Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars76
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£1.41+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 September 2000
"Sing When You're Winning" is a valiant effort at a follow up album to the brilliant, and probably faultless, "I've Been Expecting You". Along with Guy Chambers, Robbie Williams has provided us with an album filled with catchy songs; Rock DJ, Supreme(I Will Survive), Betterman, Let Love Be Your Energy, If It's Hurting You, Kids, and The Road To Mandalay are the strongest tracks and you can easily hum along on first listening. The other tracks take longer to grow on you, although none are weak 'fillers'. Robbie has chosen to play havoc with anyone using a multi-disc CD player in shuffle mode by repeating the inclusion of a surprise secret track after the last published track (The Road To Mandalay). On the previous album, those who waited were treated to a couple of hidden tracks after long periods of silence. This time around after 25 minutes of silence Robbie chirps up that "I'm not doing one on this album". If you want to make a comparison with Oasis, Robbie's "I've been expecting you" album is his "(What's The Story) Morning Glory?". However, unlike Oasis, he has not followed up with a disappointing over hyped collection of fillers on a droning album based around one good song. Here in "Sing While You're Winning" there is plenty of variety and it will no doubt produce several chart toppers. Good value and worth getting
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2000
No matter who the artist is, whenever you buy an album, the first couple of times you listen to it, there is one song which sticks in your mind, and becomes one of your preferred songs on the album. In the case of 'Sing When You're Winning', this song would have to be 'Supreme'. Whether its the use of Gloria Gaynors' 'I Will Survive', or just the true brilliance of the song I aren't sure, but either way, this song will make brilliant single material.
The album on the whole is very good, and definitely shows a more mature Robbie. This album is an improvement on the last, just as 'I've been expecting you' was an improvement on 'Life thru a lens' (all have been very good albums though!) The duet with Kylie is unexpected, but great.
The one downside to this otherwise brilliant album is its lack of tracklistings on the rear of the CD case, but with a bit of a creative mind, there are ways around this.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2001
When I first heard the album I thought Robbie had had his day. The attitude of Life Thru' A Lens and the lyrical excellence of I've Been Expecting You seemed to be lacking, making this release less engaging, less sing-alongable, and shocker of shcockers a tiny bit dull.
However, once you're past the initial sense of disapointment more subtle gems begin to appear. Supreme has just the right mix of sarcasm and hope to touch a nerve. Rock DJ and Kids stick in your mind more resolutely than the first listening might suggest, and the album as a whole improves with repeat play.
Lacks the WOW factor of previous releases, but still delivers the goods.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2000
So third time round and the ego has arrived again. This time round we have about 4 of the sentimental ballads with the rest of the album being the more up tempo and the funked up songs, plus the duet with Kylie. Lyrically speaking a lot of the songs seem to focus on love & relationships and specifically Robbie's failing in the love department, not great but not dismal either. As you'd come to expect some of the lyrics are also fairly self congratulatory, but hey who can blame him. The highlight of the ballads appears to be Better Man, his attempt to create another Angels. The album really shines when the ballads are laid to rest, tracks like Texas Forever, Let Love be Your Energy and Knutsford City Limits are Robbie at his best, the first single Rock DJ shines and Supreme with the blatant overtones of Gloria Gaynor's I Will Survive is a definite highlight. In short whilst maybe lacking somewhat in the lyric department from time to time musically another gem. Oh yeah and those looking for the hidden track this time round may not quite find what they were expecting.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2001
What can I say? Quite a lot actually. One reason Robbie has always been a success is that he's such a versatile artiste. He does some loud and rocking songs (Rock Dj, Kids), some quiet and mellow (Singing for the Lonely, Love calling Earth). Cheeky, thoughtful, moving, fun... you name it, it's on the album, which means that there's something to please everyone on this album. If you remotely liked his last two albums, you'll love this. Robbie shows no sign of fading with a classic third album, and at any price, it's a bargain. One word of warning. If you own his last album ('I've Been Expecting You'), you will have noticed that there were two secret songs hidden in track 12 if you left it running. Well, there is something hidden 30 min after the end of track 12 on this album too. It's not what I expected though. Buy the Album and find out!!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2000
Clearly I was expecting quality and variety from Mr Williams, and I was not dissapointed. The album is superb, especially the rivetting'Kids' duet with Kylie Minogue. The songs are ones that you listen to before leaving the house and carry on humming throughout the day. Before the albums' release I listened to samples on Robbies web site, and I did not think there could possibly be a song musically and lyrically equal to 'Singing for the lonely', how WRONG I was.The album shows what a talented and accomplished performer Robbie is. The album is an absolute pleasure to listen to, and I have played it non stop. If you only buy one CD this year, it HAS to be this one!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2001
A rather average offering from Robbie, especially if you compare it to his first album. I think Rock DJ and Kids are the best tracks, and the rest feel like fillers. Too many ballads for my liking. It seems as if this album was made just for the sake of it. No doubt it will be huge. It's lacking both lyrically and melodically and sounds like he is bored with the whole project. It can't even compare to the likes of Millennium and Jesus In A Camper Van from the last album, and Let Me Entertain You and Karma Killer from the first. Don't get me wrong, I love Robbie Williams, but I am deeply dissapointed with this offering.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2001
'Life Thru A Lens' and 'I've Been Expecting You' were brilliant, showing that Robbie has elements of an undiscovered genius about him - showmanship, songwriting ability, etc. and so does this - if for slightly different reasons.
The first album (LTAL) was his first stab at a solo career, branching out from the shackles and restrainsts of being a 'pop' star in Take That. It contained brilliant Oasis/Bon Jovi/Beatles/Kiss style songs and generated five hit singles. Robbie was here to stay!
The second album (IBEY) was more of the same, although Robbie had established himself as a 'rock' star and was already gaining 'rock star' fees for everything. That contained even better songs and, again, generated five hit singles.
This third album (SWYW) is, again, more of the same, but I got the impression that, although a slight change of direction is apparent, he now believes that because he is so huge and loved by most of the country, he can now palm us off with anything he likes.
"Rock DJ", although humourous, and achieving the No. 1 status in the British 'music' charts, is, well, come on - a bit rubbish!
"Kids" was hardly spectacular, despite the fact that pop princess Kylie M featured on it.
But that said, and aside from throwaways such as "Knutsford City Limits" (which does contain an outstanding Williams vocal) and the rock-and-roll, Rolling Stones-flavoured "Forever Texas", this is a very, very good album. It's the kind of album that you put on and sing-along to, whatever your mood. There are happy songs, sad songs, cheeky songs and depressed songs - in other words, (and I say this very loosely), something for everyone!
"Let Love Be Your Energy", (one of, wait for it, FIVE hit singles) is a brilliant rock opener, with an infectious chorus and pounding drums that make you just wanna jump up and down. "Better Man" is a beautiful, meaningful ballad, which, I think, almost surpasses "Angels" in classic-ness. They are the standout tracks. The rest is just pure Robbie - with the help of Guy Chambers, he darts from genre to genre ("The Road To Mandalay" is very French in style), and sings his heart out to the best of his extremely able ability!
Long may Robbie reign.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2010
Some artists only seem to strike gold occasionally in their careers. This seems to be true of Robbie Williams. This, the follow-up to the fabulous I've Been Expecting You, hasn't even half the strength of said album. True, Sing When You're Winning has some memorable numbers, a slice of British pop-rock around the turn of the millennium. The most famous tracks are "Kids", "Rock DJ" and "Supreme". Only the last of these does the album proud in my ever so honest opinion.

The catchy and energetic "Let Love Be Your Energy" is a decent appetiser to an album that ultimately doesn't amount to much. "Rock DJ" is a song that Robbie himself admits has no substance whatsoever. "Kids" is fun but ultimately not much more gripping. "Supreme"... now we're talking. An interestingly dark and simultaneously catchy track (with a bridge heavily borrowed from "I Will Survive"), it's quite on the compelling side. "By All Means Necessary" is even darker, and was apparently a song that was forgotten as a demo before being digged up by Robbie and co for this album. It deserved its light of day, a touching and restless number.

The serious problem with Sing When You're Winning is that it, ironically, has no winner. It has no instantly-recognisable songs like "Angels" (even if I never was a fan of that one) or "No Regrets". All tracks just lack the spunk of Robbie's previous two efforts, especially I've Been Expecting You. True, there are good songs, the problem is that they don't speak of the strong material that Williams and Chambers are capable of making. "Forever Texas" is as hollow as "Rock DJ". The only real stand-out is "Singing for the Lonely", a hopeful and inspiring song. And even that is no truly dynamite track.

It didn't have to be this way. I am puzzled to this day how the exquisite "Eternity", to be released as a double single with "The Road to Mandalay" (the two were even released as videos with a shared story), could be left off Sing When You're Winning. That would easily have been the album's winner track. Alas, it was not to be. (And while we're at it, the supposed "hidden surprise" does nothing but increase my ill-will toward the album).

After Robbie went through his swing phase following this album, he showed us that he still has it, so good news there. I would have to wait until Intensive Care to get my hope back in Robbie's music, though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2000
Despite Gary Barlow's claims that the album title is a dig at him, this album is dedicated by title to the way the country felt in 1966, when England won the World Cup. This is also shown in the photos inside and out the album, with Robbie being everyone in the picture. It wouldn't surprise me to find that the entire crowd in the football stadium where all little robbies! Having none of his previous albums, I have nothing to compare ths, Robbie's third album too. But it is one of the best albums I have heard in a long time. There are many good tunes on here, 'Better Man' being my favorite. Robbie himself said that this track will be the new 'Angels' because only that hit and 'Better Man' have been tracks of his own that he has cried to. I have to agree. Though 'Angels' was a huge hit for Williams, he needs a new mega hit. 'Better Man' could will be it. With Robbie's voice and the smooth melody, this track is perfect for the end of a disco and Xmas parties. The other tracks which stand out in this album are, of course the already released single, 'Rock Dj' and thr robster's duet with the aussie babe, Kylie, called 'Kids'. This is more rocky than the rest of the album and is a good spirit lifter, halfway through the album. Other all this album is great to sing along loundly and tunelessly to, just like you would in the terraces. A must for all Robbie fans!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)