Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1999's greatest platformer
This game not only has as many levels as Crash Bandicoot 2: Cortex Strikes Back. It has 32 (5 more than Crash 2). The graphics are absolutely spot-on, and for the first time EVER, Aku Aku says something other than "Hugger-bugger!". Also, Coco Bandicoot is playable (after making a brief appearance on Crash 2) on levels including Oriental Run, Tell No Tales and Hot Coco...
Published on 29 Oct 2003 by frinkazaria

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars poor
the game did not and still does not play...it has been tried on three machines...the one star is so i can type out my frustration
Published 4 months ago by mick anthony


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1999's greatest platformer, 29 Oct 2003
This review is from: Crash Bandicoot 3: Warped (Video Game)
This game not only has as many levels as Crash Bandicoot 2: Cortex Strikes Back. It has 32 (5 more than Crash 2). The graphics are absolutely spot-on, and for the first time EVER, Aku Aku says something other than "Hugger-bugger!". Also, Coco Bandicoot is playable (after making a brief appearance on Crash 2) on levels including Oriental Run, Tell No Tales and Hot Coco! The storyline is that Aku Aku's evil twin brother Uka Uka [nice name: very thoughtful] was released from his underground prison and wants to cause trouble for Aku Aku who put him there. Dr Cortex uses a Time Travelling Device made by Dr Nefarius Tropy to destroy Crash once and for all. I'm not telling you the rest (buy it yourself). Also, a new thing for Crash is the addition of Relics for completing Time Trial modes. They come in Silver, Gold and Platinum variety, and collect 5 and the 6th warp room opens, and level 26 is available (then for every 5 you collect you get levels 27, 28, 29 and 30). This game is simply not to miss. Buy it. And that's an order.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five stars is an under-statement, 21 Feb 2001
By 
Andrew Tait (Northumberland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Crash Bandicoot 3: Warped (Video Game)
Crash Bandicoot is easily the best charectar on the Playstation.And this is truly his finest hour. It has all the qualities you could could possibly wish for in a platform game-a loveable cast of charectars,beautifully simple controlling,bright,colorfull,superbly rendered graphics(it's rather like playing in an interactive cartoon)and bouncy sound affects. This is a fun,sumptous game for all ages(although some kids might find the evil Uka-Uka a bit scary)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crash Bandicoot 3: Warped, 25 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Crash Bandicoot 3: Warped (Video Game)
Crash Bandicoot 3:Warped is an excellent addition to the Crash Bandicoot games. If you liked Crash Bandicoot 1 and 2 you'll love this one. Crash Bandicoot 3: Warped has quite good graphics, although I can think of better! The cartoon-like characters, Crash and Coco, lead you into thinking that this game is only for kids but don't be fooled, I think that anyone who tries this game will love it. There are 5 zones each with 6 levels inside them. (You must complete the 6 levels in a zone before you can enter an other zone). All of the levels are different ther are some that you swim in, drive in, ride tigers in, ride dinosaurs in, fly in, you name it and it's probably there! While you're using these exciting methods of transport you have to collect "wumpa" fruits to gain extra lives. You also have to collect crystals to win the game. You will also have to compete in games against other characters where, if you win, you will recieve a special "Bandicoot Power" which can help you to win some of the other levels to come. After you have completed a level you can try it again using "Time Trial" mode. When using this you can find out how long it takes you to complete a level and you can also win extra gems and crystals. This is the type of game that you'll never want to stop playing, if I try to put it down for 10 minutes I feel compelled to try again at the occassional difficult level. Crash Bandicoot 3:Warped is a great game (you wont get too stressed out at trying to complete a level, honest!) I recommmend that you BUY IT !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's A Hat-Trick For The Bandicoot, 14 July 2011
By 
Matthew Stoneman "90's Guy" (North Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crash Bandicoot 3: Warped (Video Game)
"Hat-trick" is a word most commonly heard in football, but did you know it actually originated from the sport of Cricket? It's when a bowler bowls three balls in a row and gets wickets from all of them. Moving on a little bit, in 1998 Crash Bandicoot completed his hat-trick of top-quality platform games with the release of Crash Bandicoot 3: Warped on the PSone.

Picking up where Crash Bandicoot 2 left off (if you played and got 100% completion from that game) Dr.Cortex's space station crash lands into a temple on a small island. The destruction leads to the freedom of an evil witch doctor mask called Uka Uka. It seems Dr.Cortex wasn't the evil big cheese afterall. Uka Uka is ticked off at the fact that Cortex lost all the crystals in the previous game; but with the help of a time-twister machine and its creator, Dr.N.Tropy, the villains plan to go to various points in time and steal the crystals from their original places.

Meanwhile the good witch doctor mask, Aku Aku, senses Uka Uka's escape from afar, and warns Crash and his sister Coco about the danger he brings to the world. Together they must use the time-twister machine to grab the crystals before the villlains do.

The game layout is very similar to CB2. There are 25 levels, with five in each warp area. You have to collect a crystal from each level and then complete a boss fight before you can move onto the next warp area. The gameplay style still involves running away from and into the screen, as well as running from side to side; although here in CB3 some of those styles are combined together to make for more exciting levels; especially in the Prehistoric levels where all three styles (away from, into, and side) are used.

The crystals, gems, boxes and level format initially make CB3 seem like nothing more than CB2 with a big 3 painted over the 2. But trust me, there are differences and features that make this game a worthwhile classic purchase. First, and most obvious, CB3 has a time travel theme. The levels you play through take place in numerous and famous periods of time, which include (but are not restricted to) the Prehistoric dinosaur age, ancient Egypt, and my personal favourite, Medieval England. Time travel is a great idea. It just sends your imagination running wild, especially if you're a hyper active kid.

100% completion still needs to be gained by collecting all the crystals and gems; but now there is one other thing you need to grab in order to achieve that goal. Time Relics. When you complete a level by collecting its crystal, you'll find a clock when you enter that level again. This activates "Time Trial" mode where you have to race to the end of the stage as fast as you can. If you're quick enough you'll earn a relic, which comes in sapphire, gold or platinum, depending on how fast you were. This is another great idea because it gives you a reason to play the levels through multiple times, as well as adding extra mileage to the game.

Crash is not the only orange marsupial you get to play as in CB3. For the first time ever in the Crash Bandicoot series you get to play as Crash's sister, Coco, who stars in her very own levels of mayhem; the highlights of which are the Pirate themed levels where she rides the waves on a jet-ski. But this doesn't mean Crash gets to miss out on all this vehicle business. He himself gets to make like a biker dude, and ride a motorbike in races through the desert. Yet another high point of a brilliant game.

The time-travel theme, the relics, and Coco's levels combine beautifully with the already established series features (breaking boxes, collecting gems, etc.) to make this a brilliant game; and the quality is further heightened thanks to the game's bosses, who are both funny and popular in equal measure, and the new abilities that can be obtained for Crash by defeating those bosses.

There's nothing really bad to say about this game. One minor fault I could point out is that despite the nice varity of levels, it could've perhaps done with a couple more themes to make it even more varied, like the Viking era, or the American wild west. Also the game is a little more challenging than CB2, but it's still fairly easy and can be polished off by gaming veterans in about three or four sittings.

But I'm just being picky. Crash Bandicoot 3 is without doubt Crash's finest hour. If you're a PSone fan you should buy a copy of this game and relish it for all it's worth. Yes, there was a decent racer in the form of Crash Team Racing, but this was the last truely great Crash Bandicoot platformer ever released. OK, you've read my review. Now go and buy the game!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best of three, 15 Jan 2011
By 
Miss M. Potter "marcia" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Crash Bandicoot 3: Warped (Video Game)
This third instalment of Crash Bandicoot is the best out of the three for me.
Dr N Trophy wants to collect gems and crystals left by Dr Neo cortex using a Time Machine. Also there is Uka Uka, who is out to get Crash. Crash and Coco need to battle these three baddies and get the gems and crystals by working their way through 25 levels. There are Underwater games, medieval settings, Jet ski games, planes and spaceships, Egyptians and motorbikes wizards and frogs.
The graphics are up to the usual standard of colourful and interesting environments.
The main character is likeable. He has a humorous side as well with his facial expressions when he is frustrated and what he gets up to when he is waiting for instruction.
Some games require dexterity and other games get the adrenalin rushing as Crash has to race at break neck speed.
During his adventure Crash collects fruit for extra lives. He can walk, jog, jump and spin and slide his way through this fantastic game. This is a wonderful game and is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant game, 13 Jan 2010
By 
K. Houghton (Ferndown, Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Crash Bandicoot 3: Warped (Video Game)
I love these games, and this one especially - after each boss you get a new ability (double jump, flying spin, etc.). This Crash game is harder than the 2nd but a bit easier than the 1st, and you can play as Coco on a few of the levels, though only ones where shes using a mode of transport (such as a little one-man aeroplane and her pet tiger). There are still some 'hidden' levels which require a certain number of time trial relics (oh yeah - that's new too!).
I would always recommend this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Crash game by a mile, 1 Nov 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Crash Bandicoot 3: Warped (Video Game)
The title of this review says it all. You're not a true Crash fan unless you have played this game. Naughty Dog has taken the best of Cortex Strikes Back and produced a better storyline, better graphics, better music, and better gameplay. The new relic component is very good and is addictive, especially as it is almost impossible to get platinum times on most levels.
Each level is funny and different and it does not get at all repetitve, giving this game amazing replay value - I have owned this game for about 8 years and have completed it many times, and I still find myself starting all over again as if I have never played it before.
As with the other Crash games, the graphics are not as good as Nintendo, but they are bright and good enough for you not to bother when you are playing.
This is the best platformer ever released on the Playstation. Enough said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars oh gawd! love it!, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crash Bandicoot 3: Warped (Video Game)
LOVVVVEEE it, just like the childhood days! :D however, I don't have a ps1 memory card so I cant save BUT HEY stil awesome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars poor, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crash Bandicoot 3: Warped (Video Game)
the game did not and still does not play...it has been tried on three machines...the one star is so i can type out my frustration
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Unhappy, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crash Bandicoot 3: Warped (Video Game)
It worked great at first until I tried to access the second level where the disk continued to crash each time we tried. Disappointing as we were looking forward to this game being delivered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crash Bandicoot 3: Warped
Crash Bandicoot 3: Warped by Sony (PlayStation)
Used & New from: 10.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews