Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful complex music from a modest genius
Japan, David Sylvian's band from the 80's, had something individual which attracted my interest many moons ago. In July 2001 I read a very favourable review of Everything and Nothing and it mentioned that David Sylvian, a blast from the past, planned to play in Dublin in October. I bought the CD and it has been a revealation, giving me many hours of pleasure over the last...
Published on 17 Nov 2001

versus
13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A missed oppourtunity!
The 'David Sylvian' thing is so hard to justify, compartmentalise and explain to the uninitiated. A career spanning 27 years, from glam rock, Bryan Ferry/ David bowie wannabee, to one of the most interesting and important artists of the last 20 years.
This collection sets itself up to be a 'best of' type collection of all sorts of stuff. It is far from that. If you...
Published on 20 Aug 2004 by grandstickinsect


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful complex music from a modest genius, 17 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Everything & Nothing (Audio CD)
Japan, David Sylvian's band from the 80's, had something individual which attracted my interest many moons ago. In July 2001 I read a very favourable review of Everything and Nothing and it mentioned that David Sylvian, a blast from the past, planned to play in Dublin in October. I bought the CD and it has been a revealation, giving me many hours of pleasure over the last few months. I saw David Sylvian and his band in Dublin and since then I have appreciated the music even more. Magnolia which opens the first disc is a superb track moving along against the back drop of a great drum beat. David Sylvian's voice does it for me - it has soul, passion and sets the mood of the piece. Some of the other tracks are very complex but as I got to know the songs they became my favourites - like all great music. The second song on CD2 has a dark grinding distorted guitar riff which weaves the piece into a complex, moody and torturous web reflective of the mind. I was once told that complex music needs an educated ear and that's the pity. The world prefer's the sing along chorus of Kylie and Robbie and the genius of David Sylvian is not heard. Maybe classical music like Wagner is at the top of the music tree but to me David Sylvian and his ilk - I would include Jeff Buckley in this small group, are the classical musicians of the 21st century. Give it a shot - I hope you like it. The CD includes 3 CD's and I have yet to listen to number 3. I am saving it for a rainy night in.
Mark H
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars almost Everything and Nothing less, 28 July 2002
This review is from: Everything & Nothing (Audio CD)
Barely a year after Dead Bees on a Cake Sylvian returns with, not so much a greatest hits album, but more of a 3-course nicely presented meal encompassing previous favourites, rarities, unreleased material and the odd Japan composition, most of which has been re-recorded (vocally) remixed, and all remastered on this double CD package. Collaborative works are also featured, duets with Sakamoto, Jon Hassell, Robert Fripp to name several. The end result is something that holds together rather well, and certainly rewards repeated listening. Early, right through to recent, with nice liner notes explaining the source and alterations of each piece. There are wonderful songs on here such as Let The Happiness In, Ghosts, Orpheus and Laughter and Forgetting, even hard to get hold of stuff such as the one-off single 'Pop Song', an excellent track, and never one to trouble the compilers of the Top 40, such is Sylvian's non-commercial approach to tune making, but songs that, never-the-less, will wind their way into your conciousness. Though curiously, there is only one track from his Brilliant Trees album. That small gripe aside, there are no fillers here and it'll hold your interest from start to finish, a worthy addition to your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Everything? Nothing? Somewhere in between, 15 Oct 2000
By A Customer
Here's the short version, because I usually get too wordy when I try to describe a record by an artist I like...
Everything and Nothing draws more or less evenly from Sylvian's solo albums (not counting 1985's instrumental album, Alchemy), collaborations, and non-album singles, then adds a handful of previously unreleased songs on top.
As usual the packaging is very well done (though it is a bit fragile), with distinctive artwork; and the sound quality is mostly excellent - all three CDs in the limited edition are gold discs.
Highlights among the previously unreleased material are: "The Scent of Magnolia", which is better than most of the songs on Dead Bees on a Cake; "Ride", the lost centerpiece from Secrets of the Beehive; "Cover Me With Flowers", another Dead Bees outtake; and the almost legendary lost Japan track "Some Kind Of Fool". Also refreshing are the remixes of "The Golden Way" and "Come Morning"; both are far superior to the original Marco Polo versions.
The collection stumbles badly in two places, however. "Ghosts" suffers from the loss of its intro, which sets the mood of the piece, and the new vocal lacks the mood-enhancing tension of the original. Rather than just re-doing the vocal, perhaps Sylvian should have re-recorded it from top to bottom. The other mis-step is "Bamboo Houses", which contains a few embellishments that come off sounding totally gratuitous.
Overall, a wonderful piece of work. I suspect that Everything and Nothing isn't likely to attract many new listeners, but it will definitely keep the rest of us listening...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bath time, bed time, 19 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Everything & Nothing (Audio CD)
I have listened to David Sylvian's music since the 80's. I haven't been to a concert (thwarted by my french GCSE in May 1988), but I just love listening. This album encompasses everything I love about his style. Yes, it covers many years, and the omission of some of my favourites, (Forbidden Colours being THE best record ever), can be forgiven because who wants to hear the same old stuff all the time? It is beautiful. I listen in the bath, I listen at bed time, when I'm reading, when I'm writing, drawing. It is relaxing if you want, invigorating if you want. The listener makes it into what they want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sylvian at his best, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everything & Nothing (Audio CD)
Would have put more of his most melancoly songs on it, but this collection is almost perfect. Sadness and it's emotions are his forte. No one does it better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some Amazing Unreleased Material, 7 Dec 2012
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everything & Nothing (Audio CD)
This double CD comprises 140 minutes of innovative music both blissful and aggrieved, both emotionally cold and daringly romantic. It is supposed to comprise a kind of `best of' of Sylvian's vocal works up to 2000, but one can argue into the night about whether this is such a playlist. (There is an equivalent disc of his instrumental works called `Camphor').

Indeed, many of the tracks have previously been unreleased, some of them amazingly so, such as the marvellous opening `Scent of Magnolia' and the fantastically beautiful `Ride'. This latter track is worthy of five stars (as is `Orpheus' on the second disc). Five of the twenty-nine tracks derive from the `Dead Bees on a Cake' sessions, and one track is a seven-minute previously unreleased Japan track.

Many of the tracks also come from albums credited to other acts, such as Ryuichi Sakamoto, Alesini/Andreoni, Mick Karn, and - of course - Japan/Rain Tree Crow. And there are a number of tracks featuring Sylvian's work with Robert Fripp.

There's lots of remixing done for this album, virtually every track according to the sleevenotes. Many of the songs are jazz-inflected and a surprising number are based on the blues. Overall, it's a mixed bag. Some songs don't work for me, but they are very few and far between. Ultimately I am left with a highly positive view of Sylvian as a man who has ploughed his own furrow, albeit with a lot of collaboration along the way. But he knows what he wants and - luckily for us - we want what he knows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything Counts In Large Amounts., 13 Oct 2000
By A Customer
Beautifully packaged with a generous list of retrospective classics. Some reworked tracks, but also offering a new light of undiscovered previous material which gives us back a lost regenerated gap in Sylvian's work. Which I think we all feel starved by. So even for the non Sylvian fan there is something in this monumental compilation for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything Counts In Large Amounts., 13 Oct 2000
By A Customer
Beautifully packaged with a generous list of retrospective classics. Some reworked tracks, but also offering a new light of undiscovered previous material which gives us back a lost regenerated gap in Sylvian's work. Which I think we all feel starved by. So even for the non Sylvian fan there is something in this monumental compilation for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A missed oppourtunity!, 20 Aug 2004
This review is from: Everything & Nothing (Audio CD)
The 'David Sylvian' thing is so hard to justify, compartmentalise and explain to the uninitiated. A career spanning 27 years, from glam rock, Bryan Ferry/ David bowie wannabee, to one of the most interesting and important artists of the last 20 years.
This collection sets itself up to be a 'best of' type collection of all sorts of stuff. It is far from that. If you are new to Sylvian, then I would approach with caution. This collection, while on the most part good, is not a representation of his best work. This collection is more of a clean up and different presentation of old songs( most of which, didn't need it, or else,were no better because of it).
There are tracks which justify the purchase price. The long since deleted 'pop song', the sublime 'bamboo music', the Gone to Earth outake 'ride' and the haunting 'cover me with flowers'.
If you are a Sylvian fan you will already own this set and, no doubt, have your own opinion.
If however, you are new to the artist, then there are 4 albums to start with. Brilliant Trees, Gone to Earth, Secrets of the beehive and Dead Bees on a Cake. Come to Everything and Nothing after you have spent many years absorbing these. I promise your life will be better for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mixed Bag Retrospective From A Musical Diety, 14 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Everything & Nothing (Audio CD)
David Sylvian has been a truly unique innovator in contemporary popular music for over 20 years. This attempt to compress his output since 1980 will certainly not go by without some criticism. For starters, I've always been agitated by compilations that are not chronologically sequenced. I'm sure that Sylvian was hoping to achieve an artistic flow through the ordering of the tracks, but I would prefer to hear an artists development over the course of time. While a good many of Sylvian's single releases are collected here, two of his best - "Red Guitar" and "Taking The Veil" - are noticeably absent (the Julian Mendelsohn remix of the latter would have been most appreciated). Karaoke retreads of older material ("Ghosts", "Weathered Wall", "Brilliant Trees") are nice but unneeded - most fans would prefer the original vocal renditions. However, the unreleased and rare material is the star here - outakes from old recording sessions like "Ride" and the long-lost Japan track, "Some Kind Of Fool" are the stuff of a collector's dreams. Even still, there are enough missing requests to fill a third disc - "Blue Of Noon", "Some Small Hope", "I Have Waited For You", "Promise", etc. And it's a pity that none of Sylvian's beautiful instrumental work made the cut. Despite all of the shortcomings of "Everything and Nothing", it's an essential purchase and will undoubtedly please Sylvian's faithful followers. So, when does the world tour start?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Everything & Nothing
Everything & Nothing by David Sylvian (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews