Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Believe It Or Not, An Absolute Classic
Space Jam as a movie has always held a special place in my heart. Being 12 years old as of this review, I have to say this movie has aged really well. Starring a real comic legend in Bill Murray and an acting great, Danny DeVito doing a voice over; this movie was destined to succeed. The real surprise for everyone was the performance of Michael Jordan. Although not...
Published on 20 Sep 2008 by Caleb Williams

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
good
Published 1 month ago by slim


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Believe It Or Not, An Absolute Classic, 20 Sep 2008
By 
Caleb Williams (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Space Jam as a movie has always held a special place in my heart. Being 12 years old as of this review, I have to say this movie has aged really well. Starring a real comic legend in Bill Murray and an acting great, Danny DeVito doing a voice over; this movie was destined to succeed. The real surprise for everyone was the performance of Michael Jordan. Although not exactly Sidney Poitier he did his job of being the face of this movie and when you make a movie with basketball as the main focus, you couldn't not have Michael Jordan.

The story goes that aliens from a theme park world named Moron Mountain, need a new attraction. Whilst throwing around ideas the evil boss, Mr. Swackhammer decides that he must get the Looney Tunes. He sends his cronies to Looney Tune land and get the Looney Tunes; whether they want to or not. The tunes not willing to go quietly challenge the aliens to a game of basketball in which, if they lose they have to work at Moron Mountain. Forever. Before the game, the alien team become known as the Monstars and they steal the basketball abilities of some of the greatest players in the NBA. The Looney Tunes know that the only way they can win this game is to kidnap Michael Jordan and have him play on their side.

This is a genuinely fun movie that is good to entertain the whole family. The effects aren't groundbreaking, but to see the Looney Tunes in a new adventure gives us some great nostalgia. Like I said, Michael Jordan isn't made to be an actor and it's shown in this movie. If you're one to go into every movie and criticise acting ability then I would suggest you leave your brain at the door for this one. An overall great movie that all the family can enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everybody get up... it's time to jam now!, 17 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Space Jam [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
In 1997 i was 9 years old. I went to the cinema to see the latest loony tunes film - but this one has a twist, real people actually feature. But this isn't just any real person. It's chicago bulls superstar micheal jordan.
Ive loved this film for so long and thinks its great for kids, teenagers and adults to watch. Funny and a great watch, anyone whos a fan of loony tunes, basketball, cartoons and just having a laugh this is a great film for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Bona Fide classic!, 4 July 2014
By 
ReviewBlog51 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Space Jam [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
I have such fond memories of 'Space Jam', and the Looney Tunes seemed to be everywhere in the late '90s. There was all kinds of memorabilia to buy in the shops, a magazine, computer games, lots of video collections, and marathons galore on the 'Cartoon Network' channel. Although the toons obviously go back decades before then, it seemed like 'Space Jam', a hit live-action movie, had successfully made these characters relevant to the kids again. I was one of those at the time, 'Looney Tunes' obsessed, and loving it. Perhaps then, I'm slightly biased when I rate the movie five stars, but after watching it again recently after at least ten years, I think it has held up remarkably well.

Famed basketball player Michael Jordon (in his first, and as far as I'm aware of, only film appearance) teams up with Bugs Bunny to save the Looney Tunes from slavery. Michael, a household name at the time, agrees to help the characters win a basketball competition, and, if successful, the characters will be free from being used as attraction puppets at Moron Mountain, a theme park owned by the villainous Swackhammer. But with his minions, the toons' team playing rivals using their powers to steal the talent of five famous NBA stars (Charles Barkley, Patrick Ewing, Muggsy Bogues, Larry Johnson, and Shawn Bradley) for themselves, it won't be as easy as it sounds.

Packed with lots of humour and a cast of all of your favourite Looney Tunes characters, including Daffy Duck, Porky Pig, Foghorn Leghorn, and a completely new star Lola Bunny, not to mention an appearance from comedy veteran Bill Murray, the film is riding high on the funny. The story is a solid one, and I'd say that any fan of basketball will find 'Space Jam' just as entertaining as a 'Looney Tunes' fan, not to mention admirers of Michael Jordon. There is plenty here for the adults as well, who will find it a quirky little film and just great fun.

'Space Jam' really is one of those films that a whole generation will speak of with fondness. Whilst it doesn't quite top 'Who Framed Roger Rabbit', it is still infinity times better than 'Looney Tunes Back In Action', which came almost ten years later.

If you haven't watched it since childhood, give it another airing, you can't beat some nostalgia!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That's all folks!!, 17 Jan 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Space Jam [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Bought as a present for a (big) kid who has laughed so much at the film. Perfect mix of people and cartoon characters and appreciated by both children & adults alike.
Loved it, loved it, loved it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Space Jam, 28 Jun 2010
By 
P. Day "Ghost" (Rotherham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Space Jam [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Space Jam film is a alround family favourite to watch, for me it's the animated and live mixing which is great. My niece like the basket ball match part the best and will set it back to the start of the match just to watch it over again. The films great with a few things going on, its still easy to keep track of them all. Made in 1997 but still good to watch now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's your chance do your dance at the Space Jam!!!!, 16 Feb 2009
By 
Michael Boynton (Middlesbrough, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Space Jam [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
I can remember watching this movie as a young kid and loving it. I had forgot what it was but 11 years on and i have remembered what it is. Space Jam is by far my favourite movie ever. What a cast! NBA superstars Michael Jordan, Charles Barkley and Muggsy Bogues mixed in with entertainment legends Bugs bunny, Daffy Duck and The Tazmanian Devil. This film is an ultimate family film and any kid or adult will love it. Then they go and mix the movie magic with the greatest theme song ever. Welcome to the Space Jam by Quad City DJ's. Just a superb film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must have :-), 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Space Jam [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Fab DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Space Jam [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A++++++++, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Space Jam [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
I got really fast service, it was very cheap, really happy with this sale will happily use again and definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie even better, 4 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Watched this movie a lot as a kid and still love it, now as a great blu-ray package, looking better than ever.
If you're into Blu-Ray and are a Looney Tunes fan, go and get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DVD [1997]
DVD [1997] by Joe Pytka (DVD)
8.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews