Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtakingly good
...and I usually try to avoid getting carried away!
Animal Magic is an album of gentle melodic tracks, that would typically be filed under easy listening. A genre that suffers more than most from badly produced albums that should never have been released.
This album towers above such works. It has clear jazz influences, and Amon Tobin is name-checked in the...
Published on 16 Oct 2001 by Thomas Douglas

versus
6 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sorry to buck the trend...
I first decided to buy this album due to the sparkling reviews written about it...to be quite honest, how could so many people be wrong? Don't get me wrong, it's OK as albums go, but it would never get past just that. After just a few times out of the cd case, it now sits at the bottom of my collection and i've moved on to other similar artists, such as BLUE STATES and...
Published on 8 Oct 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breathtakingly good, 16 Oct 2001
By 
Thomas Douglas "TD" (Marlow) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Animal Magic (Audio CD)
...and I usually try to avoid getting carried away!
Animal Magic is an album of gentle melodic tracks, that would typically be filed under easy listening. A genre that suffers more than most from badly produced albums that should never have been released.
This album towers above such works. It has clear jazz influences, and Amon Tobin is name-checked in the sleeve notes (who? have a browse...), but this is way more mellow than Amon. Muted horns, complex drum patterns, selective samples, even a sitar at one point, give variety without damaging the continuity.
Downtempo and packed with the most divine melodies, this CD is a soothing hand on a racing heart. Play this CD on the way to work and you are likely to turn round and head out into the country to laze next to a river for the day!
Playing this to other people usually involves them buying it the next day. Yes, its that good!
Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You little Monkey...., 5 May 2005
This review is from: Animal Magic (Audio CD)
If you ever get a chance to see Bonobo live (in a field at 3am in the morning) then take it- laid back beats and melodies are Bonobo's hot tip.
Originally on the brilliant Tru Thoughts label, Bonobo then managed to get this re-released and their second (and highly recommended) album on the equally ace Ninja Tune label.
If you're a fan of either label, then you'll enjoy this. Folky melancholia and blissful beats mingle together for a very classy chilled out LP. The highlight here is the early single, Terrapin, which I'm sure has been used on many chill out compilations and TV adverts in the UK.
Enjoy, then buy the follow up- Dial M for Monkey!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ingredients of Inspiration on this downtempo disc, 6 Dec 2002
This review is from: Animal Magic (Audio CD)
There's a paper waiting to happen that discusses why everyone with a computer, some string samples and a half-speed beat thinks they can make quality downtempo music. Just look at the sheer volume of modern lounge material released monthly, repackaged ten different ways with all the hot nametags. Much of it has craftsmanship, but how much has inspiration?
That's the noticeable ingredient on Simon Green (Bonobo's) slow motion debut Animal Magic. Within the rich textures of each track, and the earnest instrumentation - chimes and Asian cooing on "Sleepy Seven", sitar, keyboard twinkles and back-looped voices of "Terrrapin" the idea and the hook are clearly felt.
Highly lauded "Kota" has already been a huge hit, the guitar plucks, swooning strings, and present bass thump woven into heartfelt song. "The Plug" slowly winds in muted horns, (again) stylized strings, and a slice of old soul that somehow Moby missed. Near the end, Green even opens it up a bit, closing with some cranked up drum programming and jazz showmanship.
It's a cohesive album with an appreciably diverse field of sounds within. Not quite a five star wonder, perhaps, but as the work of one man? Superb. Next time you have the itch for a Now That's What I Call Chill factory comp, what say you give an artist album a try instead?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 28 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Animal Magic [VINYL] (Vinyl)
This album is amazing and it's only a matter of time before there's a mandatory Bonobo track from Animal Magic on every chillout compilation going.
Lazy hip hop beats dance with lilting strings and jazzy horns. The arrangements are as complex as I have ever encountered outside of classical music.
This album will take you places. Be warned, you may not want to come back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic down-tempo moodiness, 7 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Animal Magic (Audio CD)
What is there to say except that of all the recent chill-out stuff I've bought (Kinobe, Blue States, Lemon Jelly etc) this is the best by a country mile. It out DJ-Shadows DJ Shadow and you can't say fairer than that. I think I'm going to change my will and have "Terrapin" played at my funeral.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An intoxicating remedy for bad days at the office..., 21 Nov 2001
This review is from: Animal Magic (Audio CD)
Like many of you, I tend to rely on word of mouth, or reviews such as this before I consider buying music. As a DJ of a certain kind of sound,I recommend this album without hesitation. It's quite simple: Animal Magic is sublime,intoxicating, mellow and beautiful. Bass lines run deep and samples are carefully crafted and interwoven through the tracks. 'Sleepy Seven' is textbook chill-out material with chimes adding an indescribible edge to the track. 'Kota' reminds me with its latino flavour of walking along a beach in Marbella, while 'Sugar Rhyme' creates a hypnotic hip-hop/Middle-Eastern/salsa hybrid. Listen to this album once and you'll never regret it. Buy it and you'll cherish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better Than Groove Armada?, 17 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Animal Magic (Audio CD)
You might also like; Groove Armada, Kruder & Dorfmeister, Air, LTJ Bukem - Earth Sessions
If you fancy relaxing in the garden this summer, with a couple or beers with your mates and you're bored of Groove Armada's "Vertigo", the album on your portable stereo should be Animal Magic by Bonobo.
If listened to very closely the theme can be a little repetitive, but if something is that good, why not repeat it? But, the album is not, I guess, meant to be "in your face", rather a cool background feeling.
A very impressive first (I think?) album. combining cool harmonies, mellow jazz and a subtle breakbeat. Some of the tracks, including "Terrapin" and "The Plug", are dreamy and reminiscent and arguably better than the famous(ish) "At The River" by Groove Armada. The production quality is also very good, for, I assume, a small label.
Can I have some money now?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An antidote to road rage, 23 Oct 2001
By 
C. Clarke (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Animal Magic (Audio CD)
This album is simply sublime. It was recommended by Amazon after my previous purchase of Lemon Jelly (another must have). If you loved Moon Safari by Air then this is for you, timeless and never fails to enlighten regardless of what mood you're in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 31 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Animal Magic (Audio CD)
Fantastic album. Intelligent composition, great breaks, beautiful subtle melodies... I'm sounding like a jazz reviewer, so I'll stop. You get the picture.
If you like K&D, Tosca, Peace Orchestra, Lemon Jelly, Wagon Christ, and the like, you will love this. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 2 Mar 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Animal Magic (Audio CD)
Bonobo is a genius, he may not like the chill out tag, & I can sort of understand why - lift music this isn't & if you heard it in a bar or shop, it'd probably stop you talking so you could listen, as well as making the bar you were in feel like bar you were probably in on some cool beach on holiday.

Enough said. Now, which marketing genius decided to cover my cd in a 5cm x 3cm sticker telling me the random thoughts of a few magazines who reviewed this album that was unable to be removed without leaving hideous sticker leftovers all over my cover? You should be SACKED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Animal Magic
Animal Magic by Bonobo (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews