Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Much underrated film
I've never understood why this film is so underrated. Connery is outstanding & Ed Harris plays a superb nutcase psycho. The "sting in the tail" of this movie make it worth watching & it is well worth the money.
Published on 15 April 2010 by christopher kaye

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Another lost cause for Connery
Just Cause is one of those films that at first makes you wonder quite why it was so heavily slated when it came out - nothing special but competent enough and with an excellent supporting performance from Ed Harris. Then you hit the last third and everything starts to get increasingly silly until you've got a killer with a flashlight strapped to his forehead threatening...
Published on 28 Jan. 2008 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Another lost cause for Connery, 28 Jan. 2008
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Just Cause [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Just Cause is one of those films that at first makes you wonder quite why it was so heavily slated when it came out - nothing special but competent enough and with an excellent supporting performance from Ed Harris. Then you hit the last third and everything starts to get increasingly silly until you've got a killer with a flashlight strapped to his forehead threatening to fillet Sean Connery's wife (a typically mannered and unconvincing Kate Capshaw) and kid (a very young Scarlet Johannsen) in an alligator skinner's shack. The kind of movie that's probably best seen on a plane, and even then only once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars My backsides a guitar..., 10 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just Cause [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Bobby Earl is facing the electric chair for the murder of a young girl.

Eight years after the crime he calls in Paul Armstrong, a professor of law, to help prove his innocence.

Armstrong quickly uncovers some overlooked evidence to present to the local police, but they aren't interested - Bobby was their killer......

Its strange to think that Connery had very few films left in him when this was released, there were a few prolific ones, The Rock, LXG, Entrapment, but it's really strange that he decided to this, because he doesn't really add anything to the film.

Its Fishbourne, and a brilliant Harris, that make this film standout, and compared to them, Connery is left in the stands watching the world go by,which is a shame, because he's usually a wonderful screen presence.

The plot reminds one of those slow burning Bayou thrillers of old, everyone's sweating, wiping their faces, and hiding secrets from one another.

But for the most part, its Connery approaching different characters, asking for his motivation, and then ringing up Kate Capshaw to have an argument.

The final third involves a car chase, crocodiles, and Scarlett Johanssen, but by the time the big twist is revealed, you feel cheated because its basically turned the twist onto a 360, if you would.

Watchable, but pointless, Harris is wonderful...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Best avoided, 14 Jan. 2003
By 
Peter (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Just Cause [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
I'm afraid - for I'm a fan of Sean Connery - that this film is disappointingly shallow. There's very little character development, and I certainly found I cared very little what happened to Mr Connery's character, or any of the rest. There is an unpleasant execution scene, which seemed gratuitous, and there appears to be some sort of political agenda poking through.
The plot is clumsy, with lots of "unexpected" twists. When everything is set up for a happy ending and all the loose ends tied up, but only 45 minutes into the film, it's not difficult to predict a major upset on the way.
The film manages to project some of the run-down, seedy ordinariness of small-town Florida, but that's not much of a consolation.
And there are no extras worth mentioning on the DVD. Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars What a waste of talent, 5 Feb. 2013
By 
Dr. Mark W. Tebbit (Reading, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just Cause [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
A nice tense opening, promising a powerful conflict drama in the Deep South, descends into a grotesquely ludicrous plot, with twists and turns and 'shocks' just for the sake of it. What a waste of acting talent, especially Sean Connery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Much underrated film, 15 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just Cause [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
I've never understood why this film is so underrated. Connery is outstanding & Ed Harris plays a superb nutcase psycho. The "sting in the tail" of this movie make it worth watching & it is well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining film, 7 Dec. 2008
By 
ant (London, London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Just Cause [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
I'm not particularly easy to please when it comes to films, and not a particular Sean Connery fan, but I enjoyed this film. It's a murder mystery with a couple of fairly original twists. I read one review which said if you watch it again you start to see all the holes in the plot, but surely if you need a second viewing to find faults, they can't be all that serious.
Having said all that, although it was entertaining, I doubt I would get any more enjoyment out of watching it again, so I'll probably never get to find those plot holes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 26 Jan. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just Cause [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Was shocked by how good the film was haha but i don't usually like these kind of films but this one keeps you glued to the screen, has a nice twist to the film near the end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just Cause, 16 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just Cause [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
Received in excellent order and what a bloody good film with excitement and thrills to keep you engaged and watching, brilliant and enjoyed from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping and clever, 17 Dec. 2000
By 
This review is from: Just Cause [VHS] [1995] (VHS Tape)
This film is absolutely brilliant....heard nothing about it in the press but the cast is tops..and the storyline very clever..... its dirt cheap as well.... watch it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nail biting stuff, 17 Sept. 2009
By 
Barbara Postion (Hastings, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Just Cause [DVD] [1995] (DVD)
With such a brilliant cast, Sean Connery, Laurence Fishburne and Ed Harris, what can go wrong! An absolute must be seen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Just Cause [1995] [DVD]
Just Cause [1995] [DVD] by Arne Glimcher (DVD)
£14.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews