Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Viewing
A fast moving DVD bringing back some great musicals of yesteryear. A worthwhile purchase for a night of good music and sheer enjoyment. Arrived promptly and in excellent condition.
Published 8 months ago by Janet Ross

versus
93 of 93 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A great disappointment
What this actually consists of is trailers from the movies, rather than proper excerpts. To make matters worse, most of it is out of synch, so that lip movements and speech do not coincide. Avoid!
Published on 17 Jun 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

93 of 93 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A great disappointment, 17 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hollywood Musicals Of The 40's [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
What this actually consists of is trailers from the movies, rather than proper excerpts. To make matters worse, most of it is out of synch, so that lip movements and speech do not coincide. Avoid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 66 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A collection of trailers, 23 Sep 2001
By 
This review is from: Hollywood Musicals Of The 40's [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I was rather disapointed with this DVD.The subject is of course full of pleasure and indeed they include lots of the best films. It consists mainly of trailers which stop as soon as something good starts. Nevertheless a good introduction to some of the best films which you then need to buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a load of cr**, 27 Sep 2002
By 
Mr. Conor Grant "gethappy" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this title because im a HUGE fan of Judy Garland so i got this VHS. When I put it on, I found that the sound was muffled and the picture oh my god it was terrible. However, there was some good stuff on it, from what I can gatter there are some different angles of a scene in The Harvey Girls a Judy Garland movie, and these would be kind of rare. But the main thing was a glimse of The Pirate the Judy Garland movie that has been out of print for years and also on this there is a different take of a scene in this as well. Whoa that was a lot of typing anyway all the clips from the movies are trailers which is king of anoying when your trying to see the clips. Over all this movie/show is very badly put together. Oh yes one other thing the slips of Bathing Beauty (an Ester Wilems movie) are in B/W when the movie is really in colour. STAY AWAY FROM THIS IF YOUR LOOKING FOR A GOOD SHOW ON 1940S MOVIES.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor, 2 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hollywood Musicals Of The 40's [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Very disappointing. Only snippets of the musicals and very bitty. A very cheap product and would not recommend at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear,, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hollywood Musicals Of The 40's [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I got this for mum in law, as she had taken an interest in musicals of this era, so thinking it would be quite long clips of each film I sent for it.
Each clip was short, often ending before the song was over, this was very disappointing for a lady of 92, who really enjoys singing along to the songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Viewing, 15 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hollywood Musicals Of The 40's [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
A fast moving DVD bringing back some great musicals of yesteryear. A worthwhile purchase for a night of good music and sheer enjoyment. Arrived promptly and in excellent condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hollywood Musicans, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hollywood Musicals Of The 40's [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This takes me back many years and it a good light hearted movie, miusic always uplifts the spirit. very enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars musicals of the forties, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hollywood Musicals Of The 40's [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Wonderful value, realy enjoyed the dvd. Will watch it again and again. This is one of the most enjhoyable dvds I have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the service was very good, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hollywood Musicals Of The 40's [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
i thought it was very good quality and watching iwill be telling my friends all about it thanks so much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great cd, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hollywood Musicals Of The 40's [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
thanks amazon another great product giving hours of entertainment with wonderful music and costumes enjoyed every minute of it and will keep on watching it time and again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hollywood Musicals Of The 40's [DVD] [2000]
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews