Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just one little thing missing!
This is a really good record of the Sex Pistols performing live.
I was always a bit concerned that knowing how they can perform this was going to be dreadful, but I was pleasently suprised at how (dare I say) professional! they were. Only Sid lets the music down especially on the track EMI where he gets the backing vocals all wrong and thinks he can get away with...
Published on 11 April 2004 by kezzez

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Outcomes are never entirely as predicted or desired
The sound quality on this Vhs is poor, and the set is too short. Sid Vicious, in typical style, neglected to turn his bass on for the show(Incompetent buffoon! He couldnt play the bloody thing anyway!)
However, the rest of the band does a good job, all the best songs are there and it's certainly worth getting if you are interested in the band. If you're just getting...
Published on 31 May 2004 by metallica_hater


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just one little thing missing!, 11 April 2004
This review is from: Sex Pistols: Live At Longhorns [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
This is a really good record of the Sex Pistols performing live.
I was always a bit concerned that knowing how they can perform this was going to be dreadful, but I was pleasently suprised at how (dare I say) professional! they were. Only Sid lets the music down especially on the track EMI where he gets the backing vocals all wrong and thinks he can get away with just shouting out almost randomly. Having said that the others really showcase their talents and give us something that we can get our teeth into. Sound and picture quality are spot on.
Like the other review said the crowd are a bit static but all the classic tracks are played off of the 'Bollocks' album and the videos for 'Anarchy in the Uk' & 'God Save The Queen' are at the end. It would have been complete if the video for 'Pretty Vacant' was in there as well. Thats just one thing thats missing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my name's john and this is the sex pistols..., 26 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Sex Pistols: Live At Longhorns [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
The performance itself merits five stars!
This is probably the finest sex pistols performance documented on film! It's just a pity that the dreadful winterland show is the more famous (and popular?) of the two!
The band are really on top form here. John's voice is in tune & Sid is being his usual, attention seeking self. Thank god his bass is inaudible! :-/
Filmed from many differend angles, the footage is extremely good quality with many great closups (the venue was tiny, so even the zoomed out view is, in effect a closeup!)
I beg anyone considering buying winterland to buy THIS gig instead. The band play fantastically & songs like Bodies, Belsen, Pretty Vacant sound amazing!
As way of extra's we only recieve 2 promotional videos! The 1992 version of the Anarchy video and GSTQ from 1977. (Incidentally they appear to have used a very inferior copy of the god save the queen video - why?!)
There are so many more clips that could have been included as extras! Like the performance of Anarchy from 'So it goes' in 1976. Or the Sex Pistols Number 1 film that was made to show before gigs in 1977 ~ (No warm up acts in those days!)
But on the whole this is a good package. A little expensive perhaps considering that only half of the gig was filmed, but it's good viewing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Don't Know What Punk Is Till You've Watched This Video!, 17 Sep 2000
I'm a massive Sex Pistols fan and this has got to be the best live gig I've heard/seen them play! next to their Winterland performance a few days later which is also brilliant but in a different way. This video kind of allows you to re-live the live Sex Pistols experience. More of the 1978 Punk audience can be seen at this venue. The video contains the entire gig of nine songs plus two live clips of 'Anarchy In The UK' and 'God Save The Queen' not from the Longhorns gig. The amps at this performance sound good and heavy with alot of distortion! Steve Jones's guitaring is cool! Johnny Rotten's singing is as good and angry as ever! Sid Vicious is as entertaining to watch as ever! showing off and busts his nose open twice! What more can I say... this video is a must have for any Sex Pistols or Punk fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Outcomes are never entirely as predicted or desired, 31 May 2004
The sound quality on this Vhs is poor, and the set is too short. Sid Vicious, in typical style, neglected to turn his bass on for the show(Incompetent buffoon! He couldnt play the bloody thing anyway!)
However, the rest of the band does a good job, all the best songs are there and it's certainly worth getting if you are interested in the band. If you're just getting into the band you should make sure you get Never mind the bollocks first, it's the best way to enjoy the Sex pistols, and much more fun than this video.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars its the pistols man!, 1 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Sex Pistols: Live At Longhorns [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
not bad at all.....makes you feel a part of the action...the performance on this dvd is great, the band were into it....a bit of helpful info in the bonus material too....the audience are a bit still tho for what they are a part of. If i'd been there i think i would have done more than punch my arm in the air to the beat! i know some might complain about the sound and pic...(which on reflection isnt too bad....think the bass is a bit quiet tho) but remember some of the bands gigs were a shambles!....In terms of musical content i think its far better than the stuff included on last years boxset......I'm very glad they could be captured like that in the 70's...and that we can enjoy it over and over on this dvd. thumbs up...if u like them you should get this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD, 30 Jan 2011
By 
D. R. Madeley (Shrewsbury) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sex Pistols: Live At Longhorns [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
Great DVD for any ardent Pistols fan. Warner Bros commissioned the filming, but somehow messed up the dub-edit on the first 4 songs, GSTQ, I wanna be me, Seventeen & New York, so they were left out. Someone suggested that this is the whole gig, but clearly that is incorrect. Audio of the full gig is available. Shame that New York is missing because it really showcases Cookie, without whom the Pistols would have been nothing. The footage is unmissable and the performance is pretty good. The sound engineer faded Sid down, so thankfully all you get from the bass is a barely audible sub-sonic kind of woof. Compare though, the sound on this DVD to the tinny pathetic sound on the Winerland one. This is far more beefy and superior. All in all, a must buy for any real Pistols fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a look, don't expect much though., 7 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Sex Pistols: Live At Longhorns [DVD] [2002] (DVD)
I bought the VHS of this a while back, the picture and sound quality is pretty awful - it was all shot on ppl's camcorders I think, I can't see why anyone would want it on DVD.. you might as well just get the cheaper video of it. It's worth seeing anyway, just pointless on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sex Pistols: Live At Longhorns [DVD] [2002]
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews