence" with its huge dropping baseline and flittering melody on top. It then mixes not so well into the dud "Out of Control," mostly a failure due to Sumner's vocals. Check out their B-side on the Music:Response CD single for a much better, vocalless glimpse of what this song could have been. "Orange Wedge" is layered percussion that doesn't do much, while "Let Forever Be" is Beatles meets the Brothers, and the most debatable track. "The Sunshine Underground" is the spiritual heart of the CD, a psychedelic 8 minute piece that is, as always, cleverly produced but ultimately a shallow attempt at a vision not carried through. "Asleep from Day" is instantly skippable, featuring the drowsy vocals of Mazzy Star. But things do start to pick up with the excellent "Got Glint" and it's acid house leanings and "Hey Boy, Hey Girl" with it's simple yet catchy old school sample. The disc ends with a failed attempt to capture the flavor of "Private Psychedelic Reel."
The Brothers prove that when they want to make hits to move you, they are masters- there are 5 hits on this CD which warrant this a great purchase. But when they make songs to please themselves, the efforts are not compelling enough for us to join in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Surrender [MINIDISC]
Surrender [MINIDISC] by The Chemical Brothers (Mini-Disc - 1999)
Click for more info
Currently unavailable
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews