Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jack Frost by Dawn
Well the reason I am buying this film is because my daughter wore out her last DVD as she loves it so much.
Got to admit that is one of the funniest and nicest Christmas movies ever. Has everything for everyone from humour to tears so snuggle up in front of your fire and watch it - does not have to be Xmas to enjoy a good movie.
Published on 2 Jun 2009 by Mrs. Dawn Charlton-strang

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You the snowman...
Jack Frost is a singer who's on the road most of the time so he can't spend a lot of time with his son Charlie, although they love each other very much.

When Jack dies in a car accident, Charlie becomes a very sad young man, until... Jack returns as a snowman! Now they can do all the things they've missed when Jack was human, but what will people think when...
Published 7 months ago by Mr. Corey S. Newcombe


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jack Frost by Dawn, 2 Jun 2009
This review is from: Jack Frost [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Well the reason I am buying this film is because my daughter wore out her last DVD as she loves it so much.
Got to admit that is one of the funniest and nicest Christmas movies ever. Has everything for everyone from humour to tears so snuggle up in front of your fire and watch it - does not have to be Xmas to enjoy a good movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You the snowman..., 25 Mar 2014
This review is from: Jack Frost [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Jack Frost is a singer who's on the road most of the time so he can't spend a lot of time with his son Charlie, although they love each other very much.

When Jack dies in a car accident, Charlie becomes a very sad young man, until... Jack returns as a snowman! Now they can do all the things they've missed when Jack was human, but what will people think when they see Charlie talking to a snowman And what will happen when the weather gets warmer?..

Yes, it's a really daft concept, and it shouldn't work, but somehow, and this is thanks to Keaton, it does in a way.

It mostly works because there is a lot of chemistry in the family before the unfortunate event.

You can really tell that Jack is sad for his son, so when he comes back, it makes it easier to watch.

Obviously there is an element of predictability to it, the bad kid who becomes nice at the end, the family not believing the son, and as always, there is always one character in the film who sees the titular character and goes a bit mad. For the comedy.

Forgive all this and the poor, poor script, its essentially a good movie, which delivers it's sugary message with glee, and keeps the kids entertained.

As always, there is a little bit of innuendo for the adults, but it really doesn't work.

Worth watching, but you will be thinking about other things...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant family film, 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack Frost [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
My 15 year old son told me about this film and said it was his favourite Christmas film so l bought it for him, we sat and watched it Christmas eve and we all had tears in our eyes. Brilliant film, brilliant value! If you haven t seen this film my advice is get it and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars lovely festive family film that pulls on the heart strings, 15 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack Frost [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
this film all be it sad is a lovely festive family film and have watched it many times, sad story line but lovely film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Winter disc to store in your freezer !, 14 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack Frost [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
This extremely low-priced disc is quite SUPERB, but demands special playing conditions.
Make sure the kids and family are assembled round your DVD player in warm woolly clothing. THEN SWITCH OFF ANY FORM OF HEATING, lock your living room door and play the film complete without any interruptions. After all, you wouldn't want the air to MELT Jack would you ? - even though he is bound to melt everyone's hearts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant film, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack Frost [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
My 10 year old daughter first watched this film on TV a few years ago and has badgered me to buy it ever since. However I love it too, it is an inspiring story of a dad who comes back to life as a snowman in order to make amends with his son, we tend to watch it at Christmas along with Elf and Home Alone. A must for anyone's DVD library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fun Christmas Movie, 18 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. C. J. Berry "Chris J Berry" (South Cornwall UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack Frost [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
I happened upon this movie on freeview over the Christmas period, and was particularly touched by the bubbly, family relationships portrayed between Jack Frost (Michael Keaton), his wife (Kelly Preston) and Charlie (young Joseph Cross) their son. For me, every aspect of the film took me on a light-hearted Christmas romp that set me up for the festive period. Its brief descent into tragedy was tastefully transformed into a fun-loving atmosphere that related to the father, son relationship prior to dad's untimely exit. In the opening scenes, young Joseph Cross is particularly adept in portraying a confident relationship with his contemporaries, but which understandably wanes with the loss of his father. However, the fun begins when Jack Frost (the voice of Michael Keaton) appears on the scene, diverting Charlie (Joseph Cross) from his dad's loss. Not withstanding the true meaning of Christmas, this film relates a refreshing tale that does not migrate too far from the spirit of Christmas, and I recommend and consider it to have been a worthy addition to my festive collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Horror Movie EVER!!......, 2 Aug 2004
By 
Graham Tate "GingerSnapsFan" (Halifax,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jack Frost [VHS] [1999] (VHS Tape)
...no! but its really fun,Jack does not look like on the box he looks better! well the next best thing to a guy with a duvet over him, but wait till you see the corny death scenes with jingle bell rock playing in the background and you wont stop laughing, yes ok his hands look like oven mits and he bareley picks things up rather than things sticking to his mits with no grip. his voice is ridiculous, the plot is stupid, the acting is terrible and the budgets been spread out too much it absorbs into the background.But this all works to the movies advantage and the terrible script actually is a masterpiece, i especially like the kid thinking putting antifreeze into his dads food will keep him warm! and the kid at the beggining getting told the story about jack frost the serial killer by her grandad and just wait till you see the death scenes where jack uses his carrot nose in another place to kill someone,the christmas tree lights and when you find out what kills him you will just FREAK OUT!, no cgi effects in this film like in jack frost 2 (yes theres a sequel, and jack has snowball babies in that one!)but this is one for everyone who thinks dieing is funny or that kids are stupid or that duvets are scary, BUY IT BUY IY BUY IT!!!! you wont regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice, 15 Dec 2013
By 
M. Wilson "KRW" (Midlands, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jack Frost [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Warner Bros always make good quality non tacky family films that stand the test of time. This is no exception,
lovely movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this film, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack Frost [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Brand new, great quality and an amazing family film.
My son was so pleased to see this when it arrived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DVD [1999]
DVD [1999] by Troy Miller (DVD)
Used & New from: £19.33
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews