Customer Reviews


314 Reviews
5 star:
 (273)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars box of tissues required
I read the book first, not normally a good idea, but did not know of the making of the film at the time. I was already trying to cast the film and got stuck with John Coffey, I could not think of one person that could possibly make him come to life, of course I was wrong as we have now discovered. I cried at the end of the book, when I went and saw the film, there was not...
Published on 12 Feb 2001 by J. Webber

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
Loved the DVD - Hoped the Blu Ray would be better - but found the picture very dark through-out and had to watch the disc with most visual enhancing settings switched off, just to get some contrast in most scenes. I tried to disc in various players (including PC) wth the same result.
Published 24 months ago by Stephen J. Young


‹ Previous | 1 2 332 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now THIS is what you call a movie!!!, 16 Aug 2001
It has to be said, that long films seem very daunting, and usually - they are. The Green Mile however, proves otherwise. The incredible story, which is taken directly from the Stephen King novel, is an magnificant triumph which engrosses the viewer from beginning to end. This is King in his absolute prime.
As for the visual adaptation? It is the most utterly beautiful movie I have ever clapped eyes on. In the words of the director: "This movie really takes me on a journey". The characters are portrayed in absolute perfect form by a full star cast, with each one giving a unique, spot-on performance.
Frank Darabont really knows how to weave each tiny sub-plot into film, which is rather a rarety. The novel's emotion is completely expressed, so if you are watching the film after reading the book, you will not be dissapointed. I also have to give credit for Thomas Newman's brilliant sound score.
This is a sad, scary, funny, mystical movie, which deserves every single credit it is given.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not enough stars to rate this film, 27 May 2003
By 
Jenny (Dukinfield, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Green Mile [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
It would take all the stars in the sky to measure how enjoyable, emotive, shocking, heartstopping, funny and mind occupying this film is. I thoroughly enjoyed, as well as wept my heart out, to this film. The emotions extracted from you throughout this film are provided by the magnificent talents of the director Frank Darabont and numerous mesmerising actors. Frank Darabont preformed a miracle as Screen Writer when interpreting Stephen King's novel. I forget how a few simple words can give you goosebumps when written, and said, in just the right way.
Each character has their personality and traits highlighted, some good, some bad and some very very bad. All the actors constantly unveil their talent by making the audience understand completely how their characters are feeling and what their intent is.
This story incorporates the present day and memories from the 1930s as Paul Edgecomb's (Hanks) intense tale unfolds. The scenes of the outside prison, the cells and of course 'old sparky' where the prisoner's are executed are so cleverly filmed from an amazing set. Look out for a range of brilliant camera angles, which even to my untrained eye looked clever.
Of course this film contains those emotion packed narrative speeches by the principle chararter, but don't assume they will be tacky and unheartfelt as this would be the biggest misjudgement you could make. Each word is relevent and is expressed so genuinely.
Lastly I defy anyone not to recognise the acting talent displayed in this fine film, especially from Sam Rockwell (William 'Wild Bill' Wharton) who's cheeky behaviour is both funny as well as cringingly awful, and Doug Hutchison (Percy Wetmore) who displays such intense feeling and attitude ranging from his arrogance, naivity, obsessiveness, fear and embarassment during the story.
Please do yourself a favour and when you think you're ready to be blown away from every angle and have all your emotions tried and tested, then please please make an effort to watch this film. You will not be disappointed... unless you have no heart.
Only after you've watched it will you too realise that there are just not enough stars in the sky for this unforgettable film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars green mile review, 13 Feb 2006
This review is from: The Green Mile [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Without doubt the green mile is the best film i have ever seen. But its more than that It is the kind of film that makes you question your own views and opinions . It is beautifuly written and every actor puts in a powerfull perfotmance. I could watch this film again and again without it ever losing apeal. It truely is a masterpiece that touches on every emotion, it combines humour and desperate sadness seamlessly which given the subject matter is surely a work of genius. it makes you laugh and cry throughout. TOM HANKS as in any performance is brilliant. I have enjoyed many films but this one I truely love
It is stunning and a credit to everyone involved
I challenge anyone to watch this film and not be moved by it power and in awe of its brilliance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to Mouseville, 19 Jan 2008
By 
Sue Lewendon "Film fanatic" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is a fantastic film and one that deserves at least one viewing. It tells the story of Paul Edgecombe, a former prison warden on death row, who narrates his life story to his lady friend Elaine one rainy day at their retirement home.

I won't go into the plot as others have pretty much summed it up for you. Suffice to say though that this is a wonderfully told story and it's true to the book 100%. (I was one of those who was lucky enough to read it in 1996 when King released a volume each month for six months. You had to wait to see what was going to happen next and it was GREAT!)

There are too many highlights to pick from but Sam Rockwell stands out well in the comedy department. All the actors are fantastic and gel well. If memory serves me correctly, Michael Clarke Duncan was nominated for an oscar for his role as John Coffey, and it's well deserved. All the actors performances are excellent but I want to pay a special tribute to Doug Hutchison who plays Percy Whetmore. He's just so believable as the nasty, weasly prison guard that it's hard to believe he's just acting.

It's well worth reading the book too if you enjoy this. In there you get to find out what all the prisoners have done to deserve being on death row. Well done Frank Darabont, you've done it again! And of course well done Stephen King, without you this ol' world would be a much duller place!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an amazing film!!, 10 Jan 2001
By 
This review is from: The Green Mile [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This is the best film i have ever seen. I watched it just before christmas and I have never cried at a film before - but, i have to be honest - I did at this one. It is so powerful, moving and gripping. I read the book after i saw the film, but i actually thought the film was better, probably cos i knew what was going to happen. But this film is EXCELLENT. if you are reading this with a view to buying it, BUY IT. Brilliant performances from Tom Hanks (he is an acting GOD) and Michael Clarke Duncan, and the guy who plays Del (I dont know his name). This film is amazing and did i mention it was brilliant?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tom Hanks at his very best, 15 April 2007
This review is from: The Green Mile [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Most probably Tom Hanks best film together with Saving Private Ryan. This film was perfect.Brilliant adaptation of the Stephen King novel which in itself was innovative with its serialized form. The film also introduced Micheal Clarke Duncan who plays the role of the gentle giant wrongly convicted of the murder of two girls. The characterization of Percy (Tooms in the X Files) is genial; a small diminutive man with a sadistic streak.

I've watched this film at least six times, and the ending still brings the odd tear or two. A classic backed with some brilliant extra features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A hidden gem, 25 April 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Green Mile [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
Like many of you, I've only come around to watching this film. And for all us latecomers, we're all the more richer for it. Only until the credits rolled did I notice that Frank Darabont, whose previous work was The Shawshank Redemption, had once again adapted Stephen King's novel to film. And their are similarities between the two, although here the story is raised to an emotional level, but just about refrains from being a Hollywood weepie. Fear, prejudice, guilt, humour, redemption, hope and tragedy have been spread evenly across the 3 hours of screen time, yet you never for a moment feel that this film drags on for longer than it should.And if that's not enough, there are warm, compassionate moments betweensome of the main characters that will bring a tear to your eye. Even thestone-cold cynics amongst you will feel a lump in your throat.
PaulEdgecomb (Tom Hanks) is a penitentiary warden for death-row inmates, in the America's Deep South during the depression era. Suffering from a painful ailment, he meets a new arrival in the mammoth, intimidating form of John Coffey (Michael Clark Duncan), found guilty of the rape and murder of two white girls. Coffey is understandably petrified of his inevitable fate and his new surroundings, so much so that he pleads with the wardens to leave the light on after dark. Yet it's his child-like persona, not to mention the strange, mystical powers he possesses to heal the suffering, including Edgecomb himself, that leads Edgecomb to doubt his guilt. As the story moves along, it becomes apparent that Coffey is the victim yet doesn't protest his innocence. His presence on death row is life-changing to those in pain, and yet at the same time carries the weight of all that is bad in the world inside him.
Thomas Newman's musical score is suitably linked to the varying human emotions that the characters are experiencing, and I suspect works for the viewers too. Darabont's direction has all the traits of Shawshank, yet that picture overshadows The Green Mile in many peoples' minds. You only have to look at how highly acclaimed it is by critics [4~, and the general public, in various polls ofthe greatest movies of the last century to see that. Nevertheless, The Green Mile is just as effective. Not being a big fan of Tom Hanks, this must rank alongside his performance in Saving Private Ryan as probably thefinest, and most underrated, of his career. I can almost envisage Spencer Tracey when I see his acting style here. An excellent supporting cast is evident in David Morse, James Cromwell, Patricia Clarkson and the lateMichael Jeter as inmate Eduard Delacroix, who befriends Coffey and the adorable Mr. Jingles (who gains a wonderful kind of immortality...watch the film to see why). Doug Hutchison and Sam Rockwell provide moments that instill fear and loathing in the inmates and wardens, but deservedly get their come-uppance. Even Dabbs Green, whose portrayal as the old Paul Edgecomb reminiscing in flashbacks, is all the more moving as he tries tocome to terms with events he was powerless to stop, but that will always haunt him. However, the stand-out performance is that of Michael ClarkeDuncan as John Coffey, a career-best that he will find to difficult tomatch. He richly deserved his Academy Award nomination for Best Supportin g Actor in 2000, only to be pipped to the gold statuette by an equally emotional performance by Michael Caine for The Cider House Rules. Caine gave a dignified acceptance speech, where he commended his fellow nominees individually including Duncan, who stood up and saluted Caine for his kindwords. His portrayal of a gentle giant, a simpleton, whose existance in this world is to make it a better place by helping the suffering will leave many viewers, including this one, unashamedly tearful and deeply touched long after the film has ended. Even his initials are the same as another saintly healer!
If the DVD had no extras, you will be justifiably rewarded with a film that truly is a hidden gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cannot disappoint the human soul, 1 Feb 2002
This was fantastic - and I'd only expected some drivvel from Stephen King about strange, scary beasties ands mad people 'out to get you'...but oh my God, this was such a great evening's entertainrment (as G dabbya Bush would type -oops!) I would recommend it MOST to people who, like me, normally snub Tom Hanks an' his weepin'. The actual STORY here is so gripping, I can see King's wisdom in publishing the book Dickens-like - in instalments. I couldn't have managed between chapters; as soon as you watch the first few minutes, you're hooked. All the actors playing the prison guards are incredible - for a lot of the screen time it mirrors a piece of intimate theatre, reeling you in and then it will give you that wonderful feeling of freedom with expansive, rolling shots of the great outdoors, plus some long scenes.
You never feel like it's dragging, you never feel bored, or confused, and I am SO annoyed I didn't get to see it at the pictures. Tolerate no talking from adults or interruptions from children under any circumstances for this one.
Catch it as it was 'meant' to be seen, before the network telly lot get their choppers out.
warning: don't nibble when the Frenchman gets it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 7 Nov 2006
By 
S. Miller - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
2 Hours of quality extras and a SUPERB commentary by Frank Darabon [...]! Puts the original DVD release to shame. Don't hesitate....just buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A long journey but utterly worth it., 6 Feb 2005
By 
S. Hebbron "S B H." (Leicester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Green Mile [DVD] [1999] (DVD)
This film is delightfully enriching, which is a skill in itself given the truly dreadful setting and happenings.
The journey is one of battered souls, both prisoners and guards, battered out of normal human responses by circumstance and cynacism. It is set in depression struck Louisianna.
John Coffey and his great gift challenge many assumptions and bring hope were it would ordinarily be lost, curing sickness, giving life when none could hope for it and ultimately righting wrongs and evil doing.
For John his gift is a double edged sword for with it's truth it brings horror and with it's empathy it leaves no room for his own emotional world. Part of John's journey is not simply to share his gift but show it's warts and to convey his need to escape it, but here lies the dilemma for the guards and for Edgecombe in particular. In granting John his escape is he condemming himself and his colleagues? and if so what to?
A truly amazing drama and a great working of the novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 332 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Green Mile [DVD] [1999]
The Green Mile [DVD] [1999] by Frank Darabont (DVD - 2000)
£3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews