Customer Reviews


166 Reviews
5 star:
 (108)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who needs action with lines like...
I watched this film with caution, I knew there weren't any huge interplanetary space battles or fighting action of any sort ,and at to me that equaled boring. How wrong I was, like others before have said this film is beautifuly done, the opening sequence of the earth then pulling back through the solar system then the local star cluster then the galaxy and finally the...
Published on 5 Dec 2002 by Mr. S. K. P. Marsden

versus
23 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not exactly what Carl Sagan wanted...
When I read a book and watch afterwards the movie upon which it is based, it's almost every time a deception. This movie is brilliantly directed, all actors are convincing but it lacks Carl Sagan's idea of representing each race to the aliens' invitation. Five seats were in fact installed in the machine's cockpit for that purpose. What the movie shows, is an absurd...
Published on 3 Sep 2005 by Fran


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who needs action with lines like..., 5 Dec 2002
I watched this film with caution, I knew there weren't any huge interplanetary space battles or fighting action of any sort ,and at to me that equaled boring. How wrong I was, like others before have said this film is beautifuly done, the opening sequence of the earth then pulling back through the solar system then the local star cluster then the galaxy and finally the universe itself really makes you realise how small our corner of the universe really is. Jodie Foster gives one of her best performances, her emotional reaction to seeing the beauty of the cosmos is truely touching. "No words, no words...they should have sent a poet...so beauiful...so beautiful....I had no idea, " brilliant stuff.
The special effects are still top notch and although the film slows down a little there is plenty of action and plot twists to keep you entertained. This isn't a new film anymore but the price is remarkably low for a film of this standard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


75 of 79 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rare treat - intellingent sci-fi!, 13 Jan 2002
By 
Amazon Customer (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
To anyone who thinks that science fiction is about action-packed escapism, with ray guns and scary monsters, as all those who have jumped on the Star Wars bandwagon in the last 25 years would have us believe, watch this film. Science fiction can be plausible, intelligent and - shock, horror - have things to say just like any other form of drama. I have a personal fondness for this film for that reason, and therefore am prepared to forgive its occasional lapse into schmaltz. It's refreshing to see something that gives us a credible glimpse into what our first contact with an alien intelligence might actually be like, and how we might react to it.
Also this disc represents top value for a DVD:... here's what you get for your money:
*No less than THREE full-length audio commentaries - one from Jodie Foster, one from the director and producer, and one from the Special Effects men. And these are genuine commentaries too, not cobbled together from interviews - they are with you as you watch the film, commenting on everything you see as you see it. Together they are a wonderful eye-opener into how a film like this is made.
* Isolated music score - this option means that the film is silent for a lot of the time but provides a fascinating alternative way to view many scenes.
* Special effects featurette; sort of a technical showreel showing how many shots were composited -even the ones that don't look like FX shots.
* Production notes, the usual scene access & trailers
None of this is the cheap promo stuff that is thrown carelessly onto many discs; somebody cared enough about this film to make a real effort. all of this means you have to watch this film at least four times before you're exhausted all the disc has to offer.
If you haven't seen the film, watch out for spoilers in the other reviews on this page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something Very Different and Unique, 12 July 2007
Contact is something completely different. It's belongs to the the ever diminishing group of sci-fi with brains. Because of this. It's very understandable that it gets negative feedback from the friends of no-brainer sci-fi. Actually i find it quite funny how many people have criticized the ending of Contact, saying that they were disappointed when they didn't see how the aliens looked like. I think that was one of the least important things in this movie. Still, i would've been disappointed if there had been some green alien with tentacles or one of those little grey Roswell aliens. Instead, they made an excellent choice and didn't show us the aliens at all. Really good and brave decision. In my opinion, if you were disappointed when you didn't see aliens, you didn't really understand this movie.

The religion vs. science setting is really interesting and realistic. It's fits extremely well to modern day life and i have never seen it done better in any film. The best thing about it is that the film doesn't take sides. It just portrays both of them and leaves the decision to the viewer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finally a decent release for Contact, 17 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. C. Hyder - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A review of an old fave of mine that has languished on a very poor DVD since release, and now finally displayed in all its glory on Blu ray.

Simply put, far superior to the approx 10 year old DVD as you would expect, though not perfect. However for a movie shot in 1997 it mostly holds up pretty well under the scrutiny of high def.
From a technical point of view this blu ray finally gives Contact the treatment it deserves. The majority of the movie is pin sharp, full of detail with well saturated colours. Though a couple of scenes dip below standard, one or two shots show some distracting banding in night skies, I noticed some scenes that had an uncharacteristic softness compared with the rest of movie. However the dips in quality were few and very brief, so not a problem to me.
The CGI elements hold up surprisingly well, you can tell of course that you are looking at CGI but it is not all embarrassing for a 12-13 year old movie. The beach scene where Ellie finally meets the 'alien' was intended to appear unreal due to the Vegan's creating of an artificial setting intended to make Ellie feel more secure (ie a bit of home) so it all has a strange look to it intentionally, but Ellie and her father appear to fade around the edges into the environment with a very blurred outline. No doubt showing the limitations of CGI and blue screen work 10+ years ago. However with the nature of the scene I don't find it a serious problem.
Scenes featuring the machine, again, for the majority look convincing and it is with these scenes that the sound really gets to work. On the whole Contact is a dialogue movie with few 'action' scenes to show off the sound design, but when we get to see the machine up close we really get an impressive sense of the machines enormous energy and momentum. When the rings spin beneath the launch pod the sound really conveys the weight and scale of the thing really helping to sell the completely CGI image.
All in all a fine effort in my opinion, for a movie desperately needing the hi def treatment as the original DVD release was annoyingly poor. Just compare the opening scene as we take a trip from earth to the outer reaches of the universe, very impressive on blu ray as opposed to the digitised mess on the old DVD.
Highly recommended upgrade for a fan of the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful film based on carl sagan's wonderful novel, 28 May 2006
This is a slow film with a big impact - a big impact because of the wonderful novel it is based on but also because of the quality of the acting and the conviction with which Jodie Foster plays her part.She carries the whole film in what I can only describe as a performance of galactic proportions.Special effects are kept to a minimum - though some of them are breathtakingly good - and the emphasis is placed on what people discover about themselves as they seek an understanding of their place in the cosmos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enthralling tale of one woman's adventure into space travel, 10 Feb 2002
By 
T. Dwyer (Loughborough, Leics) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This must be Jodie Foster's finest film role. she plays a gritty, doggedly individual astronomer seeking life on other planets. Familiar scenario? Not the way this unfolds. Step by step she discovers an apparent way to travel to the star Vega. Political and religious factions hamper and cross her every step of the way - but she has a hidden benefactor who helps her achieve her desire. Central to this film is the dilemma of believing science or religion, which for her is agonisingly pinpointed by falling in love with a priest. The visual effects in this film are stunning, the plot ever self-renewing.
Drawbacks? Some of the dialogue is barely audible, making it advisable to use subtitles, and the Extra Features are poor. Nevertheless a marvellous film, and a good buy.
Terry Dwyer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So worthwhile watching, It's incredible., 8 Mar 2005
By 
Stephanie (Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
I am such a great fan of Jodie Foster and everytime a film of hers is shown on television I always watch it. I started to watch Contact with no enthuasiasm whatsoever - it's a Sci - Fi film, need I continue? But then I came to see that it was so much more than that. I think everyone at at least one point in life mustv'e questioned it's meaning; what are we all doing here? Does God really exist? And this film deals with all those issues without making it to religious or "mushy". It just really gets you thinking. It's an amazing film with a really strong cast, and Robert Zemickis, who hasn't heard of him?! There isn't anything I don't like about it and everytime I see it, it hits my really hard and saddens me. We really are all so alone. It is exetremely thought provoking and it has since inspired me to become an astronomer myself! Please don't listen to reviews who completely rip it apart - fair enough everyone has different tastes, but if you just gave it a go, with an open mind and an open heart, I think you would really love it. I can't even begin describe what a great script it has and the way the story evolves. It is one of my favourite films and it has taught me to never judge a film by it's cover. Being a philosopher myself, It copes with the religious issues exetremely well without being boring or over the top to people who aren't religious, It just gets them thinking. All my friends love this film, and so do I. Just please, give it a go and you will also come to love it. It's time to make Contact!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Genuinely uplifting piece of hokum, 20 Dec 2000
By 
G. Russell (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Overall an excellent, intelligent film with good performances. The other reviews have concentrated on the opening sequence which is nice but a bit obvious visually - but the sound tracking back through time and eventually switching off is a great touch). But the virtuoso performance technically has to be the scene with the young girl running for the medicine cabinet - an apparently innocuous scene but watch it again and try to figure out how they could have done it - the whole scene appears to have been shot through a mirror which is fixed to the bathroom wall, yet starts downstairs and travels upstairs and into the bathroom in one continuous shot. It's a shot Hitchcock would have been proud of and it's always good to see a commercial director showing that he still has some artistic sensibilities and can do more than paint by the numbers. Sometimes the ethical elements of the plot are laid on with a trowel, and John Hurt is far too hammy and out of place from the general atmosphere of the film to be anything other than an annoyance but Jodie Foster gives a strong central performance and the movie hangs together nicely by the end. The arguments about spirituality against science are somewhat contrived but that does little to detract from a genuinely uplifting and inspiring story. Great to see a piece of science fiction that actually treats its viewers as intelligent human beings who can perhaps understand a plot that goes beyond boy rescuing Californian beach volleyball princess from evil emperor while retrieving mysterious plastic crystal and saving the world. Watch it, and restore your faith in earthlings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just great, 14 Mar 2012
This bluray is a beauty. First of all the movie is a classic to me. The bluray has a very good quality despite that the movie was release several years ago.
I recommend this BD to all the people who liked the original movie, and to those who are looking for a good movie of sci fi without laser beams and airships. Sorry for my mistakes, im french.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great movie with slightly disappointing Blu-Ray transfer, 25 April 2011
By 
J. Cooke (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I won't comment on the actual film as it's well covered elsewhere. However, I was a little disappointed by the HD transfer. I feel it sometimes lacks sharpness and depth in some scenes and the colour doesn't match the best transfers. The sound however is much better than on the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DVD [1997]
DVD [1997] by Robert Zemeckis (DVD)
£7.26
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews