Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new side to the man
This movie is a recent addition to my collection of jackie's movies, the movie is more of a drama then martial arts film which is an unusual role for Jackie to take. This new side to Jackie is refreshing and thoroughly enjoyable, his role adds to the depth of his movies and reputation.
There are only a few martial arts scenes in the movie, which is the only...
Published on 1 Dec. 2003 by S. BUTTON

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not his usual style of film ...
I hadn't seen nor heard anything about this film when I saw it, but I bought it anyway on the premise that it was Jackie Chan. I usually find his films have a poor storyline and this one fulfills my expectations, but the main fight scenes are something _else_ totally. I've never seen Jackie Chan mix up a combination of styles like this against an extremely able opponent,...
Published on 18 Dec. 2000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new side to the man, 1 Dec. 2003
By 
S. BUTTON "simon294uk" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gorgeous [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is a recent addition to my collection of jackie's movies, the movie is more of a drama then martial arts film which is an unusual role for Jackie to take. This new side to Jackie is refreshing and thoroughly enjoyable, his role adds to the depth of his movies and reputation.
There are only a few martial arts scenes in the movie, which is the only disappointment, but the scenes are well worth the wait. The final fight in the movie i would rate as one of his best fights, it is fast and action packed and definately top class. The story line has a feel good side to it, and has a heart warming ending.
I would strongly recommend this for any Jackie Chan fan, and also for any martial arts/action/drama fan also!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something different isn't a bad thing!, 12 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Gorgeous [DVD] (DVD)
A lot of people think Jackie should only play one role, but why not do something a little different. I disagree with people about this film, I think it's great! I know, I know, it's a love story but try not to laugh when Jackie corners Tony Leung in the elevator or when the gay chinese guys are pretending to beat up on Shu Qi, you won't be able to!
The fights in particular the last one, are fantastic, the usual Jackie, madcap, fist flying, with little funny bits here and there.
All in all, it's a great film to have in your Chan collection. At the end of the day, if you're a Jackie Chan fan - you'll love this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONE OF THE BEST CHAN FILMS IN THE 90'S, 25 Nov. 2001
By 
Mr. J. M. Noble (Scotland UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gorgeous [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great lookin' Chan film with 4 incredable fiht scenes. The last one Chan uses some great foot technique. It is a funny romantic action film. With the number 1 action hero in it. BUY IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A perfect film for all the family - excellent, 24 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Gorgeous [DVD] (DVD)
Again, Jackie chan manages to bring something new to the screen. The d.v.d features an excellent summery by Chan himself. There is some brilliant camera work and great acting.Gorgeous maybe a little different from some of Chan's other films,however true fans like to see their hero playing a variety of roles. There is a fantastic fight that lasts for over 10 minutes between jackie chan stunt team member Brad Allan, with great music and editing. There is also a nice fight on a car park, one on board a ship, and it's amazing to see how many different ways Chan can use a baseball bat in a fight scene which takes place on, under and around a motorbike. Despite the films romantic plot, Chan still managed to injure his hip whilst filming one of the fighting scenes. Like most of his films, this is one for all the famiy to enjoy. Well done Jackie, and director Vincent Kok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like it or not?, 27 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gorgeous [DVD] (DVD)
I love Jackie Chan and Shu Qi and to bring them together on one film was a must for me to buy. The story line was "cute" and amusing. Shu Qi played her chameleon role very well as the little village girl and then suddenly transformed into the most beautiful woman anyone would be proud to take to dinner!! I was not impressed with the fight scenes but enjoyed the wit Jackie always puts into these. In general, the film was funny, and well put together. Typical man meets girl and ends happy ever after. Some may find the story line a little "tame" but if you understand Asian culture then you can accept the simplicity of the story. If you liked Pretty Woman, there seems to be a similar trait here but in a very nice way. If you love Jackie and Shu Qi then it is a must to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something for everyone in this action/comedy/romance., 20 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Gorgeous [DVD] (DVD)
A slight change of pace for Jackie in this 1999 film made for Golden Harvest Studios. Although there are some trademark Chan fight scenes, the film concentrates on the relationship between Jackie and Bu (the stunning Shi Qi). There are three brilliantly choreographed fight scenes of note - the first involving Jackie taking on a gang of thugs on their motorbikes, eventually stealing all of the baseball bats they are wielding. The other two fight scenes are classic Chan artistry where he pits his skills against an American martial arts champion who is sent by Jackie's corporate enemy to stir up trouble. This film is suitable for all ages and is ideal for introducing you to the kung-fu entertainment master who is, Jackie Chan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not his usual style of film ..., 18 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Gorgeous [DVD] (DVD)
I hadn't seen nor heard anything about this film when I saw it, but I bought it anyway on the premise that it was Jackie Chan. I usually find his films have a poor storyline and this one fulfills my expectations, but the main fight scenes are something _else_ totally. I've never seen Jackie Chan mix up a combination of styles like this against an extremely able opponent, when I first watched it my reactions were "christ!" and "bloody hell!", I only noticed one speeding-up. This film is worth it for the two main fight sequences alone if that's what you enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nice story, great action, good night in, 10 Jan. 2001
By 
pksfw@hotmail.com (Wolverhampton, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gorgeous [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Not as much action as Chan of old but easily enough to appreciate he is still the king of action. The love story between him and Bu is ok but he is old enough to be her father and that is a slight turn off. The Jacket and Motorbike scenes are typical brilliant Chan, And his two fights with Bruce (small white guy) are well filmed and show the awesome potential Bruce has to offer action cinema. All in all, well worth a watch but not as nutty as his earlier stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Something different isn't a bad thing!, 12 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Gorgeous [DVD] (DVD)
A lot of people think Jackie should only play one role, but why not do something a little different. I disagree with people about this film, I think it's great! I know, I know, it's a love story but try not to laugh when Jackie corners Tony Leung in the elevator or when the gay chinese guys are pretending to beat up on Shu Qi, you won't be able to!
The fights in particular the last one, are fantastic, the usual Jackie, madcap, fist flying, with little funny bits here and there.
All in all, it's a great film to have in your Chan collection. At the end of the day, if you're a Jackie Chan fan - you'll love this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Slow Starter, 4 Jan. 2011
By 
Chris Morse "faraway_pictures" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gorgeous [DVD] (DVD)
10 mins into this movie I actually checked the box to see if Jackie Chan was in this movie.
He wrote and directed this movie, and at times I was wondering just where it was going.
Persevere until Jackie appears and the movie really picks up.
When Alan appears the movie goes into overdrive.
I've not seen Jacke fight so well since Wheels on Meals!
Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gorgeous [DVD]
Gorgeous [DVD] by Vincent Kok (DVD - 2000)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews