Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic
Craig David's first and by far best album combines all types of genres and gives you a buzz as you listen to it over and over again
Published on 17 Aug. 2006 by Jacob Maudsley

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'Born to Do it' could form a little growth
Craig David's voice smoothly delivers a simple line which comes across buttery with his British accent. Craig David's debut album is a good showcase. To me not all the tracks are solid but nevertheless Craig David shows he has talent in abundance.

The singles `Fill Me In,' `Seven Days,' `Walking Away,' and the Artful Dodger collaboration `Rewind' are definitely...
Published on 5 July 2007 by Jenny J.J.I.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 17 Aug. 2006
Craig David's first and by far best album combines all types of genres and gives you a buzz as you listen to it over and over again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This guy really was 'born to do it', 28 Sept. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Born to Do It (Audio CD)
'Born to do it' is undoubtably my favourite album of all time. Craig's vocals are smoother than smooth, and the chill out, sophisticated, relaxing vibes the music gives are award winning. 'Fill me in' his debut single was a great garage song with great lyrics that really established craig david as a respected RNB artist. '7 days'and 'rendezvous' were fantastic follow-ups, and the stand-out single 'rewind' with artful dodger was legendary. My favourite tracks on the album are 'you know what' for its catchy beat and smooth vocals, and 'time to party' for the ultimate 'going out - getting ready' anthem. 'Booty man' and 'last night' and 'once in a lifetime' are also stand-out tracks.
Craig's smooth voice makes you melt and every song is so well-written, the tracks tell a story of life, love and going out having a good time.
'Born to do it' is spectaclar because there are no cheesy, badly-written songs to spoil it or any badly-sung ballads.
Craig has definately hit RNB perfection with this album, lets hope he keeps up the good work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1 word-AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, 2 Jan. 2010
A Kid's Review
This is one of the few albums where I love all the songs!!
None of them are boring, and each song gives alittle bit more to it!
Craig Davids voice is very unique, and when ever I hear his voice I get goose-bumps!
He is amazing!! Utterly Brilliant! Pure Dead Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Surely one of the best albums of the 90s?, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born to Do It (Audio CD)
Apart from being one of my personal all-time favourite CDs, I really feel that this has to go down as one of the best albums ever made. Every song is a hit (something you really don't find on a normal record), and overall the disc is an absolute must-have. Don't consider your collection complete without a copy of this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Craig David Born to do it, 9 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brought this album again because I lost it moving house. Craig David debut album is timeless! If you want to hear the best of classic UK rnb, buy this!! NOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 'Born to Do it' could form a little growth, 5 July 2007
By 
Craig David's voice smoothly delivers a simple line which comes across buttery with his British accent. Craig David's debut album is a good showcase. To me not all the tracks are solid but nevertheless Craig David shows he has talent in abundance.

The singles `Fill Me In,' `Seven Days,' `Walking Away,' and the Artful Dodger collaboration `Rewind' are definitely the strongest songs on this album. This album doesn't contain all that many garage tracks, instead possessing more of a light R&B feel to it.

Some tracks like `Once In A Lifetime' and `You Know What' can get a tad bit boring for my liking, but the brilliant `Walking Away' and the Latin-tinged `Seven Days' display David's vocal dexterity at his best. `Fill Me In' is a catchy song with clever wordplay about how Mr. David gets it on with the girl next door. In "Follow Me," the sexy way he pronounces "to my bedroom" is enough to create Goosebumps down one's arm. `Rendezvouz' is a decent song that shows the flexibility in David's voice. `Bootyman,' `Can't Be Messin,' 'Round," are three track where David impresses his vocal speed which I feel he shouldn't do much of because it personally doesn't fit him.

I would actually give it 3.5 stars instead of 3 due to the various styles. This album is definitely a unique, fresh style of R&B, and is worth picking up even though it's a LITTLE-BIT incomplete ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Started well but didn't right through, 7 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The CD started started well but I didn't listen right through as I got bored with the singer andf the style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It won't light fireworks, 7 Sept. 2006
By 
Mr. A. Hoang "my REAL wall" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Craig David is an amazing talent and fantastic garage MC. It's a shame that with this, his debut album release that he's opted for an R 'n' B sound, leaving his best single release so far, Rewind, 'til the end. Anyone who's listened to his amazing Capital FM show will know of his unquestionable affinity with the UK Garage scene and amazing ability as an MC, but none of that energy and originality is in evidence on this largely MOR Album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Born to Do It
Born to Do It by Craig David (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews