Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE HOLLIES BEGIN TO CHANGE, 15 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: For Certain Because ... (Audio CD)
The year is 1966 and the Mersey sound has all but gone the great and clever artists know that change is vital.
The Hollies were one of these artists, as this wonderful album showed.
The sound was bigger and better than ever and some songs pointed the way towards the following years summer of love. Buy it and see. Clown is weird and tell me to my face sublime. Crusader is a masterpeice and Pay you back with intrest gives the album a commercial feel, it all ends with the wonderful Stop stop stop. ENJOY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At their best, 30 Mar. 2009
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For Certain Because ... (Audio CD)
1966 was the year that many recording artists either made the transition from relying on old material to becoming self-sufficient, or drifting toward a combination of oblivion and cabaret. The Hollies made it successfully with this, their first album of wholly original material, and it shows them at a creative peak. Every song on this album is of high quality and is treated with care. The band are confident, bordering on exuberant as they deftly introduce varying elements on each track.

'Pay You Back With Interest' is perhaps the most striking song here, not just for its melody, but also the changing time signature, a bold move in those days. Two tracks feature banjo, including the classic hit, 'Stop Stop Stop', without sounding old-fashioned. 'Clown' contains some fragile, spine-tingling guitar, while 'Crusader' uses some ingenious, if cheap, sound effects, and 'High Classed' is pure vaudeville. None of this can obscure the most important point, however, that the songs are superb in their own right, a reminder of this being the straight recording of 'Tell Me To My Face'.

In my opinion this is the best Hollies album. 'Butterfly' has its supporters, but, good though it is, for me there is more dressing on that album than substance in comparison with 'For Certain Because'. This is one of the great breakthrough albums of 1966, along with the likes of Younger Than Yesterday by the Byrds and Face To Face by The Kinks (and of course you know about The Beatles, The Stones and The Beach Boys).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Certain the Hollies are among the all time greats., 18 Dec. 2007
By 
Mr. A. Craddock "T.C." (Middleton Manchester u.k.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: For Certain Because ... (Audio CD)
The Hollies never really received their true status as among the all time greats. In my eyes though they were outstanding and the music critics finally woke up to the fact when they acclaimed this album as one of the very best in 1966. I felt that Butterfly just about edged this one in 1967 but it is a close call. Pay you back with interest is a gem of a song and for certain also includes one of 1966`s biggest hits Stop Stop Stop. Go for this C D and you will soon understand why the critics raved about this landmark album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For Certain Because, 28 April 2003
By 
Mike Clark (Near Dursley, Gloucestershire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I am a great fan of the Hollies, and this album is a stunning example of just how innovative they are. Clown; High Classed; Crusader; are all tracks which raise the hairs on the back of your neck. The rest of the tracks are just standard "run-of the mill", brilliant, top quality, Hollies material.
One special effect used on "Crusader" is a bag of frozen peas to represent the sound of the marching crusading army!!.
I have had the album for years, but it is now badly scratched, so I am re-buying the album as a CD. What better recommendation can there be for an album!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 7 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For Certain Because ... (Audio CD)
I think "For Certain Because" is The Hollies' best album together with "Hollies" and especially "Would You Believe". "For Certain Because" is full of brilliant songs like the single hits " Stop! Stop! Stop", and "Pay You Back With Interest". "What's Wrong With The Way I Live", Suspicious Look In Your Eyes" and "Tell Me To My Face" could also have been single hits. I like almost all songs on this album. Buy this album, if you like The Hollies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 8 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For Certain Because ... (Audio CD)
A fantastic album from The Hollies all self penned tracks rom Clarke Nash and Hicks probably overshadowed by the other main bands of the time this set includes the forgotten classic "Pay you back with interest"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best of the Hollies albums, 8 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For Certain Because ... (Audio CD)
Had this as an LP many years ago.I thought Iwas the only person to buy it, as none of my friends had heard of it.Great to see it on CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars fine album by hollies, 30 Mar. 2013
This review is from: For Certain Because ... (Audio CD)
the hollies always wrote good songs and this album is no exception glad to have it in mono which i prefer to the sixties stereo mix
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 16 Mar. 2011
By 
Mehaudy S. Roberto (Buenos Aires, Argentina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For Certain Because ... (Audio CD)
One of the best Hollies productions. Nice songs, accurate sound and a beautiful cover design. A must. Roberto from Argentina
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars for certain because, 29 Sept. 2013
By 
brent cole (forsbrook stoke on trent england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: For Certain Because ... (Audio CD)
the hollies at there best a good cd and a must for there fans good quality and value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

For Certain Because ...
For Certain Because ... by Hollies (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews