Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars9
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 June 2010
This (his first UK session for the Global Underground Series - when it used to be Underground) is one of the best, of not arguably THE best out of the GU-Series.

Recorded live in Athens - in the days when DJ's showed up with a couple of crates, couple of MK1200's and rocked this session - is crafted by arguably best House DJ to rock the floor.

Tenaglia captures the essence of house like no other and with super human mixing skills has delivered quality music for 30 years and still headlines the likes of Space Ibiza and WMC. This particular session is a complete classic; Seminal. Subliminal. Deep. Tribalistic. Warped and ecliptic all at the same time and reflects Danny's expansive musical range.

However this is certainly not "mainstream house", so if you're looking for the next David Guetta sound, you're in the wrong place and you need to go back and visit the lollipop house section. Now, if you're looking for a snapshot of the finest New York and Chicago house with a twist, this is the journey you need to be signing up for ol son.

Danny Tenaglia IS the House connoisseurs choice.

But to really understand the essence of Tenaglia, you have to see him live. If you can @ Space Ibiza or WMC. He tears the house apart, puts it back together and then joins the crowd on the dance floor after a 12 hour session.

I bought this in 1999 when it just came out and still listen to it and even use various songs in tribal sets - people are always coming up to me and saying what is that sound????? "Danny Tenaglia... go check him out."
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2002
It starts with a echoey metallic throb, moves through clanking, dubbed-out, tripped-out house that defies categorisation and culminates in a euphoric, euphonic crescendo of which other DJs can only dream.
Tenaglia hears music like no one else on earth and to listen to this beautifully programmed package is a rare chance to borrow his ears for a while. To capture the Tenaglia Experience, because it is an Experience, on two CDs, when he prefers to play for half a day at a time, is a phenomenal achievement.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2016
GREATEST TRIBAL DEEP DARK SEXY MUSIC IVE EVER HEARD. It is quite something when I describe Danny T as my ALL TIME fav DJ. This is big for many reasons, as I am a music freak and simply adore dance music. But this is for me the finest sounds to come out of my speakers. But why exactly? It's simple really - This music connects me to the source of the heartbeat, the drum and the sound of life itself. Dancing and movement is therapy, it soothes the soul and when you hear music of this calibre you are immediately in the womb. Alongside the likes of DEEP DISH and S.O.S Danny T has the greatest understanding of that connection we all need at times to really feel alive. It's more than dance music (to me) this is the communication and language of the true underground house connoisseur.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2000
Yes I would dear to say that Danny Tenaglia's is my favourite house DJ. I hear he is now gone all trancy which is a real shame. However this compilation really has some of the best house of the last two years. Great to mix with Accappellas and Insturmental stuff... favourite traxx: Mike The deepest Jungle Sessomato Moody Mac Zimms Batido. Yes buy two copies because you gonna wear the first one so quick!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2008
This album is many things to many people. Varied and inventive, the mixture of styles and themes in this dance album shows off what considerable DJ skill Danny Tanaglia has.

Uncommonly good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2000
as dom philips says, no flashy tricks, just a boom and a flash and another bassline from disco hell!
This set starts slower in the first cd and may be boring if you don't feel the sound , the second cd is a piece of artwork. You can hear some of the own productions of Danny in this 2 cd set. Tenaglia fans must get this!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2014
need I say anything just buy it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2001
it took me a while to appreciate this album properly. there are some really good vibes on this double cd set. but it only gets 4 stars because of a few bad apples and he jumps around in styles a bit in places.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2010
CD 1 is very standard GU fare, nothing really outstanding included but a nice general sense of travelling through a musical landscape that changes gradually over time - it's what the "progressive" in "progressive trance" means, and GU is based largely on this concept. Side 2 sadly blows all that away because the first 3 numbers are tribal beats, and tribal music closely protects a mundane repetitive unchanging beat pattern at the expense of progressing - not GU fodder at all! What is more disappointing is that the 3 tracks just seem to be random rubbish from the tribal scene and nothing special at all - just one really good tribal number to start things off, before switching back into progressive trance, would have worked a great deal better here. Danny's tried a little experiment and while such things are well intended they don't always work, and this one doesn't, not for me anyway. The rest of side 2 then gradually picks up but takes a while to get into any sort of stride pattern, thus ending a little too soon. (Big tip Danny - don't give is the whole 9 minutes of a really dull monotonous unchanging non-progressing track, but a carefully edited shorter version!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)