Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pin sharp, gritty transfer, as it should be
Okay, lets talk about the difference between grain....and sharpness. The Blu ray transfer of this film is pin sharp,thats because the focus puller and camera man on the original film crew did a very good job and got everything in perfect focus!! The Blu Ray transfer does exemplify the characteristics of the film stock used in 1968....remember this is a film shot...
Published on 28 Feb 2010 by Chris Mac

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three of the best from McQueen - but no-frills editions
This set includes three of Steve McQueen's best audience pictures - but be warned that this release is pretty much barebones compared to the special editions of all three titles that have subsequently been released.

The Towering Inferno is still the daddy of all the 70s disaster movies, even if time has taken the edge off some of the special effects and...
Published on 10 April 2009 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pin sharp, gritty transfer, as it should be, 28 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Okay, lets talk about the difference between grain....and sharpness. The Blu ray transfer of this film is pin sharp,thats because the focus puller and camera man on the original film crew did a very good job and got everything in perfect focus!! The Blu Ray transfer does exemplify the characteristics of the film stock used in 1968....remember this is a film shot entirely on location in an almost semi/documentary style using film stock suited to low light levels and with a minimum use of suplementary lighting, by nature the film stock can be slightly grainy in places but that is no accident and can be considered a creative choice by the director to convey the gritty on the spot realism required. Actually in many ways this film set a trend, not just because of the car chase but the visual style and realistic/ urgent nature of the camera work spawned a slew of gritty action thrillers, (see French Connection/Blu Ray). There is no point in trying to compare the visual quality of a Blu Ray film like "Bullit" to a Blu Ray Bond film, for one thing the visual styles are so disparate as to be incomparable, Bond films present a saturated hyper reality, a high gloss to go with the high fantasy, "Bullitt" is a gritty cop thriller, it doesn't need cleaned up or made glossy like a modern film, watch it as it was intended to be, this Blu ray is good, its sharp, its clear, its grainy in places, its how it should be. I have the DVD and the Blu Ray is far superior...enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as it will ever look, 21 Jan 2010
By 
Ross P. Hyland "ross_hyland" (Stanwell Tops, N.S.W. Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There have been some pretty tough reviews concerning the picture quality of this blu ray. (I assume everyone knows the movie itself is great). I have to suggest that a direct comparison between the dvd and the blu ray shows what a massive improvement has been made. It's never going to "pop" off the screen the way some modern films do...... but the original footage was never capable of doing that. This blu ray is as good as Bullitt will ever look and it is a very big improvement over the dvd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Magic, 11 Oct 2006
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This film demonstrates to contemporary Hollywood just how to make a superb thriller without having an explosion every 5 minutes. You know its a classic from the opening shot. Lalo Schifrin's insistent theme kicks in over the credits and the rollercoaster ride starts.

McQueen is marvellous as a Frank Bullitt a no-nonsense, and somewhat rebellious detective who is having no truck with authority. Robert Vaughn, who I've always liked, but never really rated as an actor, is excellent here as Walter Charmers (who is anything but charming!). The scenes between him and McQueen are riveting. Theres the famous car chase of course, which is great, but watching it again recently, the thing that struck me was the completely realistic Hospital scenes. Its all very clinical if you'll excuse the pun.

On disc 1:

There is a commentary by the directory Peter Hyams and a trailer.

On Disc 2:

Documentary 1 'The Cutting Edge: The Magic Of Movie Editing' narrated by Kathy Bates

Documentary 2 'Steve McQueen: The Essence Of Cool' a film about McQueen.

3 'Bullitt: Steve McQueen's Commitment To Reality'.

Of the extras the commentary is probably the best bit, but the film itself is reason alone to buy these discs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On Target!, 17 July 2002
This review is from: Bullitt [1968] [DVD] (DVD)
Although at the time, he was still reeling from the after-effects of doing "The Thomas Crown Affair", here star Steve McQueen gave what was possibly the best performance of his life and career, and one that has matured all the more with the passing of time.
"Bullitt", released in 1968, is a very neat, clipped and stylish thriller which, although the basic plot ia little weak, does not detract from this. Known for "that car chase", where McQueen carves up San Francisco in pursuit of a hot rodding black Pontiac
, the actual story focuses on a police operation to guard a mafioso before he gives evidence against his friends in the mob, which goes wrong. McQueen as Detecive Frank Bullitt is as always, clipped and razor-sharp, letting his senses tell half of the story for him. He's excellent, his casting is perfect. Also on board is Robert Vaughn, himself in excellent form as a scheming politician, and Jackie Bissett as Frank's love interest.
No its not the best thriller ever made, but frame for frame it is good.
Now you too have the chance to own this classic on DVD, restored in widescreen and with renewed picture clarity and a a good selection of extras to make this one wicked addition to your collection. If you never buy another McQueen film, buy this one, you will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a joyride, 19 Mar 2001
By 
Richard (Axminster, Devon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bullitt [1968] [DVD] (DVD)
We all see films that stick in your mind for various reasons, the photography, acting, storyline, atmosphere, direction....Bullit has it all, I remember seeing when it was released in the late sixties and have never tired of it...it still evokes the atmosphere of the time and represented a new landmark in crime movies...the director was not afraid enhance the action of film with relaxed breathing spaces...the scene in the restaurant ( shot at a real restaurant from outside looking in) the jazz music the wondeful serene morning when Bullit parks his car and goes and buys his weeks precooked meals at the chinese grocers opposite his girlfriends apartment If only my shopping trips were so simple!!!! Mqueen superb in this roll as a laid back supercop apparently turned down the part as Dirty Harry...would that have suited him? There is, as in any good film, an excellent supporting cast especially Robert Vaughan who oozes just the right amount of sleaze, Don Gordon his sidekick and Norman Fell his boss. With the magnificent backdrop of San Francisco a stunning car-chase and the airport shoot out (copied in Heat) this film is almost perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-Ray-MacQueen Would Approve, 18 Jun 2011
By 
B. Ying (Hong Kong, SAR) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I agree with the 2 reviewers who gave favorable comments on the quality of this Blu-Ray transfer.
It is not appropriate to have pristine super sharp picture and saturated color quality for all Blu-Ray
DVDs.
For this particular film, the quality of the transfer was very good and appropriate for this gritty and superior
police film from the late 60's with one of the best performances by Steve MacQueen.
At the end of the famous car chase sequence I felt dizzy as if I was driving the car.
It ranks one of the 3 top crime films from that era.
The other 2 are 'Dirty Harry' and 'The French Connection'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still cool, 14 Oct 2009
By 
Mr O (Sydney Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
40 odd years later and still one of the coolest movies ever made. I suppose what makes it so damn cool (besides the presence of Steve McQueen) is the minimal dialogue but each word is meaningful to the plot and character development. So much is also conveyed in looks and expression. A marvelously constructed and tense movie with real characters. And of course THE car chase that started them all. And no CGI or special effects in sight. Just real cars with real drivers on real roads and no ludicrous near misses such as with have these days where you need to suspend all disbelief. People actually die rather than walk away from massive explosions etc only requiring a band aid and a glib one liner. Well acted and tightly directed this movie has held up really well over time. Buy it you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cool!, 11 Aug 2005
By 
Coincidence Vs Fate - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Amazingly, I'd never seen this film before, though I've enjoyed listening to the soundtrack for many years.
I'd heard all sorts of stories about the film: "no story", "just a car chase" and "looks good, but no substance", but I was more than pleasantly surprised on how much I enjoyed it. I must admit the car chase was shorter than I'd hoped it would be, but overall the film was great from start to finish.
It looked superb and I can see where George Clooney's "Ocean" films got the look from. The supporting cast was great too, Robert Vaughn and Jacqueline Bissett both being superb in their respective roles.
As for Mr McQueen himself. Has anyone looked cooler? I doubt it.
Five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu Ray transfer ?, 7 Feb 2010
By 
F. D. Menice (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This film is brilliant ! Being a Steve McQueen fan i wanted to buy this on Blu Ray. The very first opening scene is a shot from a high building and on Blu Ray was terrible (old film i suppose) which made me think "oh no" BUT moving on into the film i was quite surprised by the transfer, it is actually very good ! Im not gonna go into Blu Ray jargon as i dont know too much ! but given its age it is very clear and the audio is also very good. There are also lots of extras on the disc which in turn i would say make it a good buy if you like this film...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More than just a car chase, 7 Mar 2009
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
A beautifully constructed star vehicle for Steve McQueen at his best, Bullitt is pretty much the prototype for every Hollywood cop movie that followed. True, the car chase may seem a bit less impressive than it once did because filmmakers have been trying to top it for the best part of four decades. More of a cat-and-mouse game than a demolition derby - the whole point is to avoid hitting the other cars - it's overshadowed by the film's other action setpieces: a murder in a safe house, a tense chase in a hospital and a great airport finale that Michael Mann ripped off wholesale in Heat. Yet despite the familiarity of the elements, the film still feels remarkably fresh today, with much of its impact undiluted.

If it still seems so much better today than most of its successors, that's down to old-fashioned star quality. McQueen doesn't have to act cool: McQueen IS cool, even in his pajamas. But in some ways the film is a critique of the whole cool antihero ethos - sometimes being cool means being cold and unfeeling. Bullitt is an impassive, impersonal figure throughout the film, his feelings so buried that he is unable to relate properly with his girlfriend or be anything other than calmly professional with a shot colleague. He is not a bad man, more one who has buried his feelings so deep to enable himself to get through his job that he cannot exhume them when he clocks off.

It helps that director Peter Yates resisted studio pressure to film on the backlot with regular crowd casting, opting instead to shoot on the streets filled with real people, keeping the film fairly grounded. He may have been hired on the strength of the Stanley Baker thriller Robbery, loosely based around the Great Train Robbery and opening with a cracking car chase around the streets of London, but he had the sense to realise that the only way to successfully update what's at heart a 60s spin on the classic Warner Bros.' crime films of the Thirties was to give it a low-key approach that makes the highpoints seems a lot more effective than they should. The film also benefits from good casting (Robert Vaughn, Jacqueline Bisset, Don Gordon, Simon Oakland, Robert Duvall) and better characterisation than the norm, while the plot's not bad either, with Lalo Schifrin contributing a cool score that does not so much follow the action as create an environment for it and Pablo Ferra throwing in a terrific main title sequence that sets the plot in motion.

The 2-disc set certainly boasts an improved transfer over the original single-disc release, but aside from Yates audio commentary, a vintage making of featurette and the trailer, the extras aren't that film specific - a good feature-length documentary on film editing and another on McQueen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bullitt [DVD] [1968] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: 67.42
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews