Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not perfect, but very enjoyable
This game has quite a simple story - the Doctor is imprisoned in a psychic prison, you have to rescue him. Not exactly original, but fun none the less. This game makes you think logically, and allows you to compete in various mental challenges.
What really brings out the Doctor Who-iness of it is that the four surviving Doctors have all provided voices for it,...
Published on 27 July 2000

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great if you want to watch the Anthony Ainley cut-scenes
This game will only be vaguely interesting to you if you are a Dr Who fan, and if you are one your money might be better spent on a Dr Who DVD. Just pause the DVD occasionally and watch the old "Maze" screensaver whilst recalling bits of Dr Who trivial and you will have about the same amount of fun...

This game has a lot of cons:
* The character you...
Published on 2 Mar 2008 by M. Luff


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great if you want to watch the Anthony Ainley cut-scenes, 2 Mar 2008
By 
M. Luff - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doctor Who:- Destiny of the Doctors (PC) (Video Game)
This game will only be vaguely interesting to you if you are a Dr Who fan, and if you are one your money might be better spent on a Dr Who DVD. Just pause the DVD occasionally and watch the old "Maze" screensaver whilst recalling bits of Dr Who trivial and you will have about the same amount of fun...

This game has a lot of cons:
* The character you control being an energy blob thing is just lazy
* The character also handles really badly, which can make fleeing from enemies and the Master/puzzle sections quite annoying
* The graphics are very poor, making the samey levels frustrating to navigate
* The methods of defending yourself from enemies are really weird (defeating Sontarans with bees???) and the whole "combat" element seems badly designed, unbalanced and out of place
* The puzzles can be quite unintuitive at times unless you have encyclopaedic knowledge of Dr Who (or are willing to go all the way back through the level to the control room look in the database and go all the way back!)
* The energy drain timer thing gets in the way of the fun. What's wrong with a life bar?

There are a few pros:
* The story is passable - the Master has trapped incarnations of the Doctor one through seven in a planet of psychic energy, merging the TARDIS with the planet and various old enemies (giving you the game levels) and you are an energy blob on a mission to save the Doctor from being erased from time. You travel through the TARDIS evading enemies and finding your way out to the psychic energy planet where the Master gives you a chance to solve puzzles to save the Doctor...for some reason...wait maybe it's not so good...
* Although the game play is pretty bad some elements do feel as if they are in the "spirit" of Dr Who. For example, mostly having to run away from enemies through a series of identical corridors! (It wouldn't be a Doctor who game if you were allowed to blow enemies away with a rocket launcher)
* Also the voiceovers are good and the sections with the Master are a real laugh. This part might excuse the cons for many fans.

Overall, this is something that will only be liked by Dr Who enthusiasts who might be willing to let Anthony Ainley's cut-scenes as the Master excuse the really quite bad game play. Meaning this "game" largely fails as a "game" because the point of a "game" is supposed to be the actual "game" and not the cut-scenes that string it together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not perfect, but very enjoyable, 27 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Doctor Who:- Destiny of the Doctors (PC) (Video Game)
This game has quite a simple story - the Doctor is imprisoned in a psychic prison, you have to rescue him. Not exactly original, but fun none the less. This game makes you think logically, and allows you to compete in various mental challenges.
What really brings out the Doctor Who-iness of it is that the four surviving Doctors have all provided voices for it, along with enemy the Master (Anthony Ainley), who we see as well, and the Brigadier (Nicholas Courtney). Also, for the first two Doctors, suitable voices have been used to replace William Hartnell and Patrick Troughton, and for the Third, snippets from the show during his era make up Jon Pertwee's vocals. OK, so the graphics aren't great, and the Daleks keep exterminating you, but what the hey? It's entertaining and enjoyable, and isn't that what counts?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars What??????, 3 April 2014
By 
Kate Graham "Kate" (Kilwinning, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who:- Destiny of the Doctors (PC) (Video Game)
I have been a customer with Amazon for a very long time, I have ordered many things before this item, and since... how dare the vendor of this item put both my Bank Account and my name into disrepute. I wish a formal appology
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars As A Who fan for 27 yrs I'm displeased with This!, 19 May 2006
By 
MARK TENNANT "mgt05" (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doctor Who:- Destiny of the Doctors (PC) (Video Game)
As A Cdn fan of Doctor Who since 1979 in The TOM BAKER Era, I must say I'm most unhappy w/this game. You loose energy for simply walking around touching the walls...& how does one go about controlling The Tardis? How do you venture outside the Tardis?

Very awful game, I guess The BBC was intent on ripping people off when they made this game...Complete waste for anyone who loves Dr.Who on a whole!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable!, 26 Aug 2001
By 
badblokebob (Exeter, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor Who:- Destiny of the Doctors (PC) (Video Game)
This is possibly the worst piece of Doctor Who merchandise ever produced. The graphics look very dated (OK, it's several years old, but they looked bad then), the gameplay is confusing and poor. The only plus points are the acting, especially by Anthony Ainsley in the cut scenes, and the encyclopedia section, which isn't that great but it's better than the game!
At least the BBC tried, but this could have been so much better! Doctor Who isn't supposed to be an action game (as you can tell by the fact that they tried to make it actioney without using guns etc), and this is badly done. Avoid at all costs - go buy some books instead!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantasticdoctor who on your pc !, 27 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Doctor Who:- Destiny of the Doctors (PC) (Video Game)
This is a great product with excellent vocals from the four surviving doctors. A must for all doctor who fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST GAME EVER!, 16 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Doctor Who:- Destiny of the Doctors (PC) (Video Game)
One of my best Doctor Who Merchandises, DESTINY OF THE DOCTORS is full of great effects, great monsters (Cybermen, Silurians, Daleks), and great aderversaries (The Master).
A definate MUST for all the DOCTOR WHO FANS!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ., 1 Oct 2000
This review is from: Doctor Who:- Destiny of the Doctors (PC) (Video Game)
Whilst fans may drool at the thought... this game demonstrates the technical standards of the original Doom. Compared with the Star Trek franchise, the Beeb really missed the boat with this effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DESTINY OF THE DOCTORS, 10 Mar 2005
By 
This review is from: Doctor Who:- Destiny of the Doctors (PC) (Video Game)
THIS IS A GOOD GAME IF YOU LIKE PUZZLES AS YOU HAVE TO REPLENISH YOUR ENERGY BY FINDING POWER RODS. THE GAME PLAYS OK ON XP A BIT SLOW TO START BUT IF YOU STICK AT IT IT IS A GOOD GAME
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars cant get it working on vista, 20 May 2009
By 
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who:- Destiny of the Doctors (PC) (Video Game)
well i am a huge doctor who fan and i play a lot of video games the perfact thing for me a doctor who game .
well so i thought i could except that the grafix wernt all that didnt mater it had the doctors in it and some monsters but i carnt play it properly on windows vista,eather you get the music or no picture or vicer versa pain if you ask me i got fed up with it still if any one heres of an update for this game please post a coment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa2686984)

This product

Doctor Who:- Destiny of the Doctors (PC)
Doctor Who:- Destiny of the Doctors (PC) by BBC Multimedia (Windows 95 / 98)
Used & New from: 7.75
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews