Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deserves to be more well-known
What a revelation! A well-plotted, intelligently-written tight little thriller with great performances across the board. All the characters manage to avoid cliché and are actually likeable.
Having seen hundreds of horror films, I've become somewhat pessimistic when it comes to plot; they're usually dull and plodding, with the usual annoying teens getting...
Published 23 months ago by Mrs. E. A. Molloy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars o boloks
this one has a distinct euro feel to it. Very argento but somehow sterile and vaccuous.All the cast are american but if i hadnt read the notes on the back id have sworn i was watching an italian Giallo movie....but a really tame one.Yes there are violent deaths but they are shown subliminally and some are shown in a cheated way. The really positive reviews must either be...
Published on 26 Feb 2010 by John Tearney


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deserves to be more well-known, 13 Aug 2012
By 
Mrs. E. A. Molloy (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kolobos [DVD] (DVD)
What a revelation! A well-plotted, intelligently-written tight little thriller with great performances across the board. All the characters manage to avoid cliché and are actually likeable.
Having seen hundreds of horror films, I've become somewhat pessimistic when it comes to plot; they're usually dull and plodding, with the usual annoying teens getting bumped off in gory set-pieces. Not here though. We get to meet each character first, then see how they interact with the others and the surroundings in which they find themselves, and then with the events which befall them.

There are plenty of little nods to other films - most obviously in the opening theme tune, which pays homage to Argento's Suspiria [1976] 2 Disc Special Edition [DVD], which made me smile. Not really a slasher though, it's got plenty of twists and turns to keep you guessing, and an original plot device involving the sketchbook drawings of one character.

Whether you're a jaded oldie like myself, or new to the genre, you'll be drawn in by this story, and will not be able to stop until the revelations at the end. I urge everyone to watch this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars o boloks, 26 Feb 2010
By 
John Tearney "j p tearney" (YORK UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kolobos [DVD] (DVD)
this one has a distinct euro feel to it. Very argento but somehow sterile and vaccuous.All the cast are american but if i hadnt read the notes on the back id have sworn i was watching an italian Giallo movie....but a really tame one.Yes there are violent deaths but they are shown subliminally and some are shown in a cheated way. The really positive reviews must either be by the makers or people who havent seen a lot of this type of movie. The run time is standard 90 mins or so but i felt so uninvolved most of the time that it dragged at times and never really hit any heights of originality or viscera. In all it was a competent effort helped by the feel of an art house slasher but once the flesh was stripped away from it, all that was left was a pale unworthy clone of argento or fulci. Certainly not "The best horror ever made" no way. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth seeing., 25 Feb 2005
By 
Dragon0303 (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Kolobos [DVD] (DVD)
Right from the off you notice the Suspiria rip off theme tune which you hope will set the tone for the movie. But it doesn't take long to realise that Suspiria it definitely isn't.
The dialogue at times is excruciating to listen to, the acting poor & the least said about the plot the better.
But maybe I'm sounding a little harsh because even having said all that it's not the worst film ever by any means & worth a look for horror fans. Just don't expect anything brilliant or groundbreaking like a couple of the other reviews seem to suggest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Argento influenced lowbudget horror film that kicks ass!, 14 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Kolobos [DVD] (DVD)
If you are a fan of Dario Argento then u might notice that the soundtrack borrows heavily from "Profondo Rosso" and "Suspiria". One of the murder scenes is influenced by "Profondo Rosso" a.k.a "Deep Red". Other things remind me of "Suspiria","Jacobs Ladder" and the eye piercing scene from "Zombie". This is not a bad thing, if u got to borrow why don't borrow from some of the creepiest moments from other horror classics. There is some nice gory moments and creepy suspense as well. This film is more interesting than a lot of "big budget" horror films. The ending was hinted at throughout the film and I felt the "revealing" conclusion was a bit long. Hope the filmmakers make more horror films they seem to have a great understanding for what makes a good and interesting horror film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars this is the bestest gore i've seen in a long while, 26 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Kolobos [DVD] (DVD)
sharing my name with a very vital character in the film (you'll find out how important at the end) made the whole video watching experience that much creepier, with all the scary whispering of 'keira'. anyway, unlike many 'scary' films, kolobos goes the whole way, in its own quaint low budget way. the gore is unbelieveable, thoroughly way cool and definately in its own league. they haven't missed anything! if they want to kill off a character, you see the whole death, no turn the camera away and then turn it back to see the character lying in a pool of their own blood. you see it frame by frame. cool. some of the flashforward scenes are just plain amazing in their low budgetness and strangeness!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An okayish slasher film with a differance, 12 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Kolobos [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Every one knows that since 'Scream' has been released, many others have tried to follow in it's footsteps. We have 'I know What You Did last Summer', 'Urban Legend' and sequals, however, Kolobos is not as well known, mainly because of it's straight to video release. This is what I don't understand, as 'Kolobos' is, in some ways, better than the films above. The first few minutes of the film are very confusing, but, get through these and you get the gore that other films aren't brave enough to show. It WILL make you flinch. The story is really a Nightmare version of Big Brother. 5 students go into a house where there are cameras in each room, but then some one or something starts to pick them off in nasty ways. From here on, it's an average slasher flick, with a few nasty surprises along the way, however, the ending turns to the weirdness of the begining again. It is a shame, because the middle of the film is quite good, just the start and finish let it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best horror ever, 8 July 2003
This review is from: Kolobos [DVD] (DVD)
this is the best horror movie i have ever seen, the movie has horrible bits in and the plot is great, i never seen any of the actors ever before which i think makes it better and the acting is very good the ending has a good twist in it and i would recomend people looking for a scary film to buy this now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kolobos [DVD]
Kolobos [DVD] by David Todd Ocvirk (DVD - 2005)
Used & New from: 0.09
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews