Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suspenseful and Engrossing
John Travolta gives a powerhouse performance in this twisty crime story from director Simon West (Tomb Raider, Con Air). It is a story about the brutal murder of Captain Elisabeth Campbell (Leslie Stefanson), who just happens to be the daughter of General Joseph Campbell, a high ranking and very politically visible General. The investigation that follows takes on a life...
Published on 15 Jan. 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but a bit obvious.
I love watching John Travolta and he was as good as always in this film. Unfortunately there were too many elements that reminded me of his far superior film, Basic.

I couldn't help comparing them and this film didn't come out so well in the comparison. Having said that, I'm not sorry I bought and watched it.It was fine.
Published 17 months ago by A customer


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suspenseful and Engrossing, 15 Jan. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The General's Daughter [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
John Travolta gives a powerhouse performance in this twisty crime story from director Simon West (Tomb Raider, Con Air). It is a story about the brutal murder of Captain Elisabeth Campbell (Leslie Stefanson), who just happens to be the daughter of General Joseph Campbell, a high ranking and very politically visible General. The investigation that follows takes on a life of it's own as CID Officers Paul Brenner (John Travolta) and Sara Sunhil (Madeleine Stowe) uncover the victim's shocking secret life and the even more shocking reason for it.
Things become more dangerous as Brenner and Sunhill uncover more than anyone wants made public and Brenner must use the full powers of his position to shake up the Military structure he is a part of and uncover the truth, no matter the cost. Whether he is a soldier first or a Police Officer may have a bearing on what he does with the truth once he has it in this compelling and complex mystery.
Leslie Stefanson gives a nice performance as the very messed up General's daughter. Her dalliance into S&M with high ranking members on the base becomes sad and heartbreaking as Brenner and Sunhill slowly get closer to the truth, and the real reason she was mudered. James Cromwell (L.A. Confidential) gives another solid performance as the politically ambitious General and Clarence Williams III of Mod Squad fame has a nice turn as his loyal to the death aid.
Everyone from Col. William Kent (Timothy Hutton) to Col. Robert Moore (James Woods) has something to hide in screenwriter William Golden's (Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid) story. Brennan and Sunhill's relentless pursuit of justice for the General's daughter makes for a terrific time at the movies. The ending may suprise you, as may the reason for the brutal crime and the events that preceeded it.
This is a marvelous Military mystery that works because of the fine performances and the sure handed direction that never lets your interest wane. You'll want to own this one as it begs for repeated viewings. This is a very good film all the way around and one you have to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Twists and turns in a complex story and plot, 10 Dec. 2011
By 
RR Waller "ISeneca" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The General's Daughter [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
SAFE READING - NO SPOILERS

This film twists and turns in its story and plot until it reaches its unexpected, challenging and shocking ending with John Travolta, Madeleine Stowe, James Cromwell, Timothy Hutton and Leslie Stefanson putting in very strong performances under Simon West's direction.

There are some unbelievable elements in this film, which is fairly true to the original book I gather from other reviews although I have not read it. It is full of action, suspense and mystery as it peels way the layers at this military base where everything is dealt with but not always for reasons at first considered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Typical Nelson deMille story, sort of!, 3 April 2011
By 
Mr. G. Johns "Master Mason 6407" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The General's Daughter [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
Having read the book by Nelson deMille, I felt I needed to see how similar to the book it was...not bad, as converting a book into a screenplay for about two hours is a difficult task at the best of times. There were about three changes, but, if you haven't actually read the book, don't worry, the film was very good. John Travolta was - as usual - brilliant, as our eponymous hero. Cracking good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This movie provokes, 7 Dec. 2002
By 
Deborah MacGillivray "Author," (US & UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The General's Daughter [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
When you see such a polarisation of opinions on a book or a film, you actually see a good work because it is making people think. This movie does that and yes, provokes violent extremes in how people perceive it.
Yeah, John's accent [stinks] big time, but he gives one of the best performances of his career. Stowe is always beautiful to watch, an elegant actress that be oh so feminine and yet have a strong will and a mind of her own. She shines in a role that often gives her little to work with speaking of her radiant talent. Timothy Hutton is as always, a superb actor (Tim your Daddy would be very proud of you!!) James Woods - what can you say - you love him or you hate him, but he is one of the best around and he gives a moving performance and the person with the secrets Travolta needs. James Cromwell is finally getting the recognition and the roles he deserves and does his very best in another unlikeable role, bringing it little nuances of a man caught between loving his daughter and the higher calling of military honour.
This movie does not show the military and its treatment of its female members in a good light bringing back many such stories we have seen through the years on evening news, maybe with such graphically grim - almost claustrophobic feel that it will cause some people to dislike the film for that alone, especially in today's climate of the world.
But is a gripping, on the edge film, that does not take the easy road, but delivers a powerful punch...maybe too powerful for some.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable but a bit obvious., 15 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The General's Daughter [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
I love watching John Travolta and he was as good as always in this film. Unfortunately there were too many elements that reminded me of his far superior film, Basic.

I couldn't help comparing them and this film didn't come out so well in the comparison. Having said that, I'm not sorry I bought and watched it.It was fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 18 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The General's Daughter [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
Really enjoyed this DVD with the excellent acting from John Travolta and the even better performance from the ever reliable James Cromwell. The action differs a little from the book - which I still prefer, but was still a good "view".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Generals Daughter, 22 Sept. 2013
This review is from: The General's Daughter [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
I like this film - obviously - or i wouldnt have bought it. John Travolta is quite funny at times, its a full star cast, the ending is good, also the soundtrack is great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 5 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The General's Daughter [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
Travolta carries this, sometimes weak, `who done it' very well. Lighthearted though occasionally dark in content. Entertaining, seen it three times and still like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... for me although my son has it now nothing bad to report, 13 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The General's Daughter [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
All arrived on time thanx wud not have another mattress though no offence it's just not the right kind for me although my son has it now nothing bad to report x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars thriller, 19 April 2014
By 
Mrs. Jean R. Livingstone "Jean Livingstone" (Edinburgh Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The General's Daughter [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed this movie immensely, it was a well written story and the cast were first class, it is good for the industry when they come up with agood thriller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The General's Daughter [1999] [DVD]
The General's Daughter [1999] [DVD] by Simon West (DVD - 2000)
£4.53
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews