Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comedic Thriller.
Pryor and Wilder, together again for the first time in nearly a decade, and once more they form a terrific double act as Wally Carue (Pryor) and Dave Lyons (Wilder) are arrested for a murder they didn't commit, and after a jailbreak, decide to pursue the real killers to clear their names.

Pryor is the catalyst for much of the laughs - and whilst not a million...
Published on 28 Sept. 2010 by Azz McMahon

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The title says it all - beware.
I bought the DVD after a recommendation by a stranger and watched it to the end. It's rubbish from start to finish. What more can I say. Even one star is too much!
Published 1 month ago by Gerry Bell


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comedic Thriller., 28 Sept. 2010
By 
Azz McMahon (NSW, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: See No Evil, Hear No Evil [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Pryor and Wilder, together again for the first time in nearly a decade, and once more they form a terrific double act as Wally Carue (Pryor) and Dave Lyons (Wilder) are arrested for a murder they didn't commit, and after a jailbreak, decide to pursue the real killers to clear their names.

Pryor is the catalyst for much of the laughs - and whilst not a million miles from his stand up work - given that here he is brasher than his characters in Silver Streak or Stir Crazy - he shows his sense of comic timing and physical comedy knows no bounds.

Wilder takes the usual sympathetic lead, with occasional outbursts of mania, again - not too far outside his usual work, but he does it so well, that no one should mind.

The film also stars the absolutely stunning Joan Severance (sadly a key scene between her and Wilder is affected by the widescreen treatment where you lose a lot of the established shot, hence the four stars instead of five) and a relatively unknown Kevin Spacey in a supporting role.

The film is a little crass - but rough diamonds can be as valuable as those which are cut - and this in my opinion, was the best of the four films that Pryor and Wilder did together - though all have something to offer.

Part buddy film, part odd couple, part action/thriller - but definitely hilarious, See No Evil, Hear No Evil is a funny film that will raise a few laughs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 8 Feb. 2006
By 
Jay (England Somerset) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: See No Evil, Hear No Evil [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I remember flicking through the channels to see what was on and my Auntie pointed out this film called See no evil Hear no evil, she said it was so funny that we just had to watch it. I wasnt to sure about it but said ok and from the first 10 minutes of the film I was in stiches I just couldnt stop laughing. The car chase scene with a blind man driving.... well you can imagine.
In three words "buy it now"
But be prepared to have a sore stomach from laughing so hard
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny as hell., 4 Feb. 2011
This review is from: See No Evil, Hear No Evil [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
See No Evil Hear No Evil is a comedy about two disabled men one deaf, one blind, who are framed for murder and decide to solve the crime themselves rather then trust an inept police force.

Gene Wilder and Richard Pryor have collaborated together a few times to make some great comedies, but this is their best work by far. The first time I watched this I laughed so much I had tears streaming down my cheeks, this movie is a timeless classic and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars see a great film, hear the laughter, this is it., 12 Feb. 2004
what a film. gene wilder is deaf, richard pryor is blind. together they witnessed a murder but gene didnt hear it but saw somone, richard didnt see it but heard it.
this is the funniest film i have seen in ages, and it always cheers me up.
its a superb film that you will watch again and again. a true classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff, 4 Sept. 2007
This review is from: See No Evil, Hear No Evil [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
A funny film, staring two film greats Richard Pryor (RIP) and Gene Wilder. Wally and Dave are complete opposites, Wally is loud, brash and blind while Dave is quiet, polite and deaf. When a murder is committed at Wallys shop these two are the only witnesses, but Wally didn't see it and Dave didn't hear it! After being arrested the pair go on the run, with with cool killer Eve right on there heels.With helarious results. Well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic, 14 July 2006
By 
This review is from: See No Evil, Hear No Evil [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I wish Pryor and Wilder would make more movies togther in the 90's! they were such a pair! ashame Pryor got ill and sadly died last year :(

If you like this, you must get Stir Crazy :) theres also Silver Streak which should have had pryor in it more and another you which is ok

anyway, you won't be disappointed, comics that know how it is done right! forget those silly teen films like american pie!! this is the real deal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty funny film!, 4 Oct. 2003
By A Customer
Despite this film being 14 years old it is still funny. The odd pairing up of Gene Wilder and Richard Pryer always seems to work as it does in their other films! (Silverstreak - hilarious!). The film focuses on the misunderstandings and mishaps they get themselves into after they unknowingly become witness to a murder.

Although Wilder is deaf and Pryor is blind, they use ingenious and resourceful ways of solving the crime together! They are funny because of the situations they get themselves into, not their disabilities. At one point, they end up stuck on a refuse carrier boat crossing the river because Pryor was trying to escape by driving a car which ended up on the boat even though he's blind!
At some points in the film, you realise how intolerant and harsh the world is toward anyone with frailties, which brings you back down to earth with a bump. How the world just goes speeding by regardless....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars More than entertaining!, 23 May 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: See No Evil, Hear No Evil [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this movie, perhaps more than I would have if I knew anything about it before buying.
The main plot is based around two characters, who both have disabilites. The one character is blind, the other deaf. In turn, this sets up for some hilarious events to unfold.
As I said, this film is based purely around these two. The story kicks off with a murder in a shop of which the two main characters work in. A woman shoots a man. The two of them seemingly from a company of organised crime. You would think that the woman wouldn't get away with it seeing as how it happened in front of two people... There is just one problem... The deaf man didn't hear it and the blind man didn't see it. This means that the two are suspects.
The two end up going to prison (the scenes here are laugh-out-loud funny) and then them trying to escape.

I urge you to give this movie a try, I'm sure you'll very much enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One Of Richard's Best Moments, 2 Jan. 2010
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: See No Evil, Hear No Evil [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Hear No Evil, See No Evil is about two guys, one is deaf (Gene Wilder) and the other is blind (Richard Prior). They make an acquaintance when Wallace needs a job, but Dave isn't sure about it. They both become friends when they realise they are tied into a murder, and have to find a way out.

This film is great fun and is good value for money. The only reason it didn't get 5 stars from me is due to the low bitrate, if this had been a DVD9 then it would have got the full 5 stars. Richard and Gene are just brilliant together, and already have worked together on Stir Crazy [DVD] [1980] - so their rapport is great, and they really make the best comedy duo. I like the way it tries to be a buddy cop movie with a twist, and the laughs keep on coming.

This is worth having in the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ARE YOU BLIND, CAN'T YOU SEE I'M TALKING TO YOU?, 24 Sept. 2007
By 
L. Wilson (Natal South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: See No Evil, Hear No Evil [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
If you have a vivid imagination and an incredible sense of humour, then you are halfway to understanding how funny this film is. Made in the heyday of the late Richard Priors' career it is an almost satirical look at the afflictions of the blind and deaf. Fortunately it does not cross the line(I know because I am 75% deaf) and therefore is very funny.
Wally (Richard Prior) and Dave (Gene Wilder) are witness ????? to a murder, Wally didn't see it and Dave didn't hear it but they are both wanted for it. The real killers (no spoilers) and the police are after them so they take the law into their own incapable hands and the results are incredibly funny. Only the team of Prior and Wilder could have made this film as hilarious as it is because they have that special rappor that works beautifully.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

See No Evil, Hear No Evil [DVD] [2000]
See No Evil, Hear No Evil [DVD] [2000] by Arthur Hiller (DVD - 2000)
£6.17
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews