Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great movie to watch on Sunday, or any day...
Any Given Sunday is a great piece of film making, if slightly tarred by an overly polished Hollywood format. What I mean is, it has all of the [Oliver] Stone ingredients we've come to expect; various video formats, a seemingly incongruous mix of camera angles and close-ups and some amazing performances, but minus the imperfections. So what you say, well sometimes it's...
Published on 26 Oct 2002 by Will

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing football film given that it is Oliver Stone
I am not surprised that the NFL passed on getting behind "Any Given Sunday," because everybody in the Commissioner's office must be cringing at virtually every scene of the antics of these football players off camera. "North Dallas Forty" is still the best football movie made to date, but I have to admit I am somewhat surprised that this film was not more impressive. I...
Published on 17 Jun 2003 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great movie to watch on Sunday, or any day..., 26 Oct 2002
This review is from: Any Given Sunday [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Any Given Sunday is a great piece of film making, if slightly tarred by an overly polished Hollywood format. What I mean is, it has all of the [Oliver] Stone ingredients we've come to expect; various video formats, a seemingly incongruous mix of camera angles and close-ups and some amazing performances, but minus the imperfections. So what you say, well sometimes it's those little accidental nuances that turn a good movie into an amazing one. AGS is a piece of highly professional, polished movie making - but at the end of the day it's just a good movie, not an amazing one.
The performances are just fantastic, Pacino whilst not as intense as in say "Heat" really drives the movie and doesn't for a second let you question whether he's a football coach. You just BELIEVE it, when he's shouting you think it's at you. James Woods is typically side-lined, no pun intended, but what time he is on screen he's James Woods through and through. Why this guy is never given bigger parts I'll never know. Cameron Diaz' is one of the most surprising characters. When Charlton Heston says "I actually believe this woman would eat her young" (line of the movie right there) you totally empathise. She's ruthless, self-opinionated and such a b***h. But it's no facade, she really throws herself into the part and the results are great.
The actual film itself is an amazing piece of work. It's like some sort of drug; it's cocktail of visual and audio mixing is so intense, so in your face you soon get totally sucked in. The on-field football action is incredible, when the tackles come in you find yourself tensing your whole body waiting for the impact. Then you're treated to the players perspective as the stadium swims around them, the crowds die away and you're left for a few seconds to recover before you're hit with the next instalment. You really start to root for the sharks by the end as they go from average schmoes, to washed-up has-beens to a team in the play-offs. And whilst yes this is a fairly predictable journey it's not entirely predictable.
I'm not so sure the parallels between 'gladiators of the field' and Spartacus really pay-off, in some ways you feel a little spoon-fed - because just watching the action you really feel the players are warriors, willing to sacrifice absolutely everything to play the game they're good at.
I've never been a massive fan of American sports, or even American 'Football' but what drew me to the movie is the acting and directing talent and I wasn't disappointed. After I'd bought the movie I mentioned it to a friend who told me it was his 'favourite sports movie of all time'. I can't really think of that many sports movies worth watching, but sport aside if you want some high quality entertainment and a feast for the senses this movie will not disappoint. Strap yourself in and enjoy every intoxicating minute.
The quality of the movie on DVD is also awesome, not a single imperfection could I spot. The audio also nicely fires round the room, it makes me wish I'd seen it at the cinema... it represents outstanding value for money, especially as it has a second disc entirely dedicated to extras you can watch on any given rainy Sunday. A great movie, and great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Bests, 29 Jun 2006
This review is from: Any Given Sunday [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This is easily one of the best sports films you will ever see. It has a great cast(Jamie Foxx and Al Pacino to new but a few) great set pieces( especially the big game) and a pretty brutal potrayal of American Football players. Al Pacino is simply great as Tony Damato and without doubt his "Inch by Inch" speech is one of the greatest in film. It always inspires you no matter how many times you hear it. Even the supposedly minor characters such as LL Cool J have enough time to make an impression. If you watch this i would recommend watching Friday Night Lights which shows the sport at a lower level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MY FAVOURITE SPORTS MOVIE!, 16 May 2008
By 
Adam Jackson "Symphonic Metal Fan" (Stoke On Trent , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Any Given Sunday [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Don't like NFL football - Not a problem!
Many people that love the Rocky movies are not die hard boxing fans - What AGS does is to take the exciting bits, the touchdowns, the big hits, the fast runs & maximise them, cutting out all the more static parts of a real life game. American Football fans will LOVE it but then again so will Action movie fans! Think of it as Rollerball without the bikes...
It's one of Oliver Stone's most underrated movies, with all the trademark
touches to the direction. There's the usual intensity to the editing and real visual flair throughout. Principal leads, Al Pacino and Jamie Foxx burn on screen as jaded head coach & fame obsessed quarterback of the fictional Miami Sharks, respectiveley.
Stone directs the razor sharp dialogue as intenseley as the game play which is fast, hard & adrenaline packed!
The cast is REALLY strong; LL Cool J, James Woods, Charlton Heston in a brief cameo, Cameron Diaz, Dennis Quaid and everyone plays off well against each other.
There's full acting parts also for real life ex pro-footballers such as Jim Brown & Lawrence Taylor who all handle the task superbly.
As always in Stone's movies, there is a big focus on the politics involved and the money corrupts scenario. The glitz & glamour of the game is shown in full but also its dark underbelly.
The soundtrack is fantastic, a great mix of both the urban music of the time (1999) & rock classics such as Black Sabbath's Paranoid. If you like Rap, Hip Hop & Metal, you'll really enjoy this. One great scene is in the locker room where the white guys vie for boom box supremacy with the black lads, blasting out Metallica's Motorbreath against the competing R n B music! LL Cool J even gets in on the soundtrack as does Jamie Foxx with the excellent title track. There's also a fair bit of Moby here which is often used for the more emotive scenes.
Deleted scenes are excellent, my favourite being where you see Madman (one of the 6ft plus blockers) in the locker room, attending to a shrine he has built to his heroes, Metallica - That's a fan!
It's an adult movie with liberal use of the F-Word, some nudity ( one locker scene will make many of us guys feel inadequate!) & there is one gruesome scene during the final game that is literally eye popping!!!
Simply a VERY cool film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking movie worthy of the BD upgrade, 21 Oct 2009
By 
The usual suspect (2nd aisle on the right, top shelf) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Please don't fall into the trap of thinking that knowing American Football is a requirement for watching 'Any given sunday'. As long as you know that AF has an Offense and a Defense, that's about all the knowledge you require to enjoy this gem. It's the story of a struggling team that is fortunate/unfortunate to discover they have a star player amongst their backups. The player becomes a bit too big for his boots and as a consequence causes a major divide between the team, coach and boardroom.
It's a great insight into the sport and the internal mechanics of a team. With no knowledge of the sport, you should enjoy a great storyline coupled with great acting.

Perfectly cast Al Pacino is on fire, Cameron Diaz acting (before she reverted to family fun/voiceover easy money again) and a brilliant Jamie Foxx bursted onto the scene. All backed up with a fantastic supporting cast (way too many to list) and Oliver Stone on top form.

The transfer is great, clean and crisp. It's a colourful sport and the HD helps complement that. Sound is, Dolby TrueHD giving us a pretty authentic sound of the stadium during the action scenes.

Audio: Spanish DD; French DD; German DD; Italian DD.

Subs: Portuguese; Danish; Dutch; Finnish; French; German; Italian; Korean; Norwegian; spanish; Swedish
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent film!!!, 28 April 2001
Another superb film by Oliver Stone. This film makes you feel, as if you are on the field and playing football. Wonderful cast, Al Pacino is cracking as always. Brilliant soundtrack and lots of extras. DO NOT MISS!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Oliver stone's best, 14 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Any Given Sunday [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Any Given Sunday isn't about American football. It's about humanity. It's about how people with different agenda's different priorities, different backgrounds and generations co-exist. In this movie they don't. Stones captures the inner turmoil suffered by prominent indiviuals involved in the game of football with typical panache. He's moved on a lot since JFK, he still wants to make a point and where there is no political axe to grind, he focuses on everyday life, with everyday problems that in truth are bigger than we could always ever credit. Stone puts a lot of things into perspective for us. Pacino, as ever, gives a mean performance, newcomer Jamie Foxx should have joined hollywooods a-list with this performance and Cameron Diaz proves that she is more than just a pretty face. A brilliant awe inspiring movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an excellent movie, 18 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Any Given Sunday [2000] (VHS Tape)
This was truly an excellent film. This movie is Oliver Stone's best since Platoon. The fast-moving and dizzying cinemaphotography fits the high adrenaline atmosphere of the professional football world well. The film is also perfectly cast. Pacino gives life to the head coach, and Cameron Diaz's clearly most intense role as the team's owner is believeable. James Woods gives an excellent performance as the team doctor, who doesn't really seem to care about anyone but himself. Jamie Foxx has a breakthrough dramatic role as the new hotshot quarterback, whose ritualistic vomiting adds humor to the movie. With his performance, we find out Foxx really can act. LL Cool J, also puts through a convincing performance as the team's running back. Dennis Quaid doesn't really do much as the former QB with injury problems except help to develop Pacino's character. An outstanding cast, that features Charlton Heston as the football comissioner, and Ann-Margaret as Cameron Diaz's alcoholic mother. Former pro football players Jim Brown and Lawrence Taylor pop up as members of the team. I recommend it highly. This is possibly the best sports movie ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing football film given that it is Oliver Stone, 17 Jun 2003
By 
Amazon Customer (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
I am not surprised that the NFL passed on getting behind "Any Given Sunday," because everybody in the Commissioner's office must be cringing at virtually every scene of the antics of these football players off camera. "North Dallas Forty" is still the best football movie made to date, but I have to admit I am somewhat surprised that this film was not more impressive. I would have thought that Oliver Stone filming football plays would be awesome. But while he does try to give us a sense of how FAST the games in the NFL are played I found myself cringing every time there was a slow motion shot of a pass hanging forever in the air. The drama of a pass play is seeing it develop, but if all you see is the ball you have no idea of who the ball is being thrown to, how well he is covered, or anything that makes the play exciting. Stone pulls this gambit several times and it never works once. The touchdown routines after the scores are choreographed better. And do not even get me started about the bit with the eye...
Off the playing field every character has their own cliché. The whole subplot with Cameron Diaz as the team owner is painful (but no one is wasted more in this film than Ann-Margaret as her mom) and Lawrence Taylor's performance as a toned down version of himself nicknamed the "Shark" is negated by the melodramatic waiting question of what will happen if he is hit wrong. Dennis Quaid tries to bring some poignancy to the final days of a once great quarterback, but unfortunately he has Lauren Holly as a psychotic wife. The Dallas Knights have the ugliest football uniforms in the history of the known universe, but, hey, isn't that Johnny U. roaming the sidelines as their coach? That sure is Jim Brown preaching the gospel of defense to his troops. Then again, I liked Willie Beamon's game ritual (and the way it becomes taken as a sure sign of good things to come); Jamie Fox, ironically enough, ends up being one of the most realistic characters in the film. Still, when the best scene in the film is coach Al Pacino's pep talk before the big game or the punch line that caps off the end credits, that is not really a great selling point for a football movie. But at least that scene makes up for all the scenery chewing and maudlin reflections Pacino has to do throughout the rest of the movie.
Oh, and did I mention that the clips from "Ben-Hur" keep going out of sequence? Apparently Charlton Heston did not point that out when he did his cameo as the Commissioner. But like most of the problems in this film, Oliver Stone covers it by distracting us with music or simply pumping the volume up on the soundtrack. "Any Given Sunday" is disappointing because you look at the talent on both sides of the camera and you really expected just so much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 8 Oct 2011
It does not matter whether or not you like American Football. In fact this could be just about any sport. Its not relevant. The story is excellent, acting really good and the spectacle just amazing. Buy it NOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great film, 11 April 2005
This review is from: Any Given Sunday [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
One of the best sports films ever. American football fan or not this film is well worth warching... motivational and moving
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Any Given Sunday [DVD] [1999]
Any Given Sunday [DVD] [1999] by Oliver Stone (DVD - 2000)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews