Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
10
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£21.77+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 December 2000
I have followed Keith Jarrett's career since his solo piano recordings of the late 70s and early 80s. This live trio recording in Paris presents a different, more lively rendition of some bebop classics as well as the usual ballads, including a sublime version of the classic 'Round Midnight'. Unlike many live jazz performances the band play as a band, and the recording is once again notable for DeJonnette's astonishing drumming. The recording is superb and some of Jarrett's runs lead the listener to another place in time and space! Much recommended for those dark winter evenings with friends.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2014
There are alot of the trio albums out there and I have most of of them. For me this is the Desert Island disk of the trio work, closely followed by the Live At The Blue Note set. The playing ranges from exuberant to inwardly reflective, the trio is completely integrated and the recording quality impecable. If you are new to KJ start here; if you don't like it, give up on him and move on to some-one else!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 16 October 2006
Why do ECM keep releasing Standards Trio albums? I can't afford to buy them all, its just not fair.

This is another absolutely blinding (double) CD. The track that caught my attention immediately was "What is thing called love". I don't how many versions of this tune I have by Jazz musicians but it must be dozens. Well heres another way of playing the song. A great solo Piano intro and then Keith just flys into the tune with stream of brilliant inventions.

The rest of the album maintains an equally high standard. A swinging version of "Bouncing with Bud" and a beautiful version of "Chelsea Bridge" are highlights from disc 1. Having said that I love the version of "Wrap Your Troubles in Dreams" on disc 1 where Keith harks back to pre-bop era with a version that in its solo Piano intro is almost stride and continues that feel even if there isn't the ooom-pah left-hand all the time.

The total playing time is 1 hour 53 mins over the 2 discs. I've never heard a bad 'Standards Trio' album, but this is one of the very best.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2000
There are very few words I can say.. because words can't really describe music. One could wonder: why has Keith Jarrett so many CD out? Jazz is live and improvised music, every concert, every performance is a unique event .. Keith Jarrett is a skillfull, experienced and gifted piano player. Improvised music played by one of the best living piano player. No wonder you want to record every performance of a living miracle and also publish them. "Whisper not" has the usual simple cover, the list of the 14 tracks, the more or less usual bunch of standards. Yet another must-have CD from Keith Jarrett. Enjoy..
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2000
A track from this CD was played on Radio 3's regular programme, 'Jazz Record Requests' on 2 December. Jack de Johnette's drumming is the glue that holds the trio's playing together. He and Jarrett might well have secured a place in jazz history as the 21st century successors to Monk and Blakey's work of 40 years ago. Anyone who was fortunate enought to have seen the trio at the Royal Festival Hall in London last year will want this CD as a lasting memory as to how well they were playing in 1999.
I'm off to order my copy before everyone else cleans out the available stocks.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2000
There are very few words I can say.. because words can't really describe music. One could wonder: why has Keith Jarrett so many CD out? Jazz is live and improvised music, every concert, every performance is a unique event .. Keith Jarrett is a skillfull, experienced and gifted piano player. Improvised music played by one of the best living piano player. No wonder you want to record every performance of a living miracle and also publish them. "Whisper not" has the usual simple cover, the list of the 14 tracks, the more or less usual bunch of standards. Yet another must-have CD from Keith Jarrett. Enjoy..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a magnificent comeback after Keith's illness. The trio work is superb by turns swinging and lyrical. The quiet tracks such as When I fall in love are a joy. A must have record.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2015
One of his better trio albums, which is quite a feat since most of those albums are 5 star productions. They sound looser on this album which gives the music more air, drive and urgency.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2016
one of the best jarrett trio records
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2000
There are very few words I can say.. because words can't really describe music. One could wonder: why has Keith Jarrett so many CD out? Jazz is live and improvised music, every concert, every performance is a unique event .. Keith Jarrett is a skillfull, experienced and gifted piano player. Improvised music played by one of the best living piano player. No wonder you want to record every performance of a living miracle and also publish them. "Whisper not" has the usual simple cover, the list of the 14 tracks, the more or less usual bunch of standards. Yet another must-have CD from Keith Jarrett. Enjoy..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£14.57

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)