Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

92 of 93 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Desert Island Disc, 17 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Bach: Cello Suites and Transcriptions (Audio CD)
I never write reviews, but this cd should be heard to be believed. Breathtaking from start to finish, Casals makes the cello hum and blush in ways that I imagine Bach was only partially aware of. Beautifully restored and remastered from old recordings, there is only a moderate and consistent hum, but do not let it distract you from the content. The noise quickly blends into the background and the music emerges well. For the money (and even if it was regular price) this is one of my most cherished discs in a library of 1000+ recordings and perhaps a definitive rendition. What else can I say other than a hearty, confident recommendation for both Casals and Naxos?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent restoration of Fabled recordings, 14 Sep 2008
By 
Mr. Mark A. Meldon (Somerset UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Cello Suites and Transcriptions (Audio CD)
Casals was a perfectionist (and, by all accounts, a lovely human being) and took a lot of pursuasion to record these famous takes of the Bach cello suites in the late 1930s. I can add little to the other reviewers comments about these magical recordings except to say that they sound almost "modern" in their almost cinematic approach. What I mean is that these recordings sound very visual and I belive that Casals had specific images in mind as he played each one, such as Christ on the road to Calvary during suite 5. Unbeatable.

These careful restorations from old 78s sound great and have not been over-processed in this bargain 2-CD Naxos set. An essential purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


85 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Passion,despair and beauty, 21 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Bach: Cello Suites and Transcriptions (Audio CD)
It is doubtful whether anyone other than Casals could have performed these works so passionately. In my opinion nobody else has. The profound depth and sublimity of his playing may well bring you very close to tears, it certainly has that effect on this reviewer. The ruggedly ravishing beauty and rapt playing of Casals takes Bach's Cello masterpieces to a new heavenly high. His unique rendering of each of the sarabands will break your heart if you have the capacity to appreciate such exquisite melodies. I truly believe that sometimes Bach created beauty from feelings of despair although the chronicles of his life do not suggest sadness. These are recordings which convey the whole length and breadth of human emotion and has to go down as being one of the bargains of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful, 9 Oct 2009
By 
Francis Zubier (belfast, antrim United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bach: Cello Suites and Transcriptions (Audio CD)
These recordings, pre-WW 2, are exceptional in their technical interpretation of a wonderfully moving piece of music.

The flawed crackles in the production adds to a sense of atmosphere in my view. To be listened to with a good set of headphones or quality speakers, with eyes shut and mind open.

Fra
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heavenly playing, 12 Jun 2010
This review is from: Bach: Cello Suites and Transcriptions (Audio CD)
Fine transfers of these landmark recordings of the Cello Suites. There have been many great interpretations of these pieces since, but for all their virtues, none can ever quite live up to the beauty of Casals' reading. Every music lover should hear it without delay, whether in these Naxos restorations or as part of the recent EMI box set of Casals' studio recordings (Pablo Casals - The Complete Published EMI Recordings 1926-1955).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worthy of a great man, 15 Dec 2014
By 
G. M. J. Jones (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Cello Suites and Transcriptions (Audio CD)
Bought this item a few years ago and love it. There is a rawness about the playing, almost a straining or wrestling which when combined with the sound of the cello gives a sense of unrestrained yet profound and very beautiful human expression.

"Likewise the Spirit also helpeth our infirmities: for we know not what we should pray for as we ought: but the Spirit itself maketh intercession for us with groanings which cannot be uttered." Romans 8:26
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Dec 2014
By 
Jomary (Plymouth UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bach: Cello Suites and Transcriptions (Audio CD)
Great music. Well packaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the perfect present ?, 9 Sep 2010
This review is from: Bach: Cello Suites and Transcriptions (Audio CD)
i bought this c.d. for my wife after she'd heard some bach on radio three. she listens to it when she's gardening and she loves it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT SERVICE, 4 Aug 2011
This review is from: Bach: Cello Suites and Transcriptions (Audio CD)
So I'm supposed to rate not only Bach but also Casals playibng Bach?. Not me, brother. That's like rating Mom and apple pie.

But I can comment upon the service offered. This item did not come in on time. When notified, the company apaologized immediately and just as quickly mailed not a replacement CD. And if that were not enough, I was advised, should the first copy arrive during this process, to donate it charity rather than return it. You may take such service for granted in Great Britain, but I assure you that it ias exceedingly rare in the US. Good job!

Ashkum, Illinois USA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bach: Cello Suites and Transcriptions
Bach: Cello Suites and Transcriptions by Johann Sebastian Bach (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews