Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blondie - for everyone.
This is such mainstream Blondie that even the most lukewarm fan will love the lot. Blondastic value of course (21 tracks !) this album kicks off with the almost mystical Atomic (original version) and carries you thru such exotica as 'Island of lost souls', touching on a determined wistfullness in 'Dreaming', Bilingual Blondie (Denis) and winding up with a very...
Published on 28 Oct. 1999

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A nice selection of Blondie
While I am not entirely taken in by all things Blondie (not yet, anyway), this should be a good starting point, as it's a nice, diverse selection of tracks.

'Atomic', 'Heart of Glass', 'Call Me' and 'Rapture' are the standout tracks for me, all ageless in their greatness. The collection is somewhat marred by what I find to be much lesser tracks such as 'Denis',...
Published 21 months ago by Torben Madsen


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blondie - for everyone., 28 Oct. 1999
By A Customer
This is such mainstream Blondie that even the most lukewarm fan will love the lot. Blondastic value of course (21 tracks !) this album kicks off with the almost mystical Atomic (original version) and carries you thru such exotica as 'Island of lost souls', touching on a determined wistfullness in 'Dreaming', Bilingual Blondie (Denis) and winding up with a very satisifying remix of -well of course, 'Atomic' If Miss Harry has ever tingled your spine you will probably have all of these tracks anyway. If she hasen't - well it's never too late to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'ONE OF THE OUTSTANDING ACTS OF THE 80'S SCENE', 12 July 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
'Debbie Harry' fronted this 'American' new-wave group, she and guitarist 'Chris Stein' were
founder members during the mid-seventies, they soon made their mark both sides of the
'Atlantic' with 'Denis' which charted in the U.K back in 1978 peaking at number '2'
Guess in truth as much as I since loved the group's first Chart-Hit I took little notice, because
of the number of great acts around back then, until they Charted with 'Heart of Glass' which
proved to be their first number '1' in 79'
Of course as this 'Greatest-Hits' offering clearly demonstrates they had much success including
a three in a row run of number 1's in '1980' those being - 'Atomic' 'Call Me' and 'The Tide
is High' they did achieve five number 1's here in the U.K the other being 'Sunday Girl' in 79'
Among some of their other Chart successes on board this significant album, 'Hanging on the
Telephone' (Chart '5' 78') (I'm always Touched by Your) Presence Dear' (Chart '10' 78') -
'Picture This' (Chart '12' 78') 'Dreaming' (Chart '2' 79') and 'Rapture' (Chart '5' 81') among
the many hits harboured on-board this album.
The group split up in 1982 'Debbie Harry' pursued a solo career until 1998 when the band re-formed,
achieving just three U.K Chart entries including (not on this album) a number '1' (The groups 6th)
'Maria' (1999)
There are of course many 'Greatest-Hits' albums out there., this more than equal to any, current
'Amazon' price £5.49
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a perfect introduction to perfect pop music, 21 July 2000
By A Customer
Whether it is the pumping disco of Heart Of Glass, the sharp, punky sound of One Way Or Another or the perfect pop of Denis that attracted you to Blondie, you are sure to love all you find here.
With surely some of the greatest singles ever recorded, Atomic - The Best Of provides an easy way into the sound of Blondie. It is impossible not to fall in love with the attitude of Debbie Harry, which just adds all the more to the perfect sounds. A true classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The many faces of Pop, 24 Mar. 2004
By 
Peter Uys "Toypom" (Sandton) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
For some reason known only to the record company, the tracks on this compilation are not in chronological order. The album thus opens with 1979s synth-rock track Atomic and then moves back one year for the equally electronic but far more catchy Heart Of Glass, the pop and dance classic.
Track 3, Sunday Girl, also comes from the excellent Parallel Lines album, whilst Call Me (theme from American Gigolo) is another electronic dance track that has not aged well because it lacks a good tune. Next comes The Tide Is High, a lilting reggae number from 1980s Autoamerican. Denis takes us back to the brilliant 1977 album Plastic Letters, whilst Dreaming and Union City Blue come from 1980s less than inspiring Eat To The Beat album that also contains Atomic.
Plastic Letters and Parallel lines remain Blondie’s best ever single albums, as demonstrated by the beautiful ballad I’m Always Touched (By Your Presence Dear), the snappy pop song Picture This and the dreamy, experimental Fade Away And Radiate. X Offender and Rip Her To Shreds from their 1976 debut show the raw punk promise that was to develop into their delicious take on pop in the aforementioned Plastic Letters and Parallel Lines.
Atomic concludes with two interesting remixes of the title track. Blondie made original and intelligent pop music that encompassed hypnotic synthesizer textures (Call Me, Atomic, Heart Of Glass), melodic ballads (Denis, Presence Dear), rap (Rapture), reggae (The Tide Is High) and punk rock (X Offender, Rip Her To Shreds). This is a great compilation album, like The Complete Picture (20 tracks) or Greatest Hits (19 tracks), and it is difficult to choose between them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Eat to the Beat Blondie (Atomic) Compilation!!, 24 Jan. 2011
By 
Matloub Husayn-Ali-Khan "Matloub" (South Yorkshire, Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
This is an excellent compilation that opens with the classic Blondie syntho-pop tune: "Atomic" and then this compilation comes in with the electro-pop and dance classic track: "Heart of Glass". The track "Sunday Girl" comes from the Paralell Lines Album and "Denis" comes from the "Plastic Letters" Album are for me the best Blondie Albums!

My favourite track from the "Eat to the Beat" Album is "Union City Blues" - which remind me of the the late 1970s trade union activities in the UK - during the Margaret Thatcher era in the historical 1980s. Even tracks like "Picture This"; "Hanging on the Telephone" & "I am Touched By Your Presence Dear" are great.

The final two bonus remix tracks from the single "Atomic" are interesting and sounds great. A must buy Album for all Blondie (Debbie Harry) fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back to Blondie., 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Blondie for me is the kick ass women of her time,a female front lady singer of her own band,that was not usual for that time. I loved her as a teen and even more so at forty. These songs are timeless for me and always make me happy upon playing them. Debbie Harry is the embodiment of strength and understated sexyness, she never had to shake her booty; she just stood there and looked into the camera. She was and still is a musical mover and shaker, still sub zero kwl at 68. The cd is everything and more,you will not be dissapointed or able to sit still,you will feel better by the last track if you were feeling low,this is happy music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A nice selection of Blondie, 23 Jun. 2013
By 
Torben Madsen (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
While I am not entirely taken in by all things Blondie (not yet, anyway), this should be a good starting point, as it's a nice, diverse selection of tracks.

'Atomic', 'Heart of Glass', 'Call Me' and 'Rapture' are the standout tracks for me, all ageless in their greatness. The collection is somewhat marred by what I find to be much lesser tracks such as 'Denis', 'Rip Her To Shreds', and the completely redundant mixes of 'Atomic'.

Rushed out shortly to buy 'Parallel Lines' which is a stunner of an album. Maybe I will get to like the rest in time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Feb. 2015
By 
R. Brittain - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a brilliant album in a brilliant condition thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Blondie, 14 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
All Blondies greatest hits are on here and none of them disappoint, especially great songs for the time they came out and the type of music that will never die to the true music lovers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Atomic : The Very Best of Blondie [MINIDISC]
Atomic : The Very Best of Blondie [MINIDISC] by Blondie (Mini-Disc - 1998)
Click for more info
Currently unavailable
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews