Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wham Bham BOOM!
Fantastic old style good versus bad with no mucking about and a few grey hats thrown in for good measure.

This in my opinion is the 2nd best Rutger Hauer film after Bladerunner. Rutger plays a very successful bounty hunter after an arab terrorist played brilliantly by Gene Simmons. Story has been told so many times where bounty hunter loses everything after...
Published on 7 Aug 2007 by D. Newstead

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good entertainment value!
OK so you've seen this story a few times before but at least you know that with Rutger Hauer you're going to get value for money and pure entertainment.Nick Randall (Hauer)a seasoned bounty hunter with a home arsenal catches the scum of the earth to build up his bank balance and is doing fine until the CIA use him unknowingly as bait for one of the worlds most notorious...
Published on 24 Jan 2008 by Inmi Opinion


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Classic 80's, 3 May 2013
By 
J. Gerrard "prep4evac" (Switzerland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of Rutgers best, great soundtrack, typical 80's. This, The Hitcher and Bladerunner Rutgers movies are his best I think
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Standard action film .Dissapointed, 25 April 2013
WANTED DEAD OR ALIVE 1986 ,rutger haur stars in this action film about terroists in america , once again a stupid story ,the terrorism is there personal needs although rutger is on the kill so the action is decent , but the lack of dialouge is a fault and the film has no throughout action , but ok so if you want a escapism film just for a day then its ok , but it is a dissapointing film , the actor is not that kick ass .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars gotta love rutger hauer, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great no brainer. Yoy know your about to start with an 80s classic when the opening song is a beefed up blues number that most films of the time had. Road house anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oh yeah!, 6 April 2013
By 
H. M. Hobbs (Derby, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
They quite simply don't make films like this anymore. An evil international terrorist, an ex CIA agent turned bounty hunter, CIA moles, love, loss, etc oooh and death! I love Rutger and his character is typical of his normal roles. Bad boy, doing the right thing, but still bad. It's action packed, edge of the seat stuff with a fabulous ending and one of my favourite last lines delivered by Rutger.

Directed by Gary Sherman, who's not someone I know, but he does capture the required dark edge needed for a Rutger film.

If you like Rutger, you'll love this. I guarantee it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Absolutely brilliant! I didn't know about this film until it popped up while I was looking for Split Second. If you like Split Second then you'll like this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars The Dvd comes up as no Disc, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hi. I went to watch this classic Rutger Hauer Dvd last night only to find myself frustrated after at least ten attemps to play it on my Toshiba Dvd player ( which plays all other Dvd's .) All I kept getting was " NO DISC!" once it had loaded. I don't know what to do. It's not the end of the world but if possible i would like to watch this Dvd one day. Andy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Old Classic, 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good old action film, Gene Simmons is evil. Watch it just for that look alone - it's hard to think of him a the bass player in Kiss.Rutger is his usual wooden self but plays the part well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Film, 3 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent film especially for lovers of Rutger Hauer He is believable in the story Although its an older film its still worth watching and worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE MAIN MAN, 21 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Cracking adventure movie with the man himself.Full of action and violence and very exciting i would recommend this movie to anyone!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All too predictable thriller, 9 Aug 2000
By 
John Peter O'connor - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wanted Dead Or Alive [DVD] (DVD)
The most interesting thing to do with this film is to watch the first few minutes and then try to predict who will be left alive at the end.
I'm sorry to say that I got this right, it's so easy to predict what will happen.
The plot breaks no new ground. An Arab terrorist, Malik Al Rahim (Gene Simmons) enters the US with the intention of blowing up a Los Angeles chemical plant in revenge for the accident at Bhopal. The authorities persuade Nick Randall (Rutger Hauer) to come out of retirement to help hunt down his old nemesis. It's a kind of reversal of Blade Runner where Harison Ford is the cop dragged out of retirement to hunt down and kill Rutger Hauer.
The film deals up lots of action, it is fast paced and Rutger Hauer's sardonic wit helps to keep things moving along. Sadly, at no point does the film ever really create any sort of tension or suspense. Nor does the film really add any depth to the characters.
It's the sort of film that you will enjoy watching with a small group of friends a takeaway pizza and a six pack but the Lethal Weapon series do this kind of thing much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wanted Dead Or Alive [DVD]
Wanted Dead Or Alive [DVD] by Gary Sherman (DVD - 2001)
9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews