Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars R&B ALBUM OF THE YEAR
After recently obtaining a copy of the Craig David "Born To Do It" CD, I was absolutely blown away by the unique melodies that are produced on this album. Though his style is similar to Donnell Jones, R. Kelly, and Eric Benet, Craig David I believe leads the pack by offering the same beats as his American counterparts, but he also adds flavor to his album by...
Published on 13 May 2001

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Heard one track heard them all.
A disappointing album which after hearing the appealing 7 days and walking away seemed to have a lot of potential. Unfortunately this was not realised. Too samey too bland too everything execpt striking.
Published on 21 Dec 2000


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars R&B ALBUM OF THE YEAR, 13 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Born to Do It (Audio CD)
After recently obtaining a copy of the Craig David "Born To Do It" CD, I was absolutely blown away by the unique melodies that are produced on this album. Though his style is similar to Donnell Jones, R. Kelly, and Eric Benet, Craig David I believe leads the pack by offering the same beats as his American counterparts, but he also adds flavor to his album by adding instruments that don't make it sound like the same old R&B we keep hearing. If Craig keeps making tracks as good as the ones he currently produced, I think this boy will blow up on the international scene in no time. Like many others, I am trying to get word of his album to everyone I know here in Cali and hope that his success and music will be a strong presence in America in the very near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT, JUST PURE EXCELLENCE!, 17 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Born to Do It (Audio CD)
Okay, so people may not agree, but Craig David has done very well, especially for a debut! The song Rendevous (song 3) is great, as is Booty Man(song 9). A varying mix of music, which not a lot of artists do on one album, and there is not one bad song among them. This has been on my cd player, practically 24 hours a day, since i got it at 8am monday morning (thanks to amazon!). Listening to it now in fact! I must admit, when Rewind first came out i wasn't sure, but now i like it, and my fave has to be 7 days!
When is the new album out? okay i'm kidding, but when he said he was born to do it, he certainly was!
Deserves 6 stars out of 5!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Craig D. a danceable debut whitch makes you long for more..., 28 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Born to Do It (Audio CD)
As I go to work each day, I start of by putting Craig Davids 'Born To Do It' on. It's new and yet very familiar sound just lifts you up. In a mix of accoustic instruments and the use of synthesisers, his voice weaves through it all like a butterfly, creating a very distinctive personal sound. His lyrics show that he is still a very young man, discovering the femalesex and enjoying the dating game. It makes me feel young as well and looking at the world as if I was his age again. I often find myself singing along his lyrics, dancing in my car, with not a care in the world. My favorites are "Fill Me In" because of the syncopic rythm, "Rendezvous" for the dreamy-story-telling-feel to it, "7 Days" its hot and funny all at the same time, "Walking Away" Craig's melangoly answer to the blues. Hope his next album comes out soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Heard one track heard them all., 21 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Born to Do It (Audio CD)
A disappointing album which after hearing the appealing 7 days and walking away seemed to have a lot of potential. Unfortunately this was not realised. Too samey too bland too everything execpt striking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Born To Do It, 18 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Born to Do It (Audio CD)
.... America do this music much, much better than us, and so Craig uses these influences, and is the best thing to come out of the UK, we should be proud of such an artist, who incorporates our UK garage sound, and mixes it with US styles R&B, not bringing him down. The album does not have one bad track on the album, sure to pop fans this may not be the album they wanted, but Craig David really never aims at the British pop fan, he just recieved a lot of coverage which turned him into a pop icon. The people he aims at are the ones who would've bought the album wheter it was 'in' or not. Tracks like "Rendevous" can take the wind out of the sails of almost any american R&B artist, who all just drop a albums full of heavy bass beats with Hip Hop influances to cover, not comliment the vocals. Craig David can sing, can write songs and is from the UK, I just don't think some can handle us having a successful artist without talking about the US. To put it bluntly this album is quality through and through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gonna be MASSIVE!, 17 Aug 2000
This review is from: Born to Do It (Audio CD)
This album is a collaboration of smooth lyrics and slick instrumentals. It very much caters for an R'nB audience, and "Born to do it" definately has the flavours of US R'n'B, but with a lacing of UK garage sounds especially with the massive hit "Rewind", you can't help but feel proud that this boy is 'one of ours'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Original Album, and still the best..., 18 Nov 2002
This review is from: Born to Do It (Audio CD)
In light of Craig's recent release "Slicker Than Your Average", his first offering "Born To Do It" is far more steeped in the essence of UK R&B that he was brought up on. The album takes every effort to make him sound as British as possible without the heavy hip-hop beats of the second. The singles show his pure class over his US rivals, with the original guitar riffery that one would not expect from over the Atlantics R&B heavyweights. '7 Days' and 'Walking Away' illustrate the versatility of a catchy hook and good instrumentation. In summary, if you have to make a Craig David purchase make it this one, the range of vocal talent this boy shows here is far superior to the newer material that illustrates how much the USA has robbed him of his UK style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this if you LOVE the wicked Craig David album!!!, 18 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Born to Do It (Audio CD)
You know what? Born to do it is an amazing album, great for relaxing to, but also there are some great dance tracks as well. This album is definately one for R&B fans but the suberb tunes are also under the influence of garage and dance. Craig's got a suberb talent for singing/songwriting and anyone who doesn't appreciate it should not try to comment on the album. You have to appreciate wicked english R&B to buy this album. Craig will go far in America and as he's so young there should be many more years of massive hits and hopefully more duets with Artful D (which I must add is a brilliant album as well!) Every track is a number 1 on this album, particuarly Bootie Man, Walking Away and You Know What. I went to see Craig on tour and it was an amazing show, he was so energetic and brilliant live. But stop reading this, go out and buy the Craig David album. NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome!!!, 4 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born To Do It (MP3 Download)
Amazingly good album. Haven't heard this for 10 years. Worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Cd, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born to Do It (Audio CD)
Love this cd, on the last two songs it skips a bit, but only a few times, so thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Born to Do It
Born to Do It by Craig David (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews