Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good follow up to the brilliant "I've been expecting you"
"Sing When You're Winning" is a valiant effort at a follow up album to the brilliant, and probably faultless, "I've Been Expecting You". Along with Guy Chambers, Robbie Williams has provided us with an album filled with catchy songs; Rock DJ, Supreme(I Will Survive), Betterman, Let Love Be Your Energy, If It's Hurting You, Kids, and The Road To...
Published on 13 Sep 2000

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DISMAL ATTEMPT TO GAIN YOUNGER SUPPORT
ROBBIE'S THIRD ALBUM HAS CONTINUED IN MUCH THE SAME WAY AS HIS EARLIER RELEEASES STARTING BADLY AND SLOWLY GETTING WORSE DEPITE A FEW HIGHLIGHTS. THE ALBUM HAS LITTLE TO OFFER IN THE WAY OF INTERESTING LYRICS, INDEED THE RELEASED SINGLE MAY WELL BE THE BEST THING ON THE ALBUM. ROBBIE FANS WILL LOVE IT, MUSIC FANS WILL NOT.
Published on 25 Aug 2000


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good follow up to the brilliant "I've been expecting you", 13 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Sing When You're Winning (Audio CD)
"Sing When You're Winning" is a valiant effort at a follow up album to the brilliant, and probably faultless, "I've Been Expecting You". Along with Guy Chambers, Robbie Williams has provided us with an album filled with catchy songs; Rock DJ, Supreme(I Will Survive), Betterman, Let Love Be Your Energy, If It's Hurting You, Kids, and The Road To Mandalay are the strongest tracks and you can easily hum along on first listening. The other tracks take longer to grow on you, although none are weak 'fillers'. Robbie has chosen to play havoc with anyone using a multi-disc CD player in shuffle mode by repeating the inclusion of a surprise secret track after the last published track (The Road To Mandalay). On the previous album, those who waited were treated to a couple of hidden tracks after long periods of silence. This time around after 25 minutes of silence Robbie chirps up that "I'm not doing one on this album". If you want to make a comparison with Oasis, Robbie's "I've been expecting you" album is his "(What's The Story) Morning Glory?". However, unlike Oasis, he has not followed up with a disappointing over hyped collection of fillers on a droning album based around one good song. Here in "Sing While You're Winning" there is plenty of variety and it will no doubt produce several chart toppers. Good value and worth getting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slow burning 3rd album, 9 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Sing When You're Winning (Audio CD)
When I first heard the album I thought Robbie had had his day. The attitude of Life Thru' A Lens and the lyrical excellence of I've Been Expecting You seemed to be lacking, making this release less engaging, less sing-alongable, and shocker of shcockers a tiny bit dull.
However, once you're past the initial sense of disapointment more subtle gems begin to appear. Supreme has just the right mix of sarcasm and hope to touch a nerve. Rock DJ and Kids stick in your mind more resolutely than the first listening might suggest, and the album as a whole improves with repeat play.
Lacks the WOW factor of previous releases, but still delivers the goods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best yet - Robbie is maturing!, 1 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Sing When You're Winning (Audio CD)
No matter who the artist is, whenever you buy an album, the first couple of times you listen to it, there is one song which sticks in your mind, and becomes one of your preferred songs on the album. In the case of 'Sing When You're Winning', this song would have to be 'Supreme'. Whether its the use of Gloria Gaynors' 'I Will Survive', or just the true brilliance of the song I aren't sure, but either way, this song will make brilliant single material.
The album on the whole is very good, and definitely shows a more mature Robbie. This album is an improvement on the last, just as 'I've been expecting you' was an improvement on 'Life thru a lens' (all have been very good albums though!) The duet with Kylie is unexpected, but great.
The one downside to this otherwise brilliant album is its lack of tracklistings on the rear of the CD case, but with a bit of a creative mind, there are ways around this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DISMAL ATTEMPT TO GAIN YOUNGER SUPPORT, 25 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Sing When You're Winning (Audio CD)
ROBBIE'S THIRD ALBUM HAS CONTINUED IN MUCH THE SAME WAY AS HIS EARLIER RELEEASES STARTING BADLY AND SLOWLY GETTING WORSE DEPITE A FEW HIGHLIGHTS. THE ALBUM HAS LITTLE TO OFFER IN THE WAY OF INTERESTING LYRICS, INDEED THE RELEASED SINGLE MAY WELL BE THE BEST THING ON THE ALBUM. ROBBIE FANS WILL LOVE IT, MUSIC FANS WILL NOT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre, 10 Mar 2001
By 
J. Grant (Newcastle upon Tyne) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sing When You're Winning (Audio CD)
A rather average offering from Robbie, especially if you compare it to his first album. I think Rock DJ and Kids are the best tracks, and the rest feel like fillers. Too many ballads for my liking. It seems as if this album was made just for the sake of it. No doubt it will be huge. It's lacking both lyrically and melodically and sounds like he is bored with the whole project. It can't even compare to the likes of Millennium and Jesus In A Camper Van from the last album, and Let Me Entertain You and Karma Killer from the first. Don't get me wrong, I love Robbie Williams, but I am deeply dissapointed with this offering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, Fantastic ,Supreme, 20 Feb 2001
By 
This review is from: Sing When You're Winning (Audio CD)
What can be said about this great Mr Williams. Once again he has produced a fantastic album with both up tempo and smoochy numbers. This album does not seem to be as commercialised as the previous two, but on this album his true ability, both singing and writing seems to be reaching its full potential.
I would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robbie sings and wins, 1 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Sing When You're Winning (Audio CD)
What can I say? Quite a lot actually. One reason Robbie has always been a success is that he's such a versatile artiste. He does some loud and rocking songs (Rock Dj, Kids), some quiet and mellow (Singing for the Lonely, Love calling Earth). Cheeky, thoughtful, moving, fun... you name it, it's on the album, which means that there's something to please everyone on this album. If you remotely liked his last two albums, you'll love this. Robbie shows no sign of fading with a classic third album, and at any price, it's a bargain. One word of warning. If you own his last album ('I've Been Expecting You'), you will have noticed that there were two secret songs hidden in track 12 if you left it running. Well, there is something hidden 30 min after the end of track 12 on this album too. It's not what I expected though. Buy the Album and find out!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "the boy done good", 2 Dec 2000
This review is from: Sing When You're Winning (Audio CD)
If you thought his first 2 albums were good, then this album is a must have album. Whether robbie is being cheeky (rock dj, kids) or melancholy (If it's hurting you, better man) he is absolutely fantastic. An absolutely great album and i would reccomend it to anyone who likes decent, adult pop music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing in comparison, 1 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Sing When You're Winning (Audio CD)
As a big and unashamed fan of RW, I rushed to buy this in my country. Sadly, it is NOT as good as the previous 2 albums - too many winding, meandering slow numbers that never get close to touching 'Angels', and not enough if what he does best - the fun and fast stuff.
It's not a bad album, but I was looking forward to something better than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clearly the best album of this next millenium!, 20 Sep 2000
This review is from: Sing When You're Winning (Audio CD)
Clearly I was expecting quality and variety from Mr Williams, and I was not dissapointed. The album is superb, especially the rivetting'Kids' duet with Kylie Minogue. The songs are ones that you listen to before leaving the house and carry on humming throughout the day. Before the albums' release I listened to samples on Robbies web site, and I did not think there could possibly be a song musically and lyrically equal to 'Singing for the lonely', how WRONG I was.The album shows what a talented and accomplished performer Robbie is. The album is an absolute pleasure to listen to, and I have played it non stop. If you only buy one CD this year, it HAS to be this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sing When You're Winning
Sing When You're Winning by Robbie Williams (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews