Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars42
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 April 2001
Was expecting a brilliant thrilling journey among those beautiful american musical from the 50'ties in this magificent high-quality-DVD-format, but sorry to say, found a reel full of "commercial shots" of extreme bad quality and drifting colours.
0Comment|170 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2001
Trailers forthcoming attraction adverts from the period... watched most through writing saying "wonderful" etc. Tiny excerpts of scenes through advertising print. I felt that I would get better value burning my money for warmth
0Comment|194 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2011
I expected too much this is hardly more than a advertising trailer for MGM. Pity it could have been very good if the exerts contained whole sequences instead of snipits.Hollywood Musicals Of The 50S [DVD] [2000]
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2013
Again, this was a gift for a friend in her 90's who has dementia,and was a dancer in her younger days.She watches these dvd's all the time and remembers the stars of the day,excellent result!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2014
If you want a selection of trailers that Hollywood produced for these films then you are in the right place, because that's all you get. Where are the extended clips of the stars doing their things? This masquerades as a cavalcade of stars in star turns doing their singing and dancing -it aint!!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2014
it is just trailer after trailer and i would then presume the rest of the series is the same ,do not buy it .The era is fabulous as is are the musicals and i expected the real thing and to see out takes and other goodies absolute rubbish ,be warned
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2013
I had this on Video tape some time ago and decided to purchase the DVD, it is in the main a number of trailers for musicals of the 50's tied together with a commentary. Not to be compared with the MGM That's Entertainment DVD's it is something all interested in the film musical will enjoy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2015
Great video for anyone whgo enjoyed and remembers the 50s Hollywood musicals....some of the clips many have seen on other videos of similar nature but always good to see again....Some of the clips could have been better quality of colour and picture etc...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2015
Quality and content very poor - a complete waste of money.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2014
This is okay, mostly extracts of various musicals which, if anything, makes you wish you could see the whole movie. A decent effort and a trip down memory lane.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)