Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "...Ack Ack! Don't Run! We Are Your Friends! Ack Ack!"
*** REVIEW FOR THE BLU RAY REISSUE ***

I hadn't looked at my DVD of Tim Burton's ridiculously over-the-top homage to Fifties Sci-Fi movies in years - and I was stunned at two things when I popped this 2010 BLU RAY reissue in my Sony - first - the massive improvement in picture quality - and second - just how ball-breakingly funny "Mars Attacks!" actually...
Published on 21 Aug 2011 by Mark Barry

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Mars Attacks
good movie tho i do wonder why when buying blu-ray there is little or no special features but otherwise happy to have it
Published 6 months ago by Richard


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "...Ack Ack! Don't Run! We Are Your Friends! Ack Ack!", 21 Aug 2011
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
*** REVIEW FOR THE BLU RAY REISSUE ***

I hadn't looked at my DVD of Tim Burton's ridiculously over-the-top homage to Fifties Sci-Fi movies in years - and I was stunned at two things when I popped this 2010 BLU RAY reissue in my Sony - first - the massive improvement in picture quality - and second - just how ball-breakingly funny "Mars Attacks!" actually is.

At times the great picture quality is a shock after the dull DVD I've been used to since 1996 - there's tremendous clarity on offer on almost all of the internal scenes. And the upgrade has somehow made the film seem all grown-up all of a sudden - a real contender for an all-time comedy classic too easily dismissed as fluff when it was released.

Genuinely anarchic in a way so few movies are these days, you also forget how good and varied the cast was... Glenn Close plays the President's fussy uptight wife Marsha Dale ("...they're not eating off the bone china, I can tell you that..."), Pierce Brosnan is brilliant as the pipe-smoking Professor Donald Kessler forever with a reasonable explanation about 'cultural misunderstandings' and why the Martians are delighting in ray-gunning everything in sight. Donald also has the hots for airhead news reporter Natalie Lake played deftly by Sarah Jessica-Parker (she and her irritating Chihuahua dog end up closer than they should at one point). Martin Short plays the permanently randy White House Press Secretary Jerry Ross (Lisa Marie does a great turn as a alien prostitute), Annette Bening as a dizzy hippy-chick saving her glass pyramid in her handbag as the Aliens wreck Vegas and Rod Steiger is just fabulously tacky as General Decker - the military dinosaur whose battle cry of "Kill! Kill! Kill!" turns out to be right all along.

There's Danny DeVito as a gross gambler, Lukas Haas as the only sane kid in a trailer-trash family ("...they ain't getting the TV...") trying to protect his wheelchair bound aunt (played with relish by Sylvia Stalwart). We get Blaxsploitation stars Jim Brown and Pam Grier as a couple trying to keep their family together (their kids gaming skills come in handy when the aliens attack the Whitehouse). There are even early roles for Jack Black and Natalie Portman before global fame consumed them both - and Tom Jones gives it a bit of swivel-hip as he belts out the irrepressibly brill "It's Not Unusual". Danny Elfman's score is suitably throwback and brilliantly woven into every scene - it even pays respects to the films Tim Burton so loved by taking the ray gun sound from the 1953 Sci-Fi classic "War Of The Worlds". And by the time you get to the end - you've enjoyed enough fried doves of peace, bowling balls taking out Easter Island and splattered alien brain matter in glass-dome helmets to keep any customer satisfied.

But the real shame of this Blu Ray reissue is the complete lack of any bonus material (not even a trailer for God's sake), when this release screamed out for an orgy of it (definitely docked a star for that).

My son Sean watched this with me (he's 14) and we then spent a good hour afterwards going around the TV room squawking "Ack Ack!" like giggling mayhem-inducing aliens. Buy this and do the same peopleoids.

Nice one Mr. Burton - and a bit of a wee gem frankly...

AUDIO Details:
Spoken Languages: English, French, Dutch, Italian, Castellano, Czech and Thai
Subtitles: English (SDH), French, German, Italian, Castellano, Dutch, Chinese, Spanish, Czech, Danish, Greek, Norwegian, Portuguese, Thai and Korean
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Take us to your leader - so we can blow him away !, 19 July 2000
This review is from: Mars Attacks! [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
It's difficult not to be fond Tim Burton's big-budget 50's sci-fi spoof Mars Attacks (1996).
The lead actors were clearly having a real laugh whilst making this, with hilariously cheesy over-acting and some great one-liners. Amid the mayhem, you don't really care what happens to most of these characters anyway, most of whom come to a gory end, but towards the end of the film, you'll want to get in there yourself to sort out the vicious little Martian creeps.
The admittedly shaky plot is pretty secondary to the excellent visual effects, and there is an eery 50's-esque score underlying the whole film, which is a good touch.
The scheming, skeletal aliens have a genuinely nasty look about them, whilst also coming across as quite comic, and go about their murderous human annihilation / experimentation with a twisted glee. In fact they are the most unsympathetic aliens to have graced our movie-screens since H R Giger's ultra-aggressive 'Alien' back in 1979.
The 50's B-Movie cliches are used to full-effect, with body-pulverising ray guns, saucer-shaped spacecraft and large-brained/puny-bodied aliens running riot throughout.
You just cannot take Mars Attacks too seriously (as did the producers of Independence Day in the same year), so if you'd like to see half the US Presidential Administration and Chiefs of Staff wiped-out within 90 minutes, this is your movie !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blu ray review, 13 Feb 2011
By 
Chinatown Blue "cthulhoid" (S-O-T, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film is one of my favourites; camp, over the top, absurd, and as packed with sly sight gags and in-jokes as you can get. True, the acting is mostly ham of the Harrods food hall order, but that really fits with the style of the film - it isn't serious and it never tries to be. Even when there are apparently serious emotional moments, they are usually parodies of scenes and themes in serious s.f. films. What you are getting here is a daft, joyous, unashamedly violent and gross romp through the science fiction cliche, and Tim Burton has made the most of every minute. The blu ray version actually enhances it; the sound is much crisper, and the image far brighter and with better colour than my old dvd version. Which helped me to pick up a few gags I had missed before in the general fuzziness of the old version. It loses a star because there are no extras apart from subtitles, and I'd have hoped for at least a trailer. But this certainly is a serious upgrade from my dvd copy, which had no extras either and was in a rather naff cardboard case. Worth investing in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WICKEDLY WACKY..., 5 Nov 2002
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Tim Burton outdoes himself with this silly, but funny, spoof of 1950s flying saucer/alien invasion movies. It is absolutely zany and quite funny. There is also nothing politically correct about it, as there are no sacred cows. The film is totally irreverent of American culture and icons. Everything and everyone is fair game.
Martians have come to Earth, and they do not come in peace. Diabolical and deadly, they are bent on wreaking havoc wherever they go with their death ray guns, which serve to incinerate living beings. These bulbous headed martians with their own brand of deadly humour are hell bent on destroying Earth, while laughing and cackling maniacally.
The special effects are meant to to be reminiscent of those found in 1950s UFO flicks and in this it certainly succeeds. The cast is stellar with Jack Nicholson playing dual roles, that of President James Dale and that of entrepreneur Art Land. Glenn Close, Annette Bening, Pierce Brosnan, Danny DeVito, Martin Short, Sarah Jessica Parker, Michael J. Fox, Rod Steiger, Jim Brown, Natalie Portman, Sylvia Sydney, Paul Winfield, Pam Grier, Lisa Marie, Christine Applegate, Lukas Haas, and Tom Jones round out the star studded cast. With tongue in cheek performances, the viewer is bound to get a good laugh out of this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They are our friends!, 15 Mar 2000
By 
Ben Elliss (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I think this Tim Burton film suffered from coming out at the same time as 'Independence Day' - both films concern an alien invasion of Earth, but Mars Attacks is all-out comedy while Independence Day takes itself very seriously. ID4 (!) elevates its US-president character to hero status; Mars Attacks sends its president (Jack Nicholson) up as a figure of fun. Unlike the typical Tim Burton film (see Ed Wood, Batman, Sleepy Hollow, Edward Scissorhands... and so on), there's no obvious male hero in this film. Instead we get a broad central cast, played by some unexpected actors (Tom Jones, Natalie Portman and Pam Grier are among the cast). The film suffers from being a little meandering and unstructured, but the psychotic skull-faced Martians are brilliant, chanting "We are your friends" at the earthlings as they simultaneously mow then down with laser guns!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not A Single Bonus Feature, 23 Sep 2010
By 
IM35461 "IM35461" (East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
A Great movie with a fun soundtrack (DTS HD Master Audio 5.1).

HD Picture and sound quality are very good but alas Warner have managed not to include a single bonus item, not even a trailer.

I should say however it does have subtitles should they be required and the movie is presented in a 2.4:1 aspect ratio.

Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ak ak ak aK AK! They came in peace?, 12 July 2006
This review is from: Mars Attacks! [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Nasty, lying little brutes! Why, over the last (when did H G Wells write War of the Worlds?) 100 or more years have these vindictive hooligans kept attacking us? This time they pretended to be our friends. How did they know the "romance" and "pharmaceuticals" and rock and roll had turned us all silly - turned us into hippies and new age crystal-spinners who might be gullible enough to believe them?

It's a very funny film. I'm blessed (or cursed) with a childish sense of humour and that may be why 'Mars Attacks!' has such appeal for me. And there's a stellar cast here who must also share this unsophisticated sense of humour, judging by the way they abandoned all decorum and dived right in to their comical roles. (Every one of them deserved an award in my opinion.) Another reason this film appeals to me is that I grew up in the 70s when the world seemed to be full of those nice-but-dim folk who were looking for something to believe in and anything would do: benign space aliens, crystals, spirits, lay lines, pyramids - you name it. Those days have passed and now we just have SETI (the Search for Extra-Terrestrial Intelligence) casting about for friendly aliens to come and show us the way. If they're out there, they'd better be careful, because after all these books and films that warn us of the consequences of trusting strange aliens, no doubt our governments will blast first and ask questions later. But what if nukes don't work? What horrible music, beloved of grannies will destroy our alien enemies? There's so much to choose from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ages Well, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: DVD [1997] (DVD)
This is still good for a laugh.

I saw it in 1997 and I bought a copy recently.

Suspend your disbelief and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mars Attacks, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good movie tho i do wonder why when buying blu-ray there is little or no special features but otherwise happy to have it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

DVD [1997]
DVD [1997] by Tim Burton (DVD)
£7.81
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews