Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Now, I don't even look at my customers, and I pushed them something they never even asked for'.
Boiler Room follows in the tradition of Wall Street and Glengarry Glenross (both mentioned in the film). It tells of the pitfalls and perils of the cruel, cold world of hard sales. Having worked in that industry, I can relate to so much of it.

I first watched it while working in one of those sales jobs with my work mates and we laughed at the similiarities...
Published on 2 Oct. 2006 by Mr. A. E. Hall

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars tasty enough
Although the film mentions both wall street and glengarry glen ross it isnt as good as either of them but is still great. Many moons ago when i lived in england i worked in a cold calling place that reminded me of this. We were selling stuff that wasnt real. i was awful at it and got turfed after 4 weeks, it was certainly seedy and i knew i wasnt good enough because i...
Published 4 months ago by sean paul mccann


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boiler Room [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
An excellent product, which arrived within 24 hours - very pleased with the purchase and service. The film itself is very entertaining and I would very much recommended it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Wall Street All Over Again..., 23 Sept. 2003
By 
This review is from: Boiler Room [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This movie gives you the chills, it reminds you of the all-time classic "Wall-Street" with Bud Fox & Gordon Gecko. Only this time it is played by Seth Davis as Bud Fox. Boiler Room has an all-star cast with Giovanni Ribisi, Vin Diesel, Nia Long, & Ben Affleck... If you haven't seen this film, you are missing out, it is unforgettable and it is one of those keeper DVD's to have in your collection. Take Care - Chad Castorina
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite out of all the investmnt type of films, 30 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boiler Room [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This is a younger film for those interested in wall street films. Great actors, good twists and great plot! A must watch for those interested in these types of films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In the World of Business, ANYTHING Goes... (4.5 stars), 29 Sept. 2003
This review is from: Boiler Room [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Seth Davis is a college drop-out with no direction. His father despises him for all of the goof-ups he's made in his life (not to mention he isn't a very happy camper when he finds out about Seth's illegal card game operation). Seth is willing to do just about anything to win back his father's approval and love. And that's when he's dragged into the business world and is recruited to a small stock brokerage firm. In very little time, he learns the ropes and is able to make sales without hesitation. The only problem is there's a good chance that the firm he's working for is much, MUCH more illegal than any small-time card operation. Seth's about to get a wake-up call from the business world, and it's not going to be a pretty sight.
Having a very big "Wall Street" and "Glengarry Glen Ross" feel and influence to it, "Boiler Room" is an exciting and chilling look into the "survival of the fittest" rule when it comes to business. It still is successful at being its own movie. There's a great story behind it all that is very believable and very convincing. You don't have to know the business lingo to understand what takes place in the film. While it's a complex story and plot, it's still clear to us exactly what's going on and what's happening.
The film has some really good acting in it. Giovanni Ribisi is perfect when it comes to playing Seth (he has a very childish and innocent look to him, which makes it easier for us to sympathize with him). Vin Diesel is pretty good in the movie as well. Nia Long is great as Seth's love interest and never misses a beat. Everybody else in the movie is great as well. The film has great direction and a solid story to back it up.
"Boiler Room" is a great movie about the ruthless business world. Even though this is fiction, this is something you can see happening anywhere. If you like "Wall Street" or "Glengarry Glen Ross," then I highly recommend this movie. A movie that succeeds on every front.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Will use again, 13 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boiler Room [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Quick delivery and product of good quality and as described . Good all round service and a good film. Will use again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT FILM FOR UPCOMMING TELESALES PEOPLE, 27 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boiler Room [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This is a must for wanabee up and comming Tele sales people ,and what can happen if you join an unregulated company
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars recommended by the Movies You Should See podcast, 7 Jan. 2015
By 
Karl Dawson (Liverpool, Merseyside United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boiler Room (Amazon Instant Video)
A decent film to watch, recommended by the Movies You Should See podcast, old episode of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars tks, 30 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boiler Room [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
tk u, arrived promptly and its fine, tk u very much, i will order again from u, tks v m
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 Sept. 2014
This review is from: Boiler Room (DVD)
Original wolf of Wall Street bad ass movie
Must see
Ben Affleck is brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars BOILER ROOM NEVER REALLY HEATS UP..., 1 Dec. 2002
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is a Gen X version of the movie "Wall Street". It is an uneven, though intriguing, debut by director Ben Younger. It is also a movie that promises much, but fails to deliver anything substantial. First off, it lures you by claiming that it stars Ben Affleck. While Ben Affleck may appear in the movie, it can hardly be said to star him. In fact, Affleck's role cannot even be said to rise to that of a supporting role, so ephemeral is it. Yet, all the movie trailers feature Affleck prominently, as if by promising to deliver him, it may make up for the deficiencies in the film. Nonetheless, Affleck does give a dynamic performance, however miniscule his part.
On the plus side, however, there are some other performances of note. Vin Diesel's is one. He just keeps getting better and is one of the most versatile young actors of today, having had featured roles in "Saving Private Ryan" and "Pitch Black". Also, Giovanni Ribisi turns in a very good performance, as well, though it is not believable that the beautiful Nia Long would find him to be her type.
The premise of the movie is simple. Seth Davis (Giovanni Ribisi) is a nineteen year old college drop out who runs an illegal casino out of his Kew Garden Hills, Queens, NY apartment. While he is making a tidy sum out of his illegal operation, which is a mecca for bored Queens College students, Seth is a disappointment to his father (Ron Rifkin), who is a federal judge and fearful of becoming tainted through association by his son's illegal activities.
Seth, wanting to make his father proud of him, tries to go legit and gets a job at a small brokerage firm whose owners (Ben Affleck and Thom Everett Scott) make get rich quick promises. Two senior brokers with the firm, Greg (Nicki Katt), who lured him to the firm, and Chris (Vin Diesel), who tries to look out for Seth while he cuts his eyeteeth, basically play a good cop/bad cop routine through out the film. Greg's former love interest, Abbey (Nia Long), the firm's $80,000 a year receptionist, turns to Seth for romance, much to Greg's annoyance. This creates tension between Seth and Greg for which Chris runs interference.
Seth initially buys into the promises of big money and falls for the allure of mega bucks, hook, line, and sinker, becoming one of the most promising newcomers to the firm, only to discover that he has traded one illicit operation for another. It seems the firm is selling virtually worthless stock to unsuspecting individuals. When he looks to get out from under, turning to his disapproving father for help, he is rejected. His father, however, has a change of heart and reaches out to his son, only to become ensnared in his son's get rich quick debacle. You see, the firm has been the focal point of an investigation by the Feds for violation of Securities Exchange Commission (SEC) regulations. The movie now spirals quickly to its climax.
The uneven pacing of the film, the failure of the romantic sub-plot due to lack of chemistry between Long and Ribisi, the under utilization of Thom Everett Scott, and the failure to deliver Affleck, as promised, contribute to the disappointment in the movie. Still, it could have been a contender, as it has some very promising moments. "Wall Street", however, made the same promise, the only difference being that it delivered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Boiler Room [DVD] [2000]
Boiler Room [DVD] [2000] by Ben Younger (DVD - 2000)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews