Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars17
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.17+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 January 2011
This album probably doesnt get the recognition it deserves as one of Cats best albums. A much overlooked classic. After a rather shaky effort with Foreigner, Cat Stevens here returns to his winning formula, bringing his former session musicians back on board, including the great Alun Davies, the man responsible for the beautiful acoustic guitar melodies in his earlier albums. This change back to Cat's previous form is even heralded in the long and pondorous title, reminiscent of the earlier albums teaser and the firecat, tea for the tillerman etc. Cat pledges his commitment to music in the opening and closing tracks. Highlights include Music, Ready, and King of Trees, a heartfelt lament about a tree. Also Sun/C79 is fantastic, definately one of my favourite songs of his. This album could probably be said to be his last truly classic album, sadly Cat Stevens was never this good again.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2001
Although I can recall waiting eagerly for the release of this album back in the seventies, it's only in recent years that I have come to appreciate how original and thought provoking it really is.Containing one of Cat's best songs in 'Oh Very Young', the album overall demonstrates that Cat had not lost his ability to write beautiful songs.The gorgeous 'King Of Tree's' and 'Home In The Sky' would have sat nicely on either the 'Firecat' or 'Tillerman' albums.All other tracks are also of a high standard and its possible this was his last real classic album.Admittedly not as brilliant as the 'Firecat' or 'Tillerman' albums it still warrants 5 stars for me as its beautifully unique in its own right.The high quality remaster has added new life to this old recording and its thoroughly recommended.One to savour!
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2010
Bought this on cassette when it was first released and thought it was the most innovative of Cat Steven's albums (though probably not my favourite). With the cassette long gone and not having heard it for a couple of decades, thought i'd give it another go and found I like it even more than ever. It still sounds unique and contemporary and has stood up well to the passage of time.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2015
Very nearly a Cat Stevens classic with some great tracks showing that he hadn't quite lost the muse before his so-so last album. Not quite up there with Tea for the Tillerman and Teaser and the Firecat but probably the best of the others.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2015
Disc superb quality. Sound superb. Some of the songs not the best Cat Stevens, but a must buy if you like his music. Some of the better tracks never get airtime.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 February 2008
As with his previous two albums, Cat Stevens opts for a standard rock band format, playing keyboards for the most part. 'King Of Trees' is outstanding, lyrically and musically, sad but incisive, opening with a beautiful, extended instrumental passage. 'Oh Very Young,' the one track to make it on to the 'Very Best Of' collection is the nearest he gets to his 'Tillerman'/'Teaser' days, a gentle, wistful song about a short, but cherished time in our lives. 'Sun/C79,' 'Bad Penny' and 'Home In The Sky' are the best of the rest, all tracks that become more endearing with each listen.

Unfortunately, the remaining tracks are less impressive. 'Music' has an insistent, almost gospel feel, but the subject matter is cliched, as is 'Jesus' and the over-simplistic 'Ready.' 'Ghost Town' is an interesting idea, but not especially memorable. Even so, as with all of Stevens's albums, 'Buddha' is a high-quality production.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2015
Bought this CD on behalf of a friend who had been looking for it for a long time. Well pleased.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2016
Of course,
We are speaking of a complete GENIUS, when we speak of CAT STEVENS!!!!
Very satisfied!
Sincerely, MICHAEL
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2015
Brilliant album "KIing of trees" is 1 of my all time favourite tracks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
there is nothing to dislike about this album,it should be in everyones collection.King of trees is a special track for me.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)