Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Aging Empires?
I bought this game about a year or so ago and, suffice to say, its a classic.. Although I've completed the scenarios and played the random maps to death, I'm still playing it now thanks to the excellent campaigns written by enthusiasts available on the 'net.
For those not in the know, the original Age of Empires took the RTS (real-time strategy) format out of...
Published on 9 Aug. 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Disc not recognised
Arrived quickly.
Doesn't seem to work on Windows 8 though, which is a shame. Installs well enough, will play but only in Windows 95/98 Compatibility Mode, and even then it won't recognise the cd, so no Single Player Games unfortunately.
I might not have bought it if I had known... but I guess that's not the seller's fault. I guess...
Published 3 months ago by Chris


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Aging Empires?, 9 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Age of Empires : Gold Edition (Video Game)
I bought this game about a year or so ago and, suffice to say, its a classic.. Although I've completed the scenarios and played the random maps to death, I'm still playing it now thanks to the excellent campaigns written by enthusiasts available on the 'net.
For those not in the know, the original Age of Empires took the RTS (real-time strategy) format out of strategy geekdom and, thanks to excellent presentation, made it a bestseller amongst the casual gamers.
In your average RTS game you control 'units' (people, animals etc. that belong to you) that can build, fight or gather resources. Biuldings are generally of three types; unit generators (barracks, stables), research buildings (libraries etc.) or defensive structures (walls, towers). Each type of unit (villager, soldier etc.) has a set of statistics associated with it that decide its fate should it get into battle. Some units also have particular abilities that a dd variety to the gameplay.
In AoE, you are responsible for developing a race of ancients all the way to the iron age. Wich civilisation you play (Egytian, Babylonian, Sumerian, Assyrian) effects the availability and abilities of your units and research, giving each race certain istorically appropriate characteristics (Assyrians, for example, are particularly good at archery, ther archers therefore have a 'bonus', allowing them to do more damage and fire more arrows).
At the time of its inseption, AoE offered very few innovations to the genre, in fact it was even critisized for ommitting certain 'standard' features, pincipally the ability to group military units into combat formations, wich, combined with poor unit AI, lead to some critisism from reviewers.
What saved AoE was its presentation. OK so the (somewhat minimal) cut scenes look pretty dated, and the 'Campaigns' (groups of missions supposedly following a coherent storyline) were always a little uninspriring, but the game engine is still looking good.
The graphics on AoE are fantastic; the scenery and buildings are clearly drawn and very easy on the eye and the units move around with a quality of animation that (oddly) puts the sequel 'Age of Kings' to shame. The interface is intuative and instantly accessable even to those never having played this type of game before. The lack of complexity for which AoE was originally critisised reduces confusion cosiderably and maximises the fun element, probably the very reason it did so well!
The 'Gold Edition' includes the 'Rise of Rome' expansion. The expansion adds a few more units, more campaigns, a scenario builder, and irons out various gameplay and AI glitches in found in the original. The ammendments are also applied to the original AoE, wich is good because you wonder how on *earth* people managed without some of the improvements, like 'build queues'; the ability to pre-order a chosen number of units from a unit production building, wich was not possible in the original game!
As well as playing the campaigns, you can also play a 'random map', taking your civilisation from scratch to rule the entire map. This is a much better idea generally. For a start, the gameplay seems designed for this type of 'open ended' scenario, rather than a fixed storyline (wich is probably why the Campaigns don't work so well).. there are also so many options regarding map size, terrain type, number of opponents etc., that add an infinate amount of variety.
Compared with subsequent RTS games, including its own sequel, AoE still offers a superb gaming experience. The graphics are, in many cases, better than those of conteporary RTS games (so much so it makes you wonder what happened), and the gameplay, although not very 'realistic', is fun and intuitive.. just dont expect much high brow strategy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'Dated?' This game still has a lot to offer, 29 Dec. 2003
By 
North of England Way (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Age of Empires : Gold Edition (Video Game)
A hardened Civilization fan I often looked down my nose at this title, and for Years refused to convert. However, on receiving this game as a gift for Christmas I reluctantly installed and gave it a bash. Little did I know I was soon to be converted, and online ordering Age Of Empires II only 4 days later!
Age of Empires offers a great introduction to the series and makes you familiar with the interface and concepts.
The gameplay is awesome, with varied combat types, units, civilization traits and construction options. Also the variety of victory options makes the game forever twisting and turning, as opponents turn from Trade allies to Sworn Enemies at the drop of a hat. If you lust for blood you can simply mass an army and wipe out your opponents, or you can build you civilization's culture and go for a Wonder victory. The possibilities are endless.
If you like real time strategy games then this is a real gem for any true gaming fanatic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars does it conquer other historic games??!!, 11 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Age of Empires : Gold Edition (Video Game)
Oh yes it does,this is one beast of a game,you build up your civilization groing making allies and enemys. upgrade to become the most advance race and wipe out enemys. the normal game has loads of campains,games and other wicked bits like making your own campains. but if you buy the gold edtion it also has rise of rome which is even better! buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Strategy Games Ever!, 20 July 2004
This review is from: Age of Empires : Gold Edition (Video Game)
What can i say? Sheer perfection. This game has everything that makes the perfect strategy game. Great animations, quality sound and lots of things to do/achieve.
Age of Empires is one the worlds best selling computer strategies ever to be made and here it is with an add on for a budget price from Amazon.
Age of Empires contains great AI computering making it more challenging to think up of new ways to conquer your enemy and also has a real life feel as you go through the different stages of the timeline (stone age, tool age etc....). There is also a huge technology tree which allows you to choose from many units to create to send into battle using a variety of different techniques so that they are used to their full effect.
This game mixes the fantastic battling styles of the Command & Conquer series and the history content and real life feel of Civilisation series. A truly original and lasting game. A must buy for any computer owner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 28 Mar. 2006
By 
This review is from: Age of Empires : Gold Edition (Video Game)
I won't go into too much detail about this game as other reviewers have already done so.
This was the first game I played on my lap-top and I found myself staying up to the small hours, losing track of time completely. Totally engrossing, and I am only on the Scenario's, haven't even got to the random maps yet!!!
Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Twin Pack, 23 Nov. 2004
This review is from: Age of Empires : Gold Edition (Video Game)
On this one disk game you get both of the first games.
Age of empies and Age of empires Rise of rome Expansion. It's really fun you get a fun filled Scenario editor! Lets you make your very own Scenarios keeps you going on for ages. It has a death macth mode if you are a quick fix!.
It's well your your money so i give it a 4 star rating!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Age of Empires - Not a wargame - just a great game, 5 Aug. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Age of Empires : Gold Edition (Video Game)
To say this game is couple of years old now, it is still brilliant. Generally glich free and superb graphics, it gives you so many options that no two scenarios will ever be the same. It is not a true wargame as such but is very playable and offers more than just combat. Age of Empires 2 is supposed to be even better. I daren't buy it at the moment because I'm too busy and I know its going to be adictive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best computer game I have ever played., 19 Aug. 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Age of Empires : Gold Edition (Video Game)
I got this game when it first came out, I still have the disk and I still play it with my friends. I have shown this game to loads of people and they simply get addicted to it and buy it themselfs. The game is very addicting and has a lot to show. I remember playing it for the first time it amazed me and was a big hit. The graphics where outstanding then and are still good today, but the sea and grass lacks from detail but everything else is in good detail. The sounds are good there are loads of them but that was then today the sounds are not good enough but still there great. I would say this game is for all ages because it has diffrent settings you can make it easy medium or hard. On a older computer it would struggle slightly to run this game but today any computer can run it fine even a laptop. Overall Its a very good game and will always be a legend to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rome wasn't built in a day..., 7 Feb. 2008
By 
J. Atkinson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Age of Empires : Gold Edition (Video Game)
it can however be built, levelled and re-built several times in one day!

Great game which spawned a great series (which IMO gave us the best RTS game ever, AoE2). Virtually everything about this game is amazing; from the awesome graphics (still decent by today's standards), through the intricate yet undaunting gameplay (your screen is not overrun with complicated and unnecessary buttons and commands), to the cries of "Wooloo, wooloo" that will have you breaking into a cold sweat (gotta find that darn priest).

It's only flaws are that compared with later installments of the series these two games lack several luxuries such as the idle villager key (available as a patch) and farm rebuild queues, but even these do not undermine the game in any way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gaming Legend, 31 July 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Age of Empires : Gold Edition (Video Game)
This is a classic memory for me. One of the first games that got me into gaming, it enveloped me in the wonders of it's world. No matter that it was a 2D rts, it was involving and great fun. You can 'pick up and play', but you also need to learn how to master the game.

It's brillaince hasn't changed. Not because I'm looking through rose tinted glasses, but it's truly a masterpiece. Everythings melded together so coherentley, no, fantastically that it forms the greatest RTS of all time. I don't say this lightly, but it still blows me away. Well, it's one of the greatest - AOE II ain't bad either!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Age of Empires : Gold Edition
Age of Empires : Gold Edition by Microsoft (Windows 95 / 98 / NT)
£5.51
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews