Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Timeless Classic
If you think you know The Zombies from 'She's Not There' then think again. Original songs from Rod Argent and Chris White, Colin Blunstone's breathless vocals, superb harmonies and tight arrangements make this an album well worth hearing. It's pop music but pop music with class. I loved this album when I was a teenager and my teenage sons, more into rock than pop, like...
Published on 9 Sep 2000

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overrated
Hugely overrated.
Published 2 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Timeless Classic, 9 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Odessey and Oracle [VINYL] (Vinyl)
If you think you know The Zombies from 'She's Not There' then think again. Original songs from Rod Argent and Chris White, Colin Blunstone's breathless vocals, superb harmonies and tight arrangements make this an album well worth hearing. It's pop music but pop music with class. I loved this album when I was a teenager and my teenage sons, more into rock than pop, like it too. It was 'Time Of The Season' with its empty feel and brilliant organ breaks that first caught my attention but there are no weak tracks and 'Maybe After He's Gone' still sends shivers down my spine even after thirty years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, uplifting, sad and life affirming., 1 Aug 2004
By 
D. Macphee "phacmee!" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Odessey & Oracle (Audio CD)
Until last year all I knew of The Zombies was 'Time of the Season' and 'She's Not There'. After reading the reviews on Amazon I decided to buy the CD in the vain hope that I haven't wasted £12 on rubbish. The version I bought featured 15 bonus tracks (mostly b-sides). Needless to say that I was blown away from the first track to the last (incidentally 'Time of the Season' is probably my least favourite). Why haven't I come across this before? Why weren't they as big as the Kinks? And how can a bunch of unattractive insurance salesmen make such incredibly beautiful music?. Maybe this is why they didn't get the recognition they so richly deserved.
If you are a fan of the mellower side of the Kinks and the genius Elliott Smith I would ignore any bad reviews of this album and buy it today. My only regret is that I didn't discover this band before. Truly essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A True Hidden Gem, 12 Jun 2003
By 
Kris Barclay (Watford, Hertfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Odessey & Oracle (Audio CD)
Why I've only just happened upon this album I do not know. It must be ranked alongside Love's Four Sail & The Flying Burrito Brothers's Gilded Palce Of Sin as one of the most criminally overlooked albums of the last 40 years. Sunshine, Beach boy harmonies knitted to jazz flavoured song structures astride unusual and emotive lyrics. If you love good music,make that GREAT music, buy this album and spread the word, music this good deserves to be heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An absolutely fabulous taste of the sixties, 31 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Odessey & Oracle (Audio CD)
I was a teenager when this was released.Butcher's Tale was a minor hit and then Time of the Season topped the hit parade here in Canada. The whole LP shines with depth and great musicianship. "A Rose For Emily" is delicate and mesmerizing while "Care Of Cell 44" is certainly an unusual setting for a song. This LP ranks right up there with Sgt. Pepper and Beggar's Banquet and has moments that will stagger you. If you love the sixties you'll adore this LP and will never regret the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely stunning album, 23 Aug 2008
By 
W. Morrison (Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Odessey & Oracle (Audio CD)
After hearing glowing reports, I purchased this album and was rather pleased upon the first few hearings. Quality, catchy Sixties pop. The thing was that after a few more listens the songs began to get right into my mind and emotions, the album opened up and revealed itself to be a far more beautiful, pure and uplifting piece than it first appeared. Deeply indebted to the Beach Boys "Pet Sounds" this may be, but for sheer quality of songwriting and production it deserves to be considered as an equal to that album. I can't recommend it highly enough, and no fan of late Sixties pop or psychedelia should be without it. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic album beautifully expanded and remastered, 2 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Odessey (sic) and Oracle: The CBS Years 1967-1969 is Repertoire's 2 CD expansion of The Zombies' second and final album, featuring their best-known hit single, "Time of the Season." The package contains the mono and stereo mixes of the album, plus "RIP: The Lost Album," a collection of unused tracks that might have formed a 3rd LP for the Zs had they not split in late '67 and gone in different career directions (e.g. Rod Argent to Argent, Colin Blunstone away from music, etc.). Repertoire has done a fine job remastering these recordings; the notes give a nicely detailed account of the Zs' last months as a functioning unit, good track-by-track information and other minutiae relating to the songs contained within. Prior to buying this and Begin Here, which covers the band's recordings for Decca (1964-67), I had not owned any Zombies material - now am very glad I made these purchases. Their complete recordings are captured in two very neat packages; kudos to Repertoire for their efforts. I highly recommend both.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take an Odessey, 18 Jan 2006
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Odessey & Oracle (Audio CD)
Many bands (the Beatles, the Beach Boys) at least dabbled in psychedelica, but the Zombies are often overlooked. For the 30th anniversary of "Odessey and Oracles," the Zombies' best album was rereleased in a new form, proving that their enchanting psychedelic pop has aged exceeedingly well.

The Zombies were unusually good at taking perky, sweet, lush music and wrapping it around a more serious song, such as the upbeat "Care of Cell 44" (guy writing to his jailed girlfriend), or the lovely "A Rose For Emily," a poignant little song that tells of a lonely woman doomed to stay lonely. "And as the years go by/she will grow old and die/The roses in her garden fade away/Not one left for her grave..."

But the Zombies aren't all sadness wrapped in happy music. There are perky songs about being happy in love, losing a love and hoping she'll return, and reminiscing about "golden days and golden summer nights." The album ends on a reassuring note with the laid-back "Time of the Season," which sounds like the ultimate hippie anthem.

I have no memories of the 60s, since I was only born in the eighties. But "Odessey and Oracle" gives a rosy glow to that era,. Psychedelic flair minus the hazy, and every song is a gem. Though "Time of the Season" was the sleeper hit from the album, it's not the best or catchiest song on here -- it's just one of many excellent ones.

Rod Argent was definitely an outstanding songwriter. He was able to create atmospheric and beautiful songs with very simple writing ("Brief candles in her mind/bright and tiny gems of memory"). Perhaps his finest moment here is "I knew he when summer was her crown/and autumn sad/how brown her eyes," as a kick-off to a colorful look at a woman compared to all the seasons.

Colin Blunstone's vocals were well-suited to the music: a bit husky, quite pleasant and mellow. The music itself was generally based on guitar, gentle drums, pretty piano, and wavering Mellotron, with a bit of accordian coming in in one song. There's a rich interweaving of many instruments, in all sorts of pop music. Some is almost classical in tone, some is uptempo stuff that is perfect for the radio.

The Zombies were in peak form in "Odessey and Oracle," churning out some of the purest pop music ever. As sweet and exquisite as it was in the 1960s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning last will and testament, 11 Sep 2005
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Odessey & Oracle (Audio CD)
Judging by other reviews, this is an album that polarises opinion. For those who hate it, the problem is probably their expectation of it as a psychedelic job. I prefer to avoid the term as not everyone has the same idea of what that is. In any case, "Odessey and Oracle" is straightforward British pop dressed up in colourful, atmospheric harmonies, based largely around Rod Argent's various keyboards and Colin Blunstone's breathy vocals. Those who get their kicks solely from acid-fuelled trickery and the avant-garde won't find anything of interest here.
On the other hand, "A Rose For Emily" recalls Paul McCartney's more reserved moments at the piano, e.g. "For No One", while "Beechwood Park" is in the same area as "A Whiter Shade Of Pale" without being as memorable. There are also songs that sound like leftovers from the beat era. I love the melodies and textures right across this album however with the emotional "Hung Up On A Dream" and the U.S. hit "Time Of The Season" personal favourites.
I once owned a compilation of The Zombies' earlier singles and, "She's Not There" apart, thought it third-rate. It's ironic that they did this, the bulk of their best work, when they knew that they'd break up without promoting it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 16 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Odessey & Oracle (Audio CD)
one of the best and most underrated albums of the 60's.if you like high quality music you will love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I just WAS made for these times!, 23 Dec 2009
By 
andybrum (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Odessey and Oracle [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Those reviewers who do not appreciate or understand the context of this seminal album clearly were not at least 13 years old at the time it was made. The genre of what at the time were sometimes called 'Concept Albums' was started in 1966 by The Beach Boys with their excellent "Pet Sounds", followed a year later by the Beatles' famous "Sgt. Pepper". At about the same time came The Moody Blues' monumental "Days of Future Passed" and then came this wonderful Zombies "Odessey and Oracle" album with the songwriting shared almost equally by band members Chris White and Rod Argent and vocals mainly by Colin Blunstone. It was never intended to be psychedelic, but it was more a collection of statements on contemporary subjects (e.g. the Vietnam War as in 'The Butcher's Tale') made up from fine lyrics and tunes. This album was released by CBS in the UK in 1968 and and could also be said to have formed a part of a large number of similar albums released at this time on the same label featuring mainly USA-based bands such as The Byrds, Taj Mahal, The Electric Flag and The Peanut Butter Conspiracy, together with the UK-based Elmer Gantry's Velvet Opera. To help readers to understand the context of "Odessey and Oracle", I commend the 1969/70-released CBS sampler albums "The Rock Machine Turns You On" and "Rock Machine I Love You".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Odessey and Oracle [VINYL]
Odessey and Oracle [VINYL] by The Zombies (Vinyl - 1998)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews