Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent RPG
Quite simply, the best RPG I've played for a long time. It improves over the original immensely: they have taken the first game and made everything slicker, quicker, and generally nicer, while retaining the excellent story and attention to detail. You could whizz through this in about 25 hours, but there's plenty to do to prolong this- like finding all 108 "Stars...
Published on 20 Aug 2000 by d.r.evans@durham.ac.uk

versus
2 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars a long long game on an old old ps1
to be honest this sequel is not as bad as the one on ps2 but still it s a old boring rpg with plenty of caracters so if you don t get lost on the map you get lost with the caracter and no storyline other than training and training some more ...
Published on 16 Oct 2008 by marc twain


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent RPG, 20 Aug 2000
This review is from: Suikoden 2 (Video Game)
Quite simply, the best RPG I've played for a long time. It improves over the original immensely: they have taken the first game and made everything slicker, quicker, and generally nicer, while retaining the excellent story and attention to detail. You could whizz through this in about 25 hours, but there's plenty to do to prolong this- like finding all 108 "Stars of Destiny," the key characters in the game. The game is done in 2D, and is beautifully animated throughout; the soundtrack is generally good with a few stand-out tracks. And the story...well, let me just say, it's very touching....you WILL care about what happens to the hero. It also brings back many characters from the first game- it's a direct sequel, unlike most RPG's. To sum up- beautifully done, with many nice touches, and no bad points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suikoden 2, The finest RPG ever produced, 10 May 2002
This review is from: Suikoden 2 (Video Game)
This game is set three years after the original version (if anyone played that) and it still holds onto the same values of its younger brother- gameplay and an interesting arry of characters (108 playable characters quite enough?)over flashy graphics and long-labourious FMV's and cut-scenes. Not to say the graphics are bad (they are colourful and 'cute') but its no Final Fantasy. The graphics will appeal mainly to fans of the 'old school' Japanese RPG's such as Jade Cacoon. The thing that really grabbed me about this game was the AMAZING musicall soundtrack, you actually feel like you're there in the same world as the hero (who you have to name-surname Genkakku). This is probably the Best RPG I've ever played... Until Final Fantasy X is out at least. Thanx !!!! ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Of All Time, 1 Oct 2007
By 
Mr. M. Johnstone "Slarth" (Yorks, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Suikoden 2 (Video Game)
To put it simply this is the best rpg of all time. I'm an avid rpg fan and can only find fault ith this and that's the graphics aren't the best, however, when in an rpg does graphics matter. The answer, it doesn't at all. Worth every penny, if you do get hold of this, DO NOT EVER let it go as this game is priceless!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most original game ever, 6 Sep 2007
By 
I. Hall "H Hall" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Suikoden 2 (Video Game)
I actually played this game before the first one and was very surprised by the whole story telling. You play a boy whose own best friend betrays you and you have to stop the war with the rune that the hero is wearing. I was very fortunate by getting the first game, as with that,you can use your memory card from Suikoden 1 and use it for Suikoden 2. This game is one of the best games (other then Final Fantasy 7) in the series. The music is outstanding too. You do feel for all these people you meet up with in the game. Victor and Flik plus many other's come back in this game. So what are you waiting for, get your copy today. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suikoden 2, 15 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Suikoden 2 (Video Game)
The story of a young man guided by destiny to become a leader of many. You play as a member of the highland army who are opposed to the city state army. One night your camp is attacked by surprise and you and your long-time friend Jowy escape, but not before seeing your commander conspiring with the enemy.
This is a truly epic story of valour, friendship, loyalty and war and what it lacks in graphics it makes up for in plot and addictiveness. Definately one to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wish I could find it!, 9 Feb 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Suikoden 2 (Video Game)
I have played both this and the original when they were released, as my uncle had both (I must have been about 13-14 at the time) I loved every second of them being an avid FF7 and RPG fan.

I think his copies broke or he gave them away, I'll have to ask him soon.
Either way, well worth buying if you can a/afford it or b/ find the damn game in a local shop!

I will be searching high and low for an affordable copy of this in the very near future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suikoden II, 4 May 2010
By 
Mr. A. Wilmshurst (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Suikoden 2 (Video Game)
If you enjoyed the first of these games, you'll love this one too. You can carry over your saved game file (from Suikoden I) into this game so that some of the characters that appear again will already be kitted out with whatever they had (equipment, runes, items, etc) in the first game. There are also some new elements to the game. To find out what, do an online search or buy the game as I don't want to type them all out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suikoden 2, 3 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Suikoden 2 (Video Game)
This,in my opinion, is the greatest RPG series ever created. So far the story has spanned over four brillant games, each with an interesting and detailed storyline. Even though there are already four games in the series many of the storylines are not yet completed, this makes you want to continue on with the games.

Suikoden 2 is easily the best of the series. The graphics are in 2D, this is not however a bad point of the game. The graphics are beautiful and rich and detail. There are 108 recruitable characters: each with their own interesting history and storylines.

The battle system allows you to fight with a party of 6 characters; each with their own abilities and weapons. Your characters advance in levels in true RPG style; by getting experience points from destroying monsters.

If you have played any of the other games in the series (or if your new to the series) I highy reccomend this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To play or not to play., 24 May 2004
This review is from: Suikoden 2 (Video Game)
Damn it, PLAY THIS GAME! Trust me. I love RPGs and this ranks joint first for me along with Suikoden 1n FFVII and Zelda: Link To The Past. It's massive. It took me 50 hourse of solid gameplaying to finish it, though that did involve trying to get all 108 people. I only got 106. Time to try again. The game is ace on it's own but gets even better when you have played Suikoden 1. Finding out what happened to everyone from the first game and being able to get the main character from the first game to fight with you is fantastic. It also manages to avoid the common trend in RPGs to get soppy. Suikoden 2 is pretty adult. From seeing people being cut down while begging for mercy to characters cutting their arms and bleeding on the floor, it's quite adult. And there's no annoying romantic entanglement involved. It's all politics and life. If you are a true RPG fan, you have to play this game and it's prequel. If anyone has Suikoden 3, let me know. I notice the series is going steadily northward on the continent it's based on. Laterz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's great! but..., 28 Sep 2000
This review is from: Suikoden 2 (Video Game)
I like this game alot, it's got a really involving plot line and a battle system that works well, taking tried and tested formulas from games such as FF7 and Breath of Fire to create an interface easily picked up. Upgrading your weapons is easier too with blacksmiths merely enhancing them, rather than buyin new weapons altogether that can be quite confusing for some people. The only drawback that I found was in the graphics. These, unfortunately, look extremely dated. Possibly just over 16-bit level. The main problem with it is the overworld map section where travelling from one town to the next can take ages. Other than that, it's an extremely involving game full of war, death and treachery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Suikoden 2
Suikoden 2 by Konami (PlayStation)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews