Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'd give it another 20 stars if i could!
I think with the exception of metal gear solid this was my most favourite playstation game, even more than big title such as tomb raider and the mioghty gran turismo. OK i have heard from many people saying that it was too short and too easy, but this is the only game i have that i have played more than twice after completion. When ever i need a quick cheer up i'll just...
Published on 4 Mar 2002

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars spiderman the great
The first thing that really appealed to me in this game, was how much space I had. I could swing and jump from one building to the next quite freely, unlike older platform games where you could go one way and one way only. It's great slinging webs and all that, then you come to some henchman bad guy. I hit him off the building we were on, and he went straight out into...
Published on 1 Oct 2000 by eddie harding


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'd give it another 20 stars if i could!, 4 Mar 2002
By A Customer
I think with the exception of metal gear solid this was my most favourite playstation game, even more than big title such as tomb raider and the mioghty gran turismo. OK i have heard from many people saying that it was too short and too easy, but this is the only game i have that i have played more than twice after completion. When ever i need a quick cheer up i'll just put this game on because i think it is absolutely brilliant. The replayability of this game is the best, if you play it on the easiest kid more first then play it on the hardest mode you will find out that it is virtually a different game. The short video's they have are very entertaining and adds an edge to this game which is unrivalled. It has many special appearences and is very true to the comic boo hero proving how much effort went into it's production as the makers must have done their home work. Even the original creator of the comic book hero stan lee makes a special narrative guest appearence. This game is well worth it's money. Buy it and enjoy! I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Super Hero Game yet, 4 Oct 2000
By 
J. A. Mamtora "Jay Mamtora" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spider-Man (Video Game)
Believe me when I say I am a big fan of comic books and super heros. I have practically all the games from X-Men to the awful Avengers on the Megadrive. So when I heard that Spider Man was out I was actually thinking about NOT getting it - I thought it would probably be another dull and mundane 2D platformer trying to cash in on the name.
But I was wrong. I played a bit of it last night and was very impressed with it - the 3D graphics and decent game play make this a must buy for all Spidey and non-Spidey fans alike. I mean if you've played Fantastic 4 or all those street fighting games like X-Men vs Street Fighter and were really disappointed this one is really worth it.
For once they've really thought about it and added most of the dimensions to Spidey. Agreed the graphics get a bit jerky at times but that's a small price to pay for a really decent game - probably the only Comic book conversion worth buying, and believe me I've played most of them...
A thumbs up and worth the fuss...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome, True Believers, 9 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Spider-Man (Video Game)
I had originally played this game with one of my friends and we both helped each other complete it. Ever since then I have been trying to buy. And when I found it on Amazon, I bought it straight away and ever since then I've played on it non-stop after I come home from school! It's a brilliant game of stealth, action and full Spidey style, with loads of full action packed levels and a whole range of Spidey villians such as:

Venom
Lizard
Dr. Octopus
and certainly meets my excpectations.
If your a Spider Man fan or just someone who's lookin' for a good game, this is definately the game for you!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spiderman game, 26 Oct 2001
If you like spiderman then you will love the game.cool graphics,wicked sound,ultimate battels.
The bad guys you can fight are carnage,venom,doc oc,scorpion,rhino and mysterio.The henchmen are bank thug,ordinary henchmen,lizardmen and the horrible,powerful simbiots.There are about 8 levls which have areas in.so there are about 30 areas.There are 32 comics and 12 costumes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spidey comes home - The Marvel game you have been waiting fo, 20 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Spider-Man (Video Game)
One of the last "must have" games for the playstation before all the rules change with the release of Playstation 2.
The graphics on this game is the first thing that strikes you - the characters actually look like the ones in the comic, the levels can create a large sense of scale, different costumes, the webs, the action....it is all top notch for the playstation - and all adds to the sheer enjoyment of this game.
And this is pure arcade - it brings back memories of playing early nineties aracde games such as Ninja Turtles, et al. when you just keep plugging away, as you just want to see..one..more..level! Wave after wave of baddies come in some levels, and as you swing from pipe to pipe, you can see elements of Activision`s Apocalypse game (the one with Bruce Willis) which is no bad thing. And after each level you get to fight a number of big-baddies - all of which are highly recognisable super-villains from Spidey`s past. And each is a joy to fight....just like to comics.
I find the game is best when you a using your stealth to move around levels, and take thungs by surprise. Whether attaching from the celing, or swinging in on top of them - all is possible due to the immense amount of freedom given to you via the main character....
...it appears the developers have really THOUGHT about what Spidey can do - and they have delivered an amazing central character, that pretty much does what a spider can - try this game once, and after half an hour you will be hooked - believe me.....
In all, this game IS a bit short, but due to the extra characters, extra costumes, baddies, levels, comic books, etc - there is plenty of replay value.
If you have ANY interest, or liking of Spiderman, or Arcade games...BUY THIS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars #Spider-Pig. Spider-Pig.#...What Do You Mean He's Not A Pig?, 21 May 2012
By 
Matthew Stoneman "90's Guy" (North Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Spider-Man (Video Game)
Charity Shops. They're not the most glamorous of places to visit, especially when you consider that a majority of its customers are OAPs looking for an extra sweater to keep them warm during the winter months. But if you give them a chance and visit the places once in a while, you might just find something good. I know I did. I started to check out the places a couple of weeks ago and I ended up finding a copy of Spider-Man for the PSone.

OK, here's the plot. A guy dressed up as our friendly neighbourhood neighbour turns up at a Science Expo and steals some sort of large machine belonging to Otto Octavius. Peter Parker -the real Spiderman- witnesses the incident, and now knowing his superhero persona is wanted by the police he sets out to find who the real machine thief was and why they stole it in the first place.

For all you acne-riddled, glasses-wearing, buck-toothed nerds who love reading comic books, there's plenty here to satisfy your super hero needs. Graphically Spider-Man is outdated, but they're still bright, colourful and well suited to the superhero theme that this game has. Also there's a big supply of supervillains for Spidey to shake a web at and take down a peg, including Scorpion, Rhino and Venom. And if that's not enough, Spider-Man co-creator Stan Lee provides a narrating voice at the beginning of certain chapters. I bet you're all soiling your pants in delight at the thought of all of those positives, aren't you?!

But seriously I had a blast playing Spider-Man, particularly when using the numerous in-game controls. You can swing between buildings by using the R2 button; you can crawl along walls and ceilings which is pretty cool; and you can attack your foes with several web-shooter attacks which can be used by pressing the triangle button and a direction on the D-pad. Or if you want you can just do some old fashioned punching and kicking with the square and circle buttons respectively. The best thing about these moves is that although there are a fair number of them to take on board you'll get to grips with these moves very quickly, therefore making enemy and boss fights more fun to play.

There are several bright and colourful levels to play through, including the dizzy heights of tall city buildings, a bank, and down in the sewers. Although some of the levels seem overly big and intimidating there's usually hints as to which direction to go in so that you don't get lost. There's enemy activity at the top of some buildings, and of course a very handy spider compass to point you in the right direction. The levels don't just involve web-swinging and fights either. There's also a bit of a puzzle element to them as well. One level early on sees you having to figure out a way to prevent a bomb from blowing up a city bank. It shouldn't take you too long to figure out what to do, but the puzzles do make the gameplay more varied and interesting.

There's also some extracurricular activity to add more excitement to this comic book adventure. There are comic books hidden all over the place. Find them and then you can check them out in the gallery on the main menu. You can also unlock different costumes to use for web-head by completing the game under certain circumstances, with some costumes even offering special abilities. These two things combined with the game's four difficulty levels (including a Kid mode for the...uh, I've forgotten what those little things are called now!) mean you'll be kept occupied with the web-slinger for some time. There's certainly no danger of completing everything in five minutes.

Spider-Man does have some flaws that prevent it from scoring higher marks. The voice acting is pretty rubbish for the most part. Peter Parker/Spiderman comes across as being arrogant and cocky, but from my understanding he was supposed to be somewhat mature but confused in the comics and cartoon shows. Also the cutscenes (from a PSone POV) are nowhere near as good as those seen in the likes of Tomb Raider Chronicles and Driver 2.

But the biggest flaw is with the game's camera. It usually sits behind our wall-crawler and usually swivels around as you make left and right turns. However it doesn't always do this and there will be times where you'll find your view of the direction you want to go in heavily restricted, making jumps and fights more difficult than they should be. Worse still there's no option to control the camera yourself, which is rather bizarre. Neversoft (the developers) could've allowed you to control it with the D-pad whilst holding down the L2 button, or they could've assigned it to the right analogue stick. It's not rocket science, Neversoft.

But overall Spider-Man is a very good game. Although it received positive reviews from video games magazines back when it was first released in 2000, for some reason it just didn't seem that appealing to me at the time. But having played it now I'm pretty much wondering why I didn't buy a copy all those years ago. The acne-riddled, glasses-wearing, buck-toothed nerds who love reading comic books will certainly enjoy playing this, and so will normal players just looking for a good retro game to play.

Uh oh, my newly found spider-sense is tingling! There's a Spider-Man 2 on the PSone as well. I should probably check it out some time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's the man, He's the man, He's the Spiderman., 9 July 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This is still the greatest spidey game ever created, even with the free-roaming graphically better games based on the three movies. This game is more closely based on the comics than the movies than any other adaptation and makes the perfect game for any fan of the comics.
The controls are really easy to get to grips with, you'll be swinging from roof-toop to roof-top, beating up bad guys and doing some of that good'ol trademark wallcrawling you hear so much about in no time at all. The storyline is a real mystery/thriller involving spidey being framed, some of his worst enemies teaming up in a vast conspiracy, venom kidnapping mary-jane and a symbiote invasion of new york. If that wasn't good enough you've also got some fantastic level design varying from dizzying roof-tops, a creepy network of sewers infested with lizardmen, a tense search of the daily bugle building while it is swarming with symbiotes and a huge underwater complex. Each level is packed with puzzles, bad guys and secret areas that are fun to find, my particular favourite is stumbling across the green goblin's secret hideout in a crane while being chased by a police helicopter, thankfully he's not in. Finally, there is also a massive amount of humour in this game, something that has been missing from most spiderman adaptations, spidey is always ready with a funny quip or snappy comeback, there is a lot of self referential humour and in jokes and the cutscenes with venom verge on hilarity.
Spiderman: The Game has yet to be beaten on terms of closeness to the source material and pleasing the fans of the comics. So much fun you'll play it over and over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars spiderman the great, 1 Oct 2000
By 
eddie harding (Stirling, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Spider-Man (Video Game)
The first thing that really appealed to me in this game, was how much space I had. I could swing and jump from one building to the next quite freely, unlike older platform games where you could go one way and one way only. It's great slinging webs and all that, then you come to some henchman bad guy. I hit him off the building we were on, and he went straight out into thin air, then fell straight down, crying 'I'll get you! ', my first real sense of disappointment in the game. I thought to myself, 'oh well, the slick animation on spiderman really makes up for it.' however, reaching further stages in the game you start to think that maybe it doesn't. The thought of having the city to yourself really wares off. Those levels start to force you to go that same old one way, and one way only. After playing the game, and just really getting into it, the title screen is coming up. 'Is that it!' I wonder, but no, I get to complete the game with a different costume! No thanks, I,d rather wait and get Tony Hawks' 2. The game really shines for the first few stages of owning it, and there's lots of stuff to go back and get, but can you really be bothered listening to Carnage's voice moaning all over again? You can't help but think the makers could have put a bit more into the game to make it appeal to game players for a longer period of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT GAME BUT....., 22 Dec 2001
By A Customer
first of all i would like to say this game really kicks ass and i enjoyed every minute of play...but i found it very short i finished it in the night i got it..without much effort which was also a down....as a game progreses you expec it to become harder and harder but this seemed to stay on the same level was this for the kids??? maybe im not sure.
pluses
+ great graphics and engine
+ fun to play for all ages
+ great add ons characters
+ you face all the enemies youve seen before
cons
- short game
- too easy
i still reccomend any1 to buy this
it is still a great game and the added characters is a sweet touch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST HAVE!!!, 12 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Spider-Man (Video Game)
When i first heard about spiderman on the playstation i knew that it would be a good game, as i have the old mega-drive version of spiderman and although out dated, was a good game. This time around its even better! The graphics are good, the gameplay it good, although easy to finish, and if you have a rumble pad...its even better!! The only draw back is that its too easy to complete. However, there are a number of cheats available, which adds more life into the game and also makes it harder too. Therefore, i would say this game is excellent, and if you find it too easy, just enter a couple of cheats to make it harder and then you have a flawless game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spider-Man
Spider-Man by Activision (PlayStation)
Used & New from: 4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews