Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a surprise!
The Hollies have been ignored for too long. There are so many 'Greatest Hits' albums available covering the Hollies 30 + years in the industry, all of them unavoidably good. However, this is an album that really works. Few of the songs that appear on this album appear on your average 'Hollies Greatest' releases, but this is in no way a reflection of the material on...
Published on 17 Feb 2003 by Mr. I. Short

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not quite a butterfly
i have heard so much about this album over the years so when i saw it on amazon for not alot of money i thouht why not.i cannot see the point of putting both mono and stereo versions on the same album on one cd.i think it would have been better to add a few more hollies tracks from about the same period.Still having said that there are a few graham nash highlights i am...
Published on 8 Dec 2009 by John T.


Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a surprise!, 17 Feb 2003
By 
This review is from: Butterfly (Audio CD)
The Hollies have been ignored for too long. There are so many 'Greatest Hits' albums available covering the Hollies 30 + years in the industry, all of them unavoidably good. However, this is an album that really works. Few of the songs that appear on this album appear on your average 'Hollies Greatest' releases, but this is in no way a reflection of the material on 'Butterfly'.

Never a band at the forefront of the British Psychedelic movement but here they prove that they are able to tap into the sixties spirit as well as (and better than) most other bands of the time. This album deserves more recognition alongside other albums of a similar ilk eg: 'Sgt Pepper', 'S.F. Sorrow' and 'Odessey and Oracle'.

This was one of the last Hollies releases to feature Graham Nash and the Hollies dynamic harmony acrobatics are present throughout the album.

Well worth a place in your collection if you're a fan of 60's music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hollies In Best Of Company, 18 Dec 2007
By 
Mr. A. Craddock "T.C." (Middleton Manchester u.k.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Butterfly (Audio CD)
Probably, the most consistent group of hitmakers during the 1960`s. Regular chart visitors in Musics golden period. Clarke, Nash, Hicks, Elliot and others including Eric Haydock, Bernie Calvert and after Graham Nash`s departure into Crosby, Stills, & Nash they had former Swinging Blue Jeans Guitarist Terry Sylvester and since they have kept going with other line-ups. During the mid sixties this gem of an album cam,e out in the summer of love period and was so different from their singles. It is still refreshing to hear it today with Nash and Clarke at their brilliant best and Tony Hicks outstanding as a lead guitarist. Stand out tracks are Butterfly, Pegasus the flying horse and especially Would you believe which surely would have been a great choice for a single. In fact would you believe was the working title for this album and was changed down the line. Produced by Ron Richards Try this C D you will love it because those oh so consistent Hollies could live with the best and even in their experimental stage they didn`t disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars missing psychedelic masterpeice, 12 April 2007
By 
Mr. P. Thatcher (peterborough, cambs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Butterfly (Audio CD)
ive just listened to this album and the Hollies Confessions of the Mind and realised what a great psychedelic gem this album is.Repeated listens open the album up and its a real mind blower!

im now looking for a vinyl copy of the album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hippy Hollies, 24 Feb 2010
This review is from: Butterfly (Audio CD)
Interesting album. The trademark harmonies are there and there's some good playing too. It's an album I'd never heard until a bloke at work mentioned it to me. Production values are mid- late 60s with that sound George Martin created. Shows that The Hollies were not simply a singles band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their Finest Moment + 10, 3 Jun 2011
By 
Morten Vindberg (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Butterfly (Audio CD)
"Butterfly" is often regarded the strongest album by the Hollies. Released in 1967 it was to be last to feature high-pitch vocalist Graham Nash, who left in late 1968 to join David Crosby and Steve Stills. Sadly the Hollies were never quite the same after his departure - they did record some fine album later, but some of the magic somehow had gone.

With the "For Certain Because" (1966) the Holles had begun to write all their material for their albums, and the this continued on the following two albums "Evolution" and "Butterfly". All 3 album contains some of the finest songwriting the Hollies ever did. Their playing and singing is impeccable like on most of their recordings - some might say that their lyrics at times tend to be a little too naive or silly.

"Butterfly" is their most adventurous album and the closest the Hollies ever came to psychedelia. Apart from "Dear Eloise" which was released as a single in some countries it is very much an "album" - not just a collection of songs built up around 3 or 4 hit singles.

It seems the Nash was the dominating force at this point, taking the lead vocal on more songs than usual lead-singer Clarke. Nash abilities as lead-singer are obvíous here, but it's usually a pleasure to listen to all singer, not least when they change lead-vocals or join in on harmonies.

It's hard to bring forward particular tracks, because all are great. Tony Hicks cute "Pegasus" was always a favourite, but the songs like "Try it", "Would You Believe" and "Dear Eloise" with Allan Clarke up-front are all classic Hollies. Nash's laid back-songs like "Wish You a Wish" are "Postcard" are close to the sound of Simon & Garfunkel. On the instrumental side, there is a lot experimenting with various instruments like citar, different keyboards and several tracks feature string-arrangements.

The Hollies actually recorded at least an albums worth of material before Nash finally left. With strong material like "Wings", "Open Up Your Eyes" , "Tomorrow When it Comes", "Man With No Expression", "Do the Best You" and the two fine singles "Listen to Me" and Jennifer Eccles" another fine Hollies album (with Nash) could have been made; insted they gave us the deeply disappointing "Hollies Sing Dylan"

"Butterfly" is probably their finest moment.

Here we have as bonus-tracks most of these potential final-album songs. The Nash version of "Blowing in the Wind" was another possible inclusion. As song called "Ashes to Ashes" is also said to have been recorded.

The music on this release is all great, but the lack of additional notes is very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unexpcted, 9 Feb 2010
By 
G. KENNEY "The Crafty Fox" (Leicester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Butterfly (Audio CD)
Like most people reading this i've always considered The Hollies as an above average pop band of the 60s. Then when cruising the airwaves of obscure radio stations I heard Pegasus from this album and had to hear more.
Immediately bought and was not disappointed. This is a beaifully crafted album that I have to admit does sound a little dated
I'm certain anyone who buys it will love it You may therefore ask why only 4 stars. The answer is that the disc has mono and stereo versions of the original which seems pointless
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential listening, 8 July 2011
This review is from: Butterfly (Audio CD)
Another fine example of solid musical performances by The Hollies, this album pairs naturally with the album 'Evolution' to give the listener a couple of very enjoyable hours entertainment. Recommended listening for all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Butterflies are free, 16 Mar 2011
By 
Mehaudy S. Roberto (Buenos Aires, Argentina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Butterfly (Audio CD)
This period of the Hollies musical history is a special one. Much of the album's production was done in Italy (including promotional videos).I regret so say the album was underrated in a way or not well promoted even thoug the songs are beautiful. However, I like it very much. Roberto from Argentina
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fragile, 4 April 2009
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Butterfly (Audio CD)
There's a photo on the back of this album showing The Hollies wearing the band fashions of 1967, and the kaftans and fancy shirts look about as convincing on them as they do on The Rolling Stones on 'Satanic Majesties'. It parallels the musical style featured here, which makes all the right pop psych noises without sounding as if it has much heart. 'Butterfly' is a good album all right, produced and executed to the usual high standard, but the trimmings too often obscure what the band are good at.

'Dear Eloise' is the shining exception, a great melody and lyric with a striking intro. At the forefront of this and several other tracks is Graham Nash, who, I suspect, was the most enthusiastic protagonist. His departure, fuelled by the aspirations which he saw as exceeding the the band's potential, wasn't far away. Aside of this are several good songs, but the insistence of hiding them behind delicate orchestral arrangements means that the band's involvement is often inhibited.

'Maker' is the token sitar and tabla track. It's OK, but you get the feeling that it's as if there's a rule saying you have to have one 'Indian' track. The title track is Nash and an orchestra, while the lyric to the musically creditable 'Pegasus' is one of the era's more embarrassing examples of fairytale whimsy.

To be fair to The Hollies, their vocal harmonies are still out in force, and their albums, including this one, deserve more recognition than they get, but this is nearer 3 stars than five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not quite a butterfly, 8 Dec 2009
By 
John T. (chesterfield uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Butterfly (Audio CD)
i have heard so much about this album over the years so when i saw it on amazon for not alot of money i thouht why not.i cannot see the point of putting both mono and stereo versions on the same album on one cd.i think it would have been better to add a few more hollies tracks from about the same period.Still having said that there are a few graham nash highlights i am pleased to add to my collection .john tuck
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Butterfly
Butterfly by Hollies (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews