Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One brillant movie
One False Move - DVD
As soon as i got a DVD player, this was the first DVD i went out and brought. Having seen the film (from IRS Media) before i knew it was an essential purchase which would stand up to repeat viewing.
The Director's commentary is very listenable and provides insight into the production and thinking behind several key scenes. It is amazing to...
Published on 30 Jun 2001 by Rum Jon

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
Don't waste your money
Published 8 days ago by Phil (London)


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One brillant movie, 30 Jun 2001
This review is from: One False Move [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
One False Move - DVD
As soon as i got a DVD player, this was the first DVD i went out and brought. Having seen the film (from IRS Media) before i knew it was an essential purchase which would stand up to repeat viewing.
The Director's commentary is very listenable and provides insight into the production and thinking behind several key scenes. It is amazing to think this movie was made for only $2m US.
The shocking murder scene 5 minutes in, is controversal, and nearly made me switch off first time round, but on repeat viewing (and with Franklin's reasoning from the commentory) it becomes more an essential part of the story rather than just another gross-out/shock attempt.
Billy Bob Thornton's screenplay is superb, as is his acting (and that of his co-stars including Michael Beech and Bill Paxton), which helps us identify, if not quite like the charactor 'Ray'.
The haunting climax aided by a well used blues soundtrack is also worthy of specific recognition, but in short this movie will not disapoint any audience appreciating an intersting story.
Best watched while eating alfafa and black eyed peas on prime numbered days of any month begining with the letter 'J' or 'M'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Great Film!, 17 Oct 2001
By 
This review is from: One False Move [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
One False Move is basically a modern day remake of High Noon wich I feel is just as good if not better than the afformentioned film. The western theme of the movie is ever present with small time hick sherrif Bill Paxton lying in wait for the drug dealing physcos murderers.The direction is very assured from debut boy Carl Franklin and the performances are really affecting, especially Bill Paxton. The scene in which Paxton's dreams of becoming a big city cop are crushed by the two FBI agents is haunting as you see all of Paxtons emotion drain from his face. I regard this scene as a classic and Bill Paxton has never been better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One false move from someone could spell disaster for everyone....., 7 April 2012
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One False Move [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
One False Move is directed by Carl Franklin and co-written by Billy Bob Thornton and Tom Epperson. It stars Thornton, Bill Paxton, Cynda Williams and Michael Beach. Music is by Peter Haycock, Derek Holt and Terry Plumeri and cinematography by James L. Carter.

Three criminals, Ray (Thornton), Fantasia (Williams) and Pluto (Beach), are on the run from LA. after a drug heist ends in a bloodbath. Heading for Star City, Arkansas, the three are oblivious to the fact that the law, both local and of L.A., is lying in wait for them.

One time actor Carl Franklin has good standing as a director in neo-noir circles, his Devil in a Blue Dress (1995) and Out of Time (2003) had the benefit of starring Denzel Washington, with the former often thought of as an undervalued treasure. Neither of those films, in my opinion, comes close to the excellence of One False Move. A superbly understated thriller that oozes fatalism while studying the characters at hand. Beginning with brutal attention grabbing violence, picture unfurls as a road movie until it reveals itself fully in the town of Bleakville. Franklin and his writers slowly open up the story to reveal an emotionally complex thriller, bleeding the flaws from the main players with clinical glee. These be a mix of classic losers, psychotics, redemption seekers and a naive dreamer, and there's a link from the past that's going to impact devastatingly on the present.

Modelled on a High Noon good guys Vs bad guys like destiny, narrative also has little observations on racism and the class divide between big city America and small town Americana. Sly little reveals in the script such as a policeman's alcohol problem show good attention to detail by the makers. While Franklin has a wonderful way with his camera, only revealing enough for us to fill in the blanks, and often his camera is used as a character POV device, with close ups and cuts blending seamlessly with mood of the story. The cast are uniformly strong, with the stand outs Williams, Paxton and Thornton reaching down deep to give their respective characters some stunning grittiness, doling out sadness, misguidedness and rage with a believability that's as impressive as it is riveting to watch.

One of the best crime pictures of the 90s and an essential viewing for anyone interested in pure neo-noir. 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent thriller, 6 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One False Move [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
The film starts with a robbery and accompanying massacre and then follows the three villains, 2 men and a woman, as they make a cross states car journey , murdering as they go, to the woman's former home town, where Paxton is the sheriff . The LA detectives are involved in pursuit and against them Pullman comes across as a naïve amateur though, as it turns out, a brave one. His position is also compromised by his having had an affair with the female fugitive before she left the town.
Tension is maintained till the end, a shoot out
The story holds you throughout, and the cast, particularly Bill Paxton , Billy Bob Thornton and Cynda Williams, are outstanding. One of the best thrillers about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cold blood, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One False Move [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This film has always grabbed me head first. Chilling and great acting. The life of desperado's is vividly portrayed. Shudder.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One False Move, 19 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One False Move [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This is a bold and courageous film, intelligent and extremely gripping. You realise early on that there will be a huge clash at the end but that only heightens the tension. The film also deals with racial issues that still plague our society where people live in denial and are happy to believe they are not racist so long as everything's at arms length but the moment people are faced with this issue on a personal level it's a different story. Bill Paxton brings both humour and a sensitivity to his role. His presence is towering and the rest of the cast don't let up. This film is for anybody and everybody!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 12 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One False Move [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Don't waste your money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A mistake, 31 Dec 2010
This review is from: One False Move [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I bought this while searching Amazon for little known but well recommended movies, having found it on someone's list of all time favourites. We sat down to watch it, and were instantly turned off by the opening of the movie, to the point where we turned it off and never watched the rest of the film - I suppose you could justifiably conclude that I'm not really qualified to review it. I'm not particularly squeamish, and have only ever walked out of a movie 3 times in my life, but dislike the horror movie kind of feeling of impending violence and having my emotions over-manipulated by the director.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One False Move [DVD] [2001]
One False Move [DVD] [2001] by Carl Franklin (DVD - 2001)
Used & New from: £18.08
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews