Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars memories
Playing this game took me back to the good old days of the WWF. It's strange how I can't remember my alarm code for the house but I can remember what button to press to perform a finisher on a computer game I haven't played for eleven years. Worth the money.
Published on 29 July 2011 by Me

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Slow & Clumsy Gameplay
I had this game when I was a kid then thought it's really a bad game, let's see it is slow for one thing the wrestlers though they look pretty good on a N64 console.

I hate this because of the slow speed compare to SVR games and you have to hammer a button to get up really can be a pain.

This might be only for rent for a few days.
Published on 1 Dec 2011 by Mr. L. C. Emmott


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars memories, 29 July 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WWF Wrestlemania 2000 (Video Game)
Playing this game took me back to the good old days of the WWF. It's strange how I can't remember my alarm code for the house but I can remember what button to press to perform a finisher on a computer game I haven't played for eleven years. Worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Set the bar for No Mercy and N64 Wrestlers, 7 Mar 2011
By 
Ian Johnson (Leeds, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WWF Wrestlemania 2000 (Video Game)
This game, along with WCW vs NWO World Tour (N64) and WCW/NWO Revenge were all developed by the same company, AKI (Now Syn Sophia) and each game pretty much set the bar for WWF: No Mercy (N64) which I have also reviewed.

WWF Wrestlemania 2000 comes before No Mercy and as such is only slightly worse, the notable examples are:
-No running grapples
-No ladder match
-Almost impossible to create a female wrestler
-No shop, characters must be unlocked through playing 'Road to Wrestlemania' mode

So, you're probably wondering "why would I buy this instead of No Mercy?" well, I'll tell you why. This game is fun, and it includes some wrestlers that aren't in No Mercy (to my knowledge) such as Mideon, Meat and Droz among others it is also strangely addictive (as is No Mercy) and since wiping the dust off my old N64, I've spent more time playing this and No Mercy than I have playing Super Mario 64, it really is THAT fun and addictive.

Here's a rundown of the game modes:
-Exhibition (single, tag, hardcore etc. matches)
-Edit (Used to create a wrestler and edit existing wrestler's attires)
-Options (Game difficulty, blood etc. are found here)
-Create a PPV (Lets you create your own Pay-Per-View e.g. Badd Blood and choose matches)
-Road to Wrestlemania (The 'season' mode of this game)
-Royal Rumble (Choose between a 'team' and 'random' mode and between 4 and 40 opponents, lots of fun)
-King of The Ring (Allows you to play a KOTR with either all CPU players or all human players)
-Data (Allows you to backup your CAWS)

For the age and for the medium (a cartridge) that's kind of a lot of stuff, you can create (I think) 26 CAWS, as each CAW slot is named 'Original (Alphabet letter)' so you have a lot of people to work with if you are of the creative mind. Now, for the Create a Wrestler mode itself, it is HUGE, you can easily spend 10-15 minutes fine-tuning a character because there are a lot of moves to choose from, allowing you to customise really easily, the entrances aren't spectacular, but they do include a full ring entrance, unlike WWF Smackdown! on the PS1.

Here's my rating for the game:

Graphics: 8/10
The graphics aren't great as all the wrestlers are blocky representations of their real-life counterparts, but they just work.

Gameplay: 9/10
The controls are incredibly easy to pick up but rather difficult to master, the countering takes a lot of learning (you press R at the right moment) so don't expect to be using hard difficulty as soon as you play.

Longevity: 9/10
Despite not having much in the way of a story mode and being repetitive, this is a game you'll find yourself coming back to, again and again and again.

Buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kick ass, 31 July 2000
This review is from: WWF Wrestlemania 2000 (Video Game)
What makes Wrestlemania 2000 so good is the way you will never grow tired of playing it over and over again because everything, and I mean EVERYTHING is edit-able in this game. You get 20 free wrestler slots which means by going on the net and looking for the right codes you can make Kurt Angle, Taz, Rikishi and all the newest stars with ease. You can edit current wrestlers from changing The Undertaker to his biker-gimmick to adding stumble to HHH. All this is backed up with a brilliant AI and wonderful graphics. The only let down is the lack of game modes, there is the Rumble, and King of the Ring, three way and cage, but sometimes you just want a Hell in a Cell or Table match. But hey, this near-perfect game will see it's sequel released in December 2000 (No Mercy) where a Ladder match and Spanish announce table have already been confirmed...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A landmark game, 12 Dec 2010
By 
STING (Everywhere) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WWF Wrestlemania 2000 (Video Game)
WWF Wrestlemania 2000 has so much meaning for so many people, it shares namesake with the landmark Pay Per View Event in which Triple H fended off legendary opponents; The Rock, Stone Cold Steve Austin and Mick Foley (Not under the guise of Mankind/Cactus Jack or DUUUUUUUDE LOVE!). Of course that was the PPV, we're here for the game and my first few words of it holding so much meaning to so many remains as this game is legendary in itself.

WWF WM 2000 (I'll abbreviate it to WM 2000 from now one for ease) is part of a legacy of video games starting with WCW World tour, WCW vs NWO revenge and ending with WWF No Mercy (all for the N64 and WM 2000 fits in after Revenge). I'm assuming the reason you're here is that you're interested in the game and have seen gameplay, if not please go and watch some. Sure the graphics are seriously blocky and the music is pretty bad in areas, but you aren't playing for music you play because it's fun and (within reasons) easy to play.

Starting with controls they are ridiculously easy, it's a simple case of punch/kick/grapple/irish whip/counter. Tapping Aonce gives a light grapple which means only light grapple attacks (such as a European uppercut) can be performed, holding down A gives a stronger grapple for a stronger move like the powerbomb. At any time you can irish whip (throw them against the ropes) through grappling. This is a major boost for the game as previous wrestling ventures (such as Attitude or War Zone) have some what complicated move controls, so WM 2O00 is great for a quick bash if you feel like it.

Music and Graphics- Limited, it is a cartridge after all, and what you see is what you get. Or hear.

Gameplay- There are some great options but the first I want to point out is Creat-a-Wrestler or CAW. CAW allows you to make your own wrestler, with your own moves, music, name etc etc. This is where you can exploit the game as you can give your wrestler all power moves or power moves for light grapple, you can also further enhance him/her by increasing their body part strength.

I would like to point out that if you intend to make a female character then you must use the wonderful 'clone' option, which let's you clone any wrestler and will copy their likeness/moves/taunts to yours, so cloning a female wrestler will allow her to compete in "Road to Wrestlemania" (more here later) and have better moves.

Lastly you can also create a championship which is under the Exhibition option (so Exhibition>Choose Match type>Characters>title/create title).

Other areas of gampeplay; Exhibition, Road to Wrestlemania, King of the ring, Royal Rumble and PPV.

Exhibition is basic 1 on 1, 2 on 1, Tag Team, Triple Threat matches.

Road to Wreslemania is the story mode, which puts whatever character you pick on the path to becoming WWF Champion. This mode starts of easy but the deeper you go in it gets difficult and you must utilise the counter system. Counter is the R button, which must be timed in order to block a move or punch/kick. Be forewarned the Computer WILL ALWAYS try to counter any move you throw at them, it's frustrating and unfair but it's set in stone for this game. Also the computer get's some pretty quick rope breaks.

King of the Ring- in the traditional format this was a whole PPV where however many superstars battled it out for a prestigious title (which at one point had an actual Championship but was dropped). Up to 16 participants with each being a 1 on 1 match, leading to the finals.

PPV- You can set a custom PPV with it's own name and location and allows a certain amount of matches, which becomes a 'card' (the tech name). However if you add ANY created championships in this mode then they cannot be defended in Exhibition or King of the Ring whilst the PPV is on file, so delete it once done.

For me the game has one MAJOR flaw and that is the counter system. I mentioned it earlier but I have to go into more detail as it's a very ridiculous feature. Basically any character can counter any move or pre-move, it becomes annoying as someone who is dazed can suddenly counter a spear or clothesline into a strong submission move. For example; X-Pac Vs Big Show, you are big show and do a strong grapple to do a power bomb, X-Pac counters and flips you over his back! It's unrealistc, but fortunately you can counter, too. By tapping R before they grapple or punch/kick you can counter their move automatically and give precious seconds. It's not much, but it's something. Rope break is a pain, too as this allows the opponent to break your hold through the Referee telling you to let go (it happens automatically in game). In later Road to Wrestlemania matches the computer gets very fast and unrealistic rope breaks, you, however, get a very slow chance at rope break or one that doesn't come at all.

WM 2000 is a brilliant game and it should be considered by those wishing to have fun on their N64, those who wish for nostalgiac moments of WWF history and those with an open mind. If you want a wrestling game that isn't complicated and a little rough around the edges, then this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good game, 21 Sep 2009
By 
L. Woods "Rayoflincoln" (Lincoln UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WWF Wrestlemania 2000 (Video Game)
Wrestlemania 2000 is the only wrestling game i had not played for the N64 and although it is no where a s good as No Mercy, it is still and enjoyable game to play i love the road to wrestlemania mode, i spent quite a few hours playing this game and the controlls are the same as any other game for the N64, it has more depth to it than NWO/WCW revenge and others and i would have to rate it in the top three wrestling games for the N64, over all it is a good game to play
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WWF Wrestlemania 2000, 14 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: WWF Wrestlemania 2000 (Video Game)
When powerhouse publishing company THQ steps into the ring, they command respect. After all, they already have three hit wrestling titles under their belt: WCW vs. nWo: World Tour, WCW/nWo: Revenge and WCW Nitro. The arrival of World Wrestling Federation WrestleMania 2000 marks a new era for THQ, who recently signed a 10-year deal with the wildly popular World Wrestling Federation. For wrestling fans, that means more mat-pounding action than you can shake a metal chair at. Exhaustive Research As the World Wrestling Federation continues to push the boundaries of professional wrestling; it wins over more and more fans. Actual wrestling is now only half of the sport's appeal, with intricate plot lines and locker room politics becoming just as crucial as a well-timed suplex. THQ is well aware of this trend, and they've obviously spent a lot of time pouring over highlight reels to get every little detail right. Every Superstar's walk to the ring is authentic, right down to the Rock's egotistical intro music. Signature poses and taunts are right on the money, and special props like Al Snow's infamous mannequin head have not been overlooked (somewhere in America there's a horrified window dresser wondering, "Why me?"). After watching an elaborate introduction sequence with digital versions of real-world Superstars recreating famous World Wrestling Federation events, you'll realize that THQ has done its homework. Ways to Play If you've seen it on television, it's probably featured on World Wrestling Federation WrestleMania 2000. One to four players can brawl in a wide variety of modes, including the following exhibition matches: Single Match Tag Match 3-Way Match Cage Match King of the Ring mode allows you to compete in a round-robin ladder consisting of three to 16 competitors. Even more chaotic is the Royal Rumble, where 40 athletes rotate into a four-person battle zone. The featured mode of play is Road to WrestleMania, which challenges you to survive a season of World Wrestling Federation action. You can either use one of the World Wrestling Federation Superstars, or create your own brawler using WrestleMania 2000's detailed Edit Mode. If you secure enough wins in Tag Team and solo matches, you'll be invited to participate in the World Wrestling Federation's biggest event of the year, WrestleMania. Be prepared for unscheduled matches to pop up along the way as hidden Superstars like Dude Love and Cactus Jack emerge from the boiler room. Pay-Per-View One of the most innovative features in WrestleMania 2000 is its completely customizable Pay-Per-View mode. You can create your own cable package by inventing your own event name, date and venue. You decide the match-ups, and determine which championships belts will be on the line. In fact, you can even design your own belt! fter saving your championship belt to a Controller Pak, you can take your trophy to a friend's house and compete in a title match. In addition to the WrestleMania Arena, you can hold your event at the Federation's most popular arenas: Royal Rumble World Wrestling Federation WrestleMania Raw is War King of the Ring Sunday Night Heat Survivor Series Summer Slam Professional Play Control Each athelete is equipped with around 120 moves, including authentic taunts and a unique signature move which can only be executed with a maxed-out Attitude Meter. Although there is no Practice Mode to perfect your moves, an adjustable difficulty meter allows you to work on non-aggressive competitors. Play Control is tighter than Chyna's boot strings, thanks to Aki's grapple-based wrestling engine that has won two best-of-category awards from the AIAS (Academy of Interactive Arts and Sciences) two years in a row. Smart camera angles recreate the feel of a televised broadcast and provide a good view of the action. For the Fans Showing a strong attention to detail and obviously created by fans of the sport, World Wrestling Federation WrestleMania 2000 is good for hours of laughs and entertaining gameplay. The action is particularly fun when playing with a group of friends, but this Pak is fun even for single players. Considering that THQ's exclusive 10-year deal with the World Wrestling Federation has just begun, WrestleMania 2000 is an excellent introduction to the upcoming decade of destruction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 11 July 2010
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WWF Wrestlemania 2000 (Video Game)
my son was very pleased wiyh the purchase and the delivery was speedy many thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Slow & Clumsy Gameplay, 1 Dec 2011
By 
Mr. L. C. Emmott "Lee Emmott" (Uk Leeds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WWF Wrestlemania 2000 (Video Game)
I had this game when I was a kid then thought it's really a bad game, let's see it is slow for one thing the wrestlers though they look pretty good on a N64 console.

I hate this because of the slow speed compare to SVR games and you have to hammer a button to get up really can be a pain.

This might be only for rent for a few days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BETTER THAN WARZONE AND ATTITUDE PUT TOGETHER TIMES TEN, 23 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: WWF Wrestlemania 2000 (Video Game)
I BOUGHT WARZONE AND ATTITUDE AND THOUGHT THAT WRESTLING GAMES DONT COME MUCH BETTER BUT I WAS WRONG. THE GRAPGICS ARE ABSOULUTLY BRILLIANT AND THE WRESTLERS HAVE THERE REAL ENTRANCES,MUSIC AND VIDEO. THE CONTROLS ON THIS GAME ARE A LOT SIMPLIER TO MASTER THAN THE CONTROLS ON THE PREVIOUS WRESTLING GAMES ON THE 64 AND FINISHING MOVES CAN BE DONE IN JUST 3 BUTTON COMBINATIONS WHICH ENABLES THE LESS SKILLFUL PLAYERS TO STAND A CHANCE AGAINST THE MORE SKILLFULL. THIS IS THE BEST WRESTLING GAME ON THE 64 "AND THATS TEH BOTTOM LINE COS STONE COLD SAID SO" "IF YOU SMELL WHAT THE ROCK IS COOKING" THIS MAKES ALL OTHER WRESTLING GAMES LOOK LIKE "JABRONIS AND MONKEY C#*P" "JUST BUY IT"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars o.k. forget this get no mercy, 11 Aug 2003
This review is from: WWF Wrestlemania 2000 (Video Game)
o.k. ignore all the other ratings this definetly does not deserve full marks. If you own no mercy it is pretty much the same apart from less wrestlers, slightly worse graphics, less ingame modes, and less indepth create a caracter. Get no mercy than get this as part of your collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

WWF Wrestlemania 2000
WWF Wrestlemania 2000 by THQ (Nintendo 64)
49.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews