Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Xen Years of Independent Excellence.
How time flies when you're having fun! 10 years have passed in the presence of the Ninja Tunes ever-expanding label and it just keeps on getting better. This compilation is a killer.
CD1 is full of all your favourite groups; The Herbaliser, Roots Manuva, Mr Scruff, Cinematic Orchestra, Kid Koala, Coldcut and Fink. It's THE résumé of the Ninja Tunes...
Published on 11 Sep 2000

versus
11 of 34 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Xen Cuts,if your into that music,try herbaliser, its better!
Xen Cuts, for me can only manage to pull out a couple of good tracks, out of THREE CD'S!!. most of the tracks try to mix hip hop and funk with boring back-ground music, which mellow out the intense beat and makes the over-all perfomance boring. The end result is a delirious concuction of strange music which does not go. but there is still some great tracks. if your...
Published on 31 Aug 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Xen Years of Independent Excellence., 11 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Xen Cuts (Audio CD)
How time flies when you're having fun! 10 years have passed in the presence of the Ninja Tunes ever-expanding label and it just keeps on getting better. This compilation is a killer.
CD1 is full of all your favourite groups; The Herbaliser, Roots Manuva, Mr Scruff, Cinematic Orchestra, Kid Koala, Coldcut and Fink. It's THE résumé of the Ninja Tunes cast-list and tracks like "8 Point Agenda" by the Herbaliser and Latryx just blow any competition away. The cut-up intro almost teases you to try and name as many of the great Ninja Tune hits as you can in 3 minutes.
CD2 is more chilled. A kind of Jazz Café del Mar with more imaginative rhythms and far less soporific.You end up asking yourself why you haven't heard of half of these artists before. Break out the Ninja Skins and enjoy!
CD3 is the unreleased, unheard of and the unusual side of Ninja Tunes. Again the question is posed: Who ARE these brilliant people and where do they all come from? Of course there are a few of your 'big names' thrown into the mix but that just makes for juicy reading on the back cover before you listen to it.
The other facter that got me hooked was the design. Ninja Tunes are kind of known for their unique design style and the kind of logo I wish I could have created of myself. The booklet gives a humourous run-down of the past 10 years, complete with chronological listing of all Ninja Tunes or N-Tone records ever released. Perfect for filling in the gaps of your collection, and believe me, when you get to the end of the third CD and put CD1 back on again without thinking, you'll want to know every Ninja Tune disc ever released and where you can get your hands on one, fast! Hats off to Coldcut, Ninja Tunes goes from strength to strength and this proves it. Damn it's good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quantyquality, 17 Dec 2003
By 
Simon J. Whight "fourfourfun" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: xen cuts / various (Audio CD)
This is a three disc effort showing the talent hidden within the Ninja Tune stable ... the blurb above says this is a 3 CD set, we get given 2 CDs worth of tracklisting here, handy. Look at the other Xen Cuts on offer here on Amazon though to see the FULL tracklising. This looks like the option to go for though since its about £6 cheaper! And what quality you get with the quantity too! The sheer volume of fantastic tracks on this collection makes it a must buy for fans of downtempo and hip hop. Its by far the best Ninja Tune compilation to date.
Far too many tracks to go into in detail in a review here but those who know their Ninja Tune will be right at home with offerings from Funki Porchini, Kid Koala, Coldcut (label bosses of Ninja Tune), DJ Food (who's Ageing Young Rebel appears on this CD in a version thats completely different ... and better to their album version), Roots Manuva, Luke Vibert ... the list just goes on. Each Ninja artist seems to have reached their peak with every track thats been selected from them, as if they have pulled out all the stops for this 10 year celebration of Ninja.
Each CD has a theme, disc 1 tends to take hip hop and rough gritty instrumental breaks, shining examples are from The Herbaliser, The Big Dada Soundsystem, Neotropic, DJ Vadim and Cabbageboy. Disc 2 heads for the more experimental and jazzy side of Ninja Tune, funk comes to the fore with cinematic soundscapes being the order of the day, DJ Food, Animals On Wheels, Funki Porchini and Amon Tobin all have quality offerings here. The final disc is a summary of older Ninja Tune, rare Ninja Tune, Chris Morris and Amon Tobin pop up with a track from his Jam series, Roots Manuva does Movements live, Squarepusher rips up in mad machine funk and once again Coldcut and Funki Porchini get a look in with slices of quality.
Inside the CD you get a booklet detailing the entire 10 years of Ninja Tune and its a thoroughly entertaining read. This is an essential purchase for Ninja heads who don't have this already. Those who like hip hop and chill should also take a look in. For the Ninja person who has it all, check out the Coldcut/DJ Krush mix Cold Krush Cuts/Back In The Base for the finest Ninja Tune back catalogue mixed up by the masters. And DEFINATELY check Coldcut's 70 Minutes Of Madness Journeys by DJs mix, the best DJ mix ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Xen Years of Independent Excellence., 11 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Xen Cuts (Audio CD)
How time flies when you're having fun! 10 years have passed in the presence of the Ninja Tunes ever-expanding label and it just keeps on getting better. This compilation is a killer.
CD1 is full of all your favourite groups; The Herbaliser, Roots Manuva, Mr Scruff, Cinematic Orchestra, Kid Koala, Coldcut, Fink and others. It's THE résumé of the Ninja Tunes cast-list and tracks like "8 Point Agenda" by the Herbaliser and Latryx just blow any competition away. The cut-up intro almost teases you to try and name as many of the great Ninja Tune hits as you can in 3 minutes.
CD2 is more chilled. A kind of Jazz Café del Mar with more imaginative rhythms and far less soporific.You end up asking yourself why you haven't heard of half of these artists before. Break out the Ninja Skins and enjoy!
CD3 is the unreleased, unheard of and the unusual side of Ninja Tunes. Again the question is posed: Who ARE these brilliant people and where do they all come from? Of course there are a few of your 'big names' thrown into the mix but that just makes for juicy reading on the back cover before you listen to it.
The other facter that got me hooked was the design. Ninja Tunes are kind of known for their unique design style and the kind of logo I wish I could have created of myself. The booklet gives a humourous run-down of the past 10 years, complete with chronological listing of all Ninja Tunes or N-Tone records ever released. Perfect for filling in the gaps of your collection, and believe me, when you get to the end of the third CD and put CD1 back on again without thinking, you'll want to know every Ninja Tune disc ever released and where you can get your hands on one, fast! Hats off to Coldcut, Ninja Tunes goes from strength to strength and this proves it. Damn it's good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasticalchillinhiphopybeats, 14 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Xen Cuts (Audio CD)
Great, super, I love Coldcut and was upset when my Journey By DJs was nicked! However, sad stories aside this album more than makes up for it! I just like the melting pot sound, everything semms to go in and naturally just blend together. I would really reccomend this to any body who likes to think in future years they were listening to a sublime revolution in music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Xery, xery good, 15 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Xen Cuts (Audio CD)
Top selection of top tunes from a top label with top bands & djs. If you're a ninja tune afficionado then you'll love it and if you've never heard of ninja tune you'll love it as well. Undeniably good and a consistent level of high quality. Even the ones I don't like as much are still pretty good, but the best ones! Oh my god! Kid Koala, The Herbaliser with Latryx, DJ Vadim. Absolute class. This is the best label compilation you could ask for because ninja tune are the best label in the world, probably.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars class, 5 Feb 2008
By 
K. Ali "beat junky" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Xen Cuts (Audio CD)
I own the vinyl(s) version of this, after buying it off my mate for a complete bargain (somehow). I got it home straight away and slammed it on the turntable and man it blew my head off. it has some really really awsome hip hop tracks and psycodelic breaks and beats. If you like your hiphop/beats you'll love this. i would defo recommend it to the hip hop heads out there, its a great compilation which consists of hours and hours of good quality music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Compilation, 15 Oct 2002
This review is from: Xen Cuts (Audio CD)
This was my first Ninja Tunes album, and initially i bought it partly of good s things i'd heard about the label, and partly because of the cool cover!
Each Cd has it's highlights in a musical journey of various styles. Cd1 is my favourite, with great tracks by Mr Scruff, Kid Koala and Coldcut. Cd2 is more elctronic with personal faves being DJ Food and Arc.
the bonus Cd also deserves a mention with the Saul Williams track at the start.
A perfect introduction to the many Ninja Tune artists and easeily worth 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars innovative hip hop and funk, 1 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Xen Cuts (Audio CD)
At first I was amazed at the sheer number of tracks, but after listening to the album in full, I realised it wasn't a few good tracks bulked out with a bag of shite. The favourite tune has got to be track 6 on the 3rd CD which is a bloke scratching a trumpet sample to an old jazz joint.... in one word, the bomb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars slinky smooth funky shizzle!, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Xen Cuts (Audio CD)
not enough words to describe the wonders of this furiously funky n layed back absolute GEM of an album! BLISS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Varied and chilled album, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Xen Cuts (Audio CD)
This albumn is pretty good, certain tracks appeal to me more than others but that's due to how varied the albumn is.
Great for chilling out to when you're with mates/family and also when driving.
Nice albumn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Xen Cuts
Xen Cuts by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews