Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly musical
Obviously, some people have been "misled" by the mentions of Paul McCartney and the Beatles in connection with this album, and may have a feeling that they didn't get at all what they expected. However, the title of the album should have been a clue...
I've enjoyed most of what Paul McCartney has put out, in any musical format, and I was prepared for an...
Published on 15 Sep 2000 by Ole-Magnus Olsen

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For completists only
This is nowhere near a Beatles album its just one of McCartney's extra curricular activities never intended for release as it was simply recordings put together for an exhibition
If the results had never been issued commercially there would have been people demanding that a CD should be issued and offering daft money.Which some still do as this is no longer...
Published 19 months ago by Richard


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly musical, 15 Sep 2000
By 
Ole-Magnus Olsen (Halden, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Liverpool Sound Collage (Audio CD)
Obviously, some people have been "misled" by the mentions of Paul McCartney and the Beatles in connection with this album, and may have a feeling that they didn't get at all what they expected. However, the title of the album should have been a clue...
I've enjoyed most of what Paul McCartney has put out, in any musical format, and I was prepared for an interesting experience. But I was surprised myself - the album was in fact more musical and "listenable" than I expected. It is indeed a sound collage, but not, in fact, to the degree that "Revolution 9" was.
I think "Liverpool Sound Collage" is a very well put together album. The similarities to the Fireman albums are perhaps not surprising, considering the fact that both McCartney and Youth have been involved in the collage. I don't think it's quite as good as the Fireman's "Rushes," but on the other hand, "Rushes" doesn't have the Beatles on it.
And whether you want to consider "Liverpool Sound Collage" as part of the Beatles legend or not, it's definitely the Beatles as you've never heard them before.
High points: "Plastic Beetle," "Made Up" and "Free Now".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Macca Magic, 3 May 2001
This review is from: Liverpool Sound Collage (Audio CD)
I cannot begin to express how much I love this album. If John Lennon were alive today he'd have to be on top form to come even close to Paul's 90's output.
'Livepool Sound Collage' is as innovative as anything I've ever heard.
I work from home so I have music playing most of my waking hours and 'LSC' has been a twice a day play for months now. It just gets better with every listen. Spin a few times before judging or if you already have it and have only given it a couple of listens and discarded it, get it on again, set your player on repeat and get lost in it's sheer magic.
Paul seems to perform better when he's commisioned to do work, 'Liverpool Oratorio' being another classic example. If you're reading this Paul can I commision you on behalf of Beatles fans all over the planet to do an album with George and Ringo, preferably produced by George Martin, under the name 'The Beatles' and merge your avant garde and classical experience with your trademark melodies.
THE WORLD IS WAITING.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If Apple Records division - ZAPPLE was still around, this wo, 27 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Liverpool Sound Collage (Audio CD)
In the late 60's and early 70's The Beatles record company - Apple Records had a division called Zapple Records. On this label, there were odd releases by the solo Beatles. One was entitled "Electronic Sound" by george Harrison, and the other entitled "Unfinished Musis:Life With The Lions" by John & Yoko. Both these titles were considered Avant Garde type of Art/Music. It was simply samples and sounds. Very much like Liverpool Sound Collage, except for the fact that LSC has a beat.I consider this CD a piece of art the same way Peter Blakes paintings should be viewed. This project would've fit perfect on ZAPPLE. If you listen to "Free Now" a few times, you find yourself singing it out loud with no music on - very infectious. It would be a great remixed single from this CD.LSC is definately worth purchasing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Beatles are back!, 31 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Liverpool Sound Collage (Audio CD)
Thanks to Paul we have some new Beatles music to listen to. This album is great! The new Beatles' track,"Free Now",is a wonderful surprise. Just when we thought there wasn't going to be any more Beatles music, Paul cooks up this little gem. A must for any Beatles or Macca fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This answers the question, what if Paul had written Number 9, 30 Aug 2000
By 
James M. Ayers "Timekeeper" (Pascagoula, Mississippi United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Liverpool Sound Collage (Audio CD)
Very, very different. Listening to uncover the Beatles samples in the mix may require several hours or days of listening. Who would have expected this from Paul, is there any musical style he cannot master ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshingly funky., 5 Sep 2000
By 
Adam Powell "Adam from Oz" (Canberra, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Liverpool Sound Collage (Audio CD)
An excellent CD, well worth the purchase. If only for you to play to unsuspecting youths and explain the producer and engineer- listed as Lord Doufus, is a nearly 60-year-old grandfather. It really is a "guess who" CD, but it is great,
Better than the Fireman releases in that this is repetition with a focus lacking from the Fireman. My closest comparison is to Revolution #9 actually- music with cut-up dialogue, but don't let that turn you off.
Get the CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For completists only, 22 Dec 2012
This review is from: Liverpool Sound Collage (Audio CD)
This is nowhere near a Beatles album its just one of McCartney's extra curricular activities never intended for release as it was simply recordings put together for an exhibition
If the results had never been issued commercially there would have been people demanding that a CD should be issued and offering daft money.Which some still do as this is no longer available
Such is the way of the completists
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Should never have been let out of the exhibition., 9 Oct 2000
By 
This review is from: Liverpool Sound Collage (Audio CD)
Apparantly released because of popular demand, the Liverpool Sound Collage sounds like one big mistake, that should never have been let out of the Liverpool collage it had been written for. Although the dictophone extracts do create some kind of atmosphere, guest remixers Super Furry Animals and Youth sound as if they were heavil restricted, you won't recognise them at all, which is a real shame, the Furries couls have breathed some psychadelic life into this over-arty and bland noise. Even if you are a massive Furries fan (such as myself), spend the 12 or whatever on the new Grandaddy album. It's arty, yes, it's wierd, yes, but it differs greatly from this noise by being exceptional music with great depth. Hang on a minute, if differs by simply being music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fab's work continues to be Fabulous!, 3 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Liverpool Sound Collage (Audio CD)
To my surprise, Liverpool Sound Collage is incredibly listenable and enjoyable despite Macca's comment about it being "more underground" than what one usually hears from him. The work certainly reminds me of Revolution 9 by the Beatles from 1968, and proves that Lennon (and Harrison, too) was not the only Beatle who interested in musique concrete or tape loops! Some tracks may lack conherence even though the thematic element can be heard throughout the album. Hightlights are 'Plastic Beetle', 'Peter Blake 2000', and 'Free Now', which is a potential single for this CD. Super Furry Animals and Youth also deserve a great deal of credits to the work. All in all, it is nice to hear the Beatles again despite the genre by which they were presented. One certainly hopes there will be more of these to come in the future. A fabulous alternative album from the Fab (plus the Lads!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What's your favorite band?, 12 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Liverpool Sound Collage (Audio CD)
Firstly I'd like to make it clear iv'e only put three stars because there is no option to leave a blank. That is not to say I don't like this album. On the contrary. What I mean is that if you were looking to buy an album to put on with a group of friends, this is not the one. This is an album that needs to be listened to, if you are to pick-up on the little gems hidden beneath the obvious loops. Obviously a fondness for Mr McCartney and the Beatles can add to the enjoyment, but this album is definately not just for the beatle fans out there. Infact I predict there will be people out there who can't stand the beatles, and who think they're not the best band in the world ever, who will like, mabe even love this album. Anyway enough of the what, if and mabe's. I am a beatle fan, they are the best band in the world ever, so go and buy this record. I'm out.
P.s (((not to appear on review))) presumptuous I know. You might not even show it. But anyway please do not add my star rating to the average stars already stated. Thank you. I hope you understand its just star ratings encourage people to buy or not buy a record and yet it should not be done by stars but on how listenable an album is. Thanks again sorry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Liverpool Sound Collage
Liverpool Sound Collage by Paul McCartney (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews