Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hot Fuss
Always more than a poor man's Dr Feelgood, the band shot to prominence with the truly magnificent 'Live At The Marquee' ep. Of the four tracks only 96 Tears is featured on this compilation (which is a shame). Don't fear, however, the majority of the remainder feature some classics.

The title song is how most 70s listeners remember the band; Teenage Depression...
Published on 12 April 2009 by Mr. N. R. Banks

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmmmmmmmmm!
Bought this compilation of the strength of 'Teenage Depression' and 'Do Anything You Wanna Do' (especially for former) and am left feeling somewhat disappointed having wrongly assumed the rest would be as good. How wrong you can be. Still I suppose it is still worth it for those two? As for the rest of it they all seem just a bit too formulaic, lacking any of that...
Published 13 months ago by Possum Pie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hot Fuss, 12 April 2009
By 
Mr. N. R. Banks "Campo 54" (Leeds, West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Do Anything You Wanna Do (Audio CD)
Always more than a poor man's Dr Feelgood, the band shot to prominence with the truly magnificent 'Live At The Marquee' ep. Of the four tracks only 96 Tears is featured on this compilation (which is a shame). Don't fear, however, the majority of the remainder feature some classics.

The title song is how most 70s listeners remember the band; Teenage Depression & Schoolgirl Love are also classic 'power-pop' tunes of their era.

Thngs started to get really interesting, however, when ex Kursaal Flyers guitarist Graham Douglas joined the band and the truly underrated and overlooked classic album ' Life On The Line' was released. In my opinion this should have taken the band from mere contenders to top dogs. Everything was in place: great songs - Media Messiahs, The Power & The Glory et al,; great production, and, topping this, great guitar playing from Mr Douglas. Of the time and the genre Wilko (Johnson) and Mick (Green) rightly take most of the critical plaudits... Mr Douglas wasn't too far behind.

The compilation is a decent overview of the band's recorded output. Completists should check out the ep and Life On The Line. And all this from a band who released the 'original' Thriller album years before some boy band upstart!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chart Hits, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do Anything You Wanna Do (Audio CD)
I am attempting to collect all chart hits from 1952-1993, I bought this because it contained a number of hits. It didn't disappoint,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Hmmmmmmmmmmm!, 28 Jun 2013
This review is from: Do Anything You Wanna Do (Audio CD)
Bought this compilation of the strength of 'Teenage Depression' and 'Do Anything You Wanna Do' (especially for former) and am left feeling somewhat disappointed having wrongly assumed the rest would be as good. How wrong you can be. Still I suppose it is still worth it for those two? As for the rest of it they all seem just a bit too formulaic, lacking any of that expected urgency or conviction. I've recently reviewed Dr Feelgood's 'The UA Years' compilation and was left with more or less the same feeling except of course the crucial Wilko Johnson years. When it comes down to the nitty-gritty they are no better than the average pub-rock band you can see in your local on a Friday night. Ho-hum...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eddie and the Hotrods, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do Anything You Wanna Do (Audio CD)
Excellent CD. This was bought for a birthday present. Some good songs on it. Excellent service, didn't take long to come
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Pleasant Surprise, 22 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do Anything You Wanna Do (Audio CD)
Bought this cd after seeing them live recently and its grown on me the more I play it.
Commercial punk in style but quite catchy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An all time favourite, 14 May 2009
By 
T. Cassidy (Worcester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Do Anything You Wanna Do (Audio CD)
The previous reviewer obviously knew the band better than I but do yourself a favour and get to know the title track by buying this cd. At a little over 3 what have you got to loose?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Searching for adventure, 3 Feb 2011
By 
Mr. J. A. Cousins (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Do Anything You Wanna Do (Audio CD)
The opening/title track is a classic from the punk period, the most glaring omission from the Teenage Kicks compilation.
The rest is mostly pub rock of the kind that I grew up with in south Essex; it livened up an evening out but wasn't the kind of music that I would buy to listen to at home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Do Anything You Wanna Do
Do Anything You Wanna Do by Eddie & The Hot Rods (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews