Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well thought out.
The settings were well thought out, taking us from the normal everyday life to the perfect location for a Gothic Horror. The size of the grandparent's house was over the top and detracting from the credibility of the tale. The viewer was alerted early to the grim reality of the family's predicament when the mother was so keen to use poverty as the excuse to return to...
Published on 18 Aug 2011 by Mr. A. P. Platt

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not quite up to the standard of the book
I have had the film for over a year now and have only watched it once, I feel that it is poorly modelled on the book. The horror of what the children went through was much more in depth in the book. If i was to watch the film with never having read the book i would have found it more enjoyable. I would however like to see more of Virginia Andrews books made into films.
Published on 28 Jan 2001


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not quite up to the standard of the book, 28 Jan 2001
By A Customer
I have had the film for over a year now and have only watched it once, I feel that it is poorly modelled on the book. The horror of what the children went through was much more in depth in the book. If i was to watch the film with never having read the book i would have found it more enjoyable. I would however like to see more of Virginia Andrews books made into films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shocking!!, 21 July 2006
By 
I am a huge fan of the book but this film just doesnt follow it at all! Very disappointing. It doesnt include major scenes as said in the other reviews and it makes you shout at the tv screen! You question why certain things were not put in the film?? If your going to make film based on a book then you should do it properly, and it could have been done so easily! Dont even get me started on the ending! This film had so much potential but it failed dismaly! A remake is needed. My advice is read the book and stop there because it spoils your imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Book Better, 16 Jan 2008
By 
Val G "Val G" (Warwickshire, England) - See all my reviews
As is mostly the case, the book is better than the film. The film is fairly honest to the book (but does not go as far or replicate the time span involved in an authentic way). I found the character of Cathy a little irritating with her constant 'do this CHRISTOPHER....don't you think that CHRISTOPHER'. At least you are never in doubt as to her older brother's name throughout the film!!!
The smaller children, especially Cory, are annoying in the extreme. In the book one has great sympathy with them, but their saccharin portrayal in the film left me wanting to poison the cookies myself!
Mum was a little wooden but you were left hating her and her unnutterable selfishness - she was, in fact, more evil than Grandmother. As for Grandmother, a reasonably portrayal by a talented actress - she could have been allowed to develop the character more.

My advice? Read the book first and prepare to be left unsatisfied by the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Flowers in the Attic, 8 Aug 2002
The video does not do the book justice at all. The whole storyline is changed around and vital events are omitted from the storyline.
As a Virgina Andrews fan I have to say I was extremely disappointed with this video. The ending was especially annoying because it would be impossible to make a sequel to match the books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A let down, 19 July 2007
By 
I read Flowers in the Attic and the rest of the Dollanger family saga last year. I thought they were brilliant so decided to get the film.
I was VERY disappointed in the film. For me the characters seemed completely wrong (except for the grandmother who i think was played really well) and i didn't feel moved by the story at all.
I also didn't like how they changed the ending as i thought that the books storyline was better.

I think if you haven't read the book then you might like the film but for those of you who are expecting the film to be like the book then be prepared for a let down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What was the point?, 9 May 2006
I had been really looking forward to seeing the movie version of one of my favourite books. But this really wasn't it. The story was 'sanitised' I suppose, but that completely took the heart out of the entire plot (for fans of the book: no school-room mattress scene, no mirror scene, no tar, no whip) and it was left as a fairly poor, predictable, not-at-all scary B-movie. I can't speak for anyone who hasn't read the book, but for those who have, there really is no point watching it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well thought out., 18 Aug 2011
By 
Mr. A. P. Platt (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flowers in the Attic (DVD)
The settings were well thought out, taking us from the normal everyday life to the perfect location for a Gothic Horror. The size of the grandparent's house was over the top and detracting from the credibility of the tale. The viewer was alerted early to the grim reality of the family's predicament when the mother was so keen to use poverty as the excuse to return to roots (more logical if this had been at the beginning of the 20th century rather than over half way through). The daughter's questioning of why?, after 17 years of no contact was central to the theme. There were many other (seemingly insignificant) words or other interpersonal exchanges which is an education about "What is malignant narcissism, and how this affects and sometimes spreads to others?" Examples of this was the way the mother would go to any extent to gain that lost love. How she became an extension of her own mother's personality and was prepared to kill. I would like to have seen more of the grandfather, I can guess his character but wanted evidence to draw firmer conclusions.

The truth emerged in a well structured way. It came as somewhat a relief at the end when the selective audience which mattered most to the family was presented with all the shameful dirty linen. Such a film can depress, but I had to remind myself that this is only a clever tale which demonstrates the features of lying, deception, control and projection associated with narcissism. Educationally, this film is a must to waken us to the existence of this condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A waste of time, 14 Sep 2003
This video was a complete let-down compared with the novel. Although I expected some scenes to be modified as is standard with dramatisations, I was not prepared for the entire modification of the ending. The producer brushed over some areas such as the scene between Cathy and Chris in the attic, which could have been to make the film available for a younger audience, however I felt that without this key aspect, you are left without an explanation for later events.
The pace in certain areas of the film goes too fast, so there is no build-up of tension as the story progresses. Corrine is also portrayed as semi-evil from the start, which is not in keeping with the text, where she is shown as a loving and much loved mother who only changes later, under the influence of her twisted father and his millions.
However, if you are simply looking for a way to pass a couple of hours, there are worse things to do than watch this, but anyone expecting anything half as riveting as the novel, don't waste your time or money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't expect a faithful interpretation., 23 Jun 2005
There are several rewritten scenes here which fans of VC Andrews won't appreciate.. I won't spoil it suffice to say the incest-laden bit of the plot has been all but forgotten, and the ending is tied up so there are no sequels possible.
A fair film if you haven't read the books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 21 Mar 2005
By A Customer
The film doesn't do the book justice. Out of the 2 film versions this one has better actors in it. The other version has actors that look too old and aren't anything like I imagine. The plot is changed on various occasions and is not as gripping as the book is. I would watch the film first then read the book so you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flowers In The Attic [DVD]
Flowers In The Attic [DVD] by Jeffrey Bloom (DVD - 2004)
19.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews