Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bachelor
Good ole fashioned love story in modern-ish times. Funny scenes and moments, slightly predictable but a good feel good movie
Published 18 months ago by jess

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brooke Shields is hilarious in this!
When I first saw this film nearly ten years ago, I wasn't familiar with any of its cast (excepting Peter Ustinov of course), but I had been drawn to a very funny clip I saw where the lead male character was being chased and hunted down by what looked liked literally hundreds of women - dressed as brides, and this looked extremely funny. This stuck in my mind, and I...
Published on 8 Sep 2008 by FAMOUS NAME


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bachelor, 26 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bachelor [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Good ole fashioned love story in modern-ish times. Funny scenes and moments, slightly predictable but a good feel good movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brooke Shields is hilarious in this!, 8 Sep 2008
By 
FAMOUS NAME (UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Bachelor [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
When I first saw this film nearly ten years ago, I wasn't familiar with any of its cast (excepting Peter Ustinov of course), but I had been drawn to a very funny clip I saw where the lead male character was being chased and hunted down by what looked liked literally hundreds of women - dressed as brides, and this looked extremely funny. This stuck in my mind, and I thought this might be fun to see and so I bought the Video!

This movie is a little slow in getting going, and the intro. is not that good - perhaps even a bit too silly to be funny, but I would suggest 'sticking with it' as there are some really funny scenes in this, and as previously mentioned; the scene with the hoards of brides is absolutely hilarious! The best scene by far though, being the wedding that 'almost' happens to Brooke Shields - she is brilliantly funny in this!

Not a laugh a minute, but certainly has some good fun moments!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Region 1, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When I ordered this I didn't see Region 1 written anywhere and so am unable to play it, what a waste!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic., 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Bachelor [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Love this film, so funny. Really good price .bought another for my daughter. Arrived within a couple of days too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Got A Few Spare Hours? Check This Out!, 12 Aug 2004
This review is from: The Bachelor [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Although 'The Bachelor' was given very poor reviews and slammed by the critics on its release in 2000, i personally think that its not a bad movie. Ok it isn't the best comedy out there, but it does have some good moments and is a way to spend a few spare hours watching.
Jimmy is the typical male; he doesn't want to settle down just yet and tie the knot because he's happy doing what he is doing; basically, he's afraid. This changes however when he meets the lovely Anne and after a year or two of being together he finally decides to pop the big question. He takes her to the 'Starlight Rooms' the place where everyone purposes to their wife and just as he is about to ask her, that feeling of uncertainty creeps in and he makes an absolute bodge of it and she leaves the next day on a photography assignment.
He also finds out the next day that his grandfather has died and finds out that the only way that he can receive his hundred million dollar inheritance is to marry before his 30th birthday, which unfortunately happens to be the following day! He now has twenty four hours to find himself a bride so that he can get his grandfathers money. How far will he go and what will Anne have to say about it?
Overall, 'The bachelor' is quite a nice film with some good acting and quite a few genuinely funny moments that make it a perfect movie to whittle away a few spare hours and dosen't require too much brain. Worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Predictable, but with many non-predictable laughs., 8 Nov 2000
By A Customer
Take a 'Brewster Millions' plot, add two charming actors/actresses, and you expect a cute film that whiles away a few hours on a Suturday night. Surprisingly, I got a lot more laughs out of 'The Bachelor' than I expected. A pleasant surprise! Not one to get excited about, but a pleasant waste of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's great!, 2 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Bachelor [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
It's a very funny DVD this guy has a girlfriend but is terribl y afraid to get married and he can't stand the thought of being married to someone all his life but when she leaves he realizes its too late because a member of his family died and left him a bundle of money but he can only have it if he gets married in the next 24 hours! He needs to find someone to get married too, how low will he stoop???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Bachelor [DVD] [2000]
The Bachelor [DVD] [2000] by Gary Sinyor (DVD - 2000)
3.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews