Customer Reviews


277 Reviews
5 star:
 (149)
4 star:
 (57)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (28)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly Surprised!
Well, well, well.....Having been determined to hold off buying one until the hype and the price had dropped to a sensible level, I finally bit the bullet last week (oh the joys of store credit!) and bought my PS2. Having been a Dreamcast owner for the last year (and very happy with it too) I was saddened by the decision to stop making them and even more irked by the...
Published on 16 Mar 2001 by guttermonkey1977

versus
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great console with a few negative points.
The playstation 2 is without a doubt a fantastic piece of hardware, The ability to play PS1, PS2, DVD's and audio cd's is invaluable. However there area few points in which you must consider before perchasing one.
The catalogue of games available is amazing. With over 1000 games available for the system. However, don't be fooled into thinking each one is a...
Published on 26 July 2004 by D. Marsh


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly Surprised!, 16 Mar 2001
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 2 Console (Video Game)
Well, well, well.....Having been determined to hold off buying one until the hype and the price had dropped to a sensible level, I finally bit the bullet last week (oh the joys of store credit!) and bought my PS2. Having been a Dreamcast owner for the last year (and very happy with it too) I was saddened by the decision to stop making them and even more irked by the amount of games by 3rd party publishers that are now being dropped and so it is nice to have a system with some real backing again. The fist generation PS2 games, on the whole are very impressive (on par if not better technically than the 1st generation dreamcast games) though perhaps not the most original titles in the world. I own Timesplitters, Fifa and Tekken and have enjoyed all of them. As far as I can see, the console can only go from strength to strength over the next few years and I am looking forward to all the upcoming 2nd gen titles. I have been fortunate to have so far had no technical problems with my box (waiting 4 months after launch to buy one obviously did the trick) though I know others were not so fortunate. Still, most new systems have some teething problems (anyone remember the problem plagued PS 1 when it was released 6 or so years ago!?) As for the DVD....well I know it is not as good as my mates 250 dedicated player but, considering it is a secondary function of the console, I am very pleased - it is considerably better than my.. video recorder and that is enough for me. So, should you buy one?.....To be quite honest I would recommend to most that it may be worth waiting a few months - a price drop and a few more top quality games would improve the packages appeal no end, but on the whole I am very pleased with my new system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Bjork said..., 20 Feb 2004
By A Customer
"It's oh, so quiet ... shhh, shhh"
First and foremost, the most startling thing about this new silver version (like, what's wrong with black??) is that it runs almost silently.
And when I say silent, I mean, if you change channel or turn off your tv and don't notice that the lights on the front of the console are still on, it's easy to go to bed and leave the PS2 switched on.
The original black boxed PS2 was notoriously noisy, howling like a banshee, especially when compared to the Xbox and even the Dreamcast (R.I.P.).
Apparently the DVD drive - and a few other things, all of which are imperceptable to me - have been improved (see below).
Personally, I hate the colour but love the improved cooling mechanism.
Speaking as a seriously disgruntled owner of an original black PS2 which went beserk, wouldn't always boot up and chewed up game discs* I have to admit, albeit begrudgingly, that the newer silver model is bringing back memories of why I bought the damned thing in the first place.
Although the Xbox has stolen some of the market and is winning over a lot of the hearts and minds of people who wouldn't have bothered with the PS2's back catalogue previosly, the Sony console is still an awesome bit of kit, or, should I say, it's still the best supported console on the market.
The box is only as good as the game you put in it and the PS2, whatever the colour (Japan has red, yellow, blue...) is still the best supported platform on the market.
On the downside is the fact that you still have to fork out an extra 20 for a memory card before you can even start using the thing.
It would surely make life easier for gamers if Sony were to bundle the consle with one memory card and raise the price by, say, 10-15? Oh well...
Oh, and another thing: everyone I know who has their PS2 stood vertically has problems with it. So, if space allows, lay it horizontally and save yourself a lot of hassle with skipping discs etc.
(*In the end I took a hammer to the black PS2 - literally - and just bought a new console. Of course Sony would not accept that the problems were endemic to the early build of the console even though hundreds of gamers suffered the same problems. Must do better, Sony.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PlayStation2 - Worth the Wait, 3 April 2001
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 2 Console (Video Game)
It's worth the money. It's worth the wait. It deserves the hype (for once) PS2 is without doubt the best home console ever. The number of games available at launch was admittedly limited, but now developers are getting to grips with PS2's hardware in the same way that they did in '95 with PS1.
The minute you press the power button (PS2 has a power switch at the back and a standby button on the front) and those green and ice blue lights flicker on, you know you are on to something special. Gone is the diamond and BBC Sports tune and instead is a deep space graphic and single chord. The main screen is a series of revolving spheres, set to the sound of waves and wind and navigation is simple with easy to follow menus. If you want to play a disc (be it CD, DVD, PS1 or PS2) select Browser and pop your disc in the drive. Want to set the time? Click System Configuration. Spookily, my PS2 was already set at the correct date and time when I first switched it on. 24/11/00, 7:30am if you're interested(you're probably not!). The much heralded backwards compatability works well, although the texture smoothing option and faster disc speed is not as noticeable as I thought it would be. I played Tomb Raider: Chronicles with the texture smoothing option on and it looked slightly smoother, but there wasn't really much difference. I bought Tekken Tag, Ridge Racer V and FIFA and while these games are excellent in both graphics and playability, they are not as good as games like SSX(a must buy) and the recently released Zone of the Enders (Z.O.E). The latter title is especially good as it includes a playable demo of Metal Gear Solid 2. If there was any doubt that PS2 isn't the future, it is blown away by MGS2.
DVD playback is good and clear, with the control pad mechanism working better than expected. CD playback is also excellent.
Overall then, PS2 is the future of gaming and deservedly hyped to hilt. One of the reviewers called it 'all hype and no trousers'. I can see PS2 wearing the trousers in the console mark for a long time to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great console with a few negative points., 26 July 2004
By 
D. Marsh "Rainy Mondays" (South London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 2 Console (Video Game)
The playstation 2 is without a doubt a fantastic piece of hardware, The ability to play PS1, PS2, DVD's and audio cd's is invaluable. However there area few points in which you must consider before perchasing one.
The catalogue of games available is amazing. With over 1000 games available for the system. However, don't be fooled into thinking each one is a masterpiece. Most of the games available are at best average. However I can guarrantee that there are hundreds of games which are worth splashing your hard earned cash on. I reccomend reading in depth, preofessional reviews on internet sites or magazines.
Playstations are not the most advanced hardware int he world. if you're looking for near-perfect graphics I reccomend an XBOX however PS2 games are occasionally of such high quality that they can easily compete with Xbox. A good example of this would be Grand Turismo 3, a racing game with photo realistic graphics.
If you do decide to purchase this great console, be warned, PS2's have a notorious reputation for not having a great life span. You're brand new PS2 will work perfectly from anywhere between 3 months and 4 years. After that it will start to have trouble reading games and Dvd's. You can get sony to repair it but it's proabably worth buying a whole new console.
Generally Playstion 2 is a fantastic perchase but not without it's flaws.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


159 of 183 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but with mounting costs..., 28 Dec 2001
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 2 Console (Video Game)
First of all, let me make clear that the PS2 is a great console. It is the best you can get in the UK at the moment, and I am not disputing that. However, even though Sony have reduced the price..., you should be aware that ... is not all you'll have to pay. In order to get it to 'playable level', you will need some accessories, and Sony make sure you pay over the top for them. Eg, if you want to save games, you'll need a memory card, if you have a older TV you'll need an PS2 RF Unit just to get going, if you want to play 2-player, you'll need another controler, and to watch DVD's you'll need a DVD remote. Add to that that fact you'll need at least one game, and you're talking about ... more on top of the console price. Whilst it is a great console, be aware of these extra costs before you buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A decade later & still loving it as if I bought it yesterday., 13 July 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 2 Console (Video Game)
It seems like it's all about the X-Box 360 with Kinect, PS3 move & the Nintendo Wii but I'm begging you don't sleep on the PS2. A veteran of the Super NES vs Sega Mega drive era and remembering the Grandstand & Atari 2600 of the 70's & 80's I've appreciated just how advanced the PS2 is to those systems. My PS2 is set up in the same corner of my front room as it was 10-years ago. TVs have come & gone, computers have come & gone, Cars have come & gone but like a true solider my Play station 2 is fighting on & hasn't lost a step. Connect it up to a HD TV, with a digital 5.1 surround sound system & an eye toy to boot then all you need is snacks, drinks & friends and you are away you can pick them up these days for nearly ten-times less than I paid for mine but do I regret paying that dough for it? Hell to the no in fact for the decade of service it's given me up till now & continues to deliver I'd say it was worth every penny I spent on it & then some.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Console Available, 11 May 2002
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 2 Console (Video Game)
When comparing the PS2 with the X-Box one cannot deny that on paper the X-Box far outshines its rival. Yet that alone still shouldn't pull you away from the PS2. The gaming capabilities and anticipation for the X-Box have so far not delivered, and this is why the PS2 should convince you to place your money this way.
When comparing the graphics between this and that of the Game Cube and X-Box there isn't much of a noticable difference.
Yet when comparing the variety of games available between the three this is where the PS2 excels itself. Sony Playstation is the leader in the gaming market, and it is a safe assumption to say that the majority of game developers are going to invest there efforts in this direction.
This is the main reason why PS2 for me was the right console to buy.
Alongside this PS2 supports DVD playback and Dolby Digital surround (via Digital Optical Out). Yes, the X-Box also supports this, but the Game Cube can only manage Dolby Pro Logic II; not almost on the same level.
Alongside this PS2 offers a whole range of upgrading capabilities and expansion packs, aswell as supporting all the PSOne software - and improving the graphics in some cases.
By far my favourite console on the market, definitely worth its money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ps2 is a dream, 24 Nov 2001
By 
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 2 Console (Video Game)
Ok i have had my ps2 for a couple of months now and its been the best buy I think I have ever had. With games such as SSX and GT3 it just shows the amazingly smooth cutting edge graphics. And with a built in DVD player what more could you ask for? The ps2 is going to be far better than the X-box and Gamecube by a long way. Quality games such as Tony Hawk 3 and grand theft auto 3 on the way this is the best console of all time. You must own one!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Playstation 2 with the free Eyetoy (SPECIAL OFFER), 2 Aug 2003
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 2 Console (Video Game)
I have never before put pen to paper as it were to recommend anything to anyone I didn't know... BUT this offer is just too good to miss, not only have they cut the price of the console to the lowest I have seen but included the Eyetoy for free! I think the PS1 is a super games machine for younger children and the scope of games is incredible so the PS2 couldn't really fail could it? NO... in my opinion it is the best out there, its not huge, you don't have to have games at full volume to drown out the sound of the machine and the graphics and gameplay are excellent even on old PS1 games but the made for it PS2 games are just thrilling... My daughter is now 11 and this is her move up in the games consoles and the plus side is she can play dvd's in her room without having yet another accessory cluttering up the place... The Eyetoy - well forget the kids, shove them out the way and get into it, great exercise and a great laugh, just make sure you can't be seen from outside or they will think you have gone bonkers... You appear on the screen in games and control them by moving - okay, so they aren't state of the art games but are good solid entertaining fun and with many weeks of the school hols left INVEST IN THIS! and sit back and relax ... For the kid in you, or the kid with you - its superb!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PS2, 1 Sep 2009
By 
Mr. J. R. Shepherd (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sony PlayStation 2 Console (Video Game)
Needed a PS2 for use at a holiday home. Didn't see the point in buying new as it would only be used a few weeks of the year. Used Amazon for the first time and not only was it delivered in no time at all but everything describing the PS2 purchased was spot on. It was in good condition, in original box and functions perfectly. I would rate this product very highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sony PlayStation 2 Console
Sony PlayStation 2 Console by Sony Computer Entertainment (PlayStation2)
Used & New from: 31.50
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews